Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

chance t williams might stay.....

caylo

Be happy to let him go, but there is not much on the market anymore i wouldn't think. Who would you sign (Te'o is not a player we need to imo)

In todays RLW there is a story that the Eels are prepared to offload Grothe to the UK or a rival NRL club.

Do we still have no F*cking money ?

wonderful - are we prepared to replace him with someone?? because as it stands our depth is sh*thouse and I don't want him go unless we have a contingiency plan.

The story quotes a rival NRL coach being offered Grothe's services. He is available to sign but in this coach's view his best bet is for a UK SL team to buy out his contract.

Ike E Bear

The operative word being kid. My kids change their minds constantly.

Also, Luke Lewis and Nathan Smith have copped a bit of negative press over their decisions to renege ... and how many stories have been run about the integrity of the game being in jeopardy?

Personally, it'd take a lot to get me to go back on my word, especially in the current climate, so it's hard to blame him.

If we were willing to offer him more now, then the simple fact is we should have offered him more back then. Bad management.

Buggered if I know how Penrith managed to do it twice, quite frankly.

Technically it's not too late because he has not signed anything yet.
oh cool :eek: ..... so I'll expect a press conference sometime this arvo ..... i've been busy this morning, glad I didn't miss all the excitement

[not-stupid-comments]
on the issue of him leaving being a traitor ... FMD x1000!!! - if he didn't he'd be a bloody idiot!!! .... we are talking $55K compared to virtually 3 times as much ... PLUS I assume the $55K we offered is just 1yr, compared to manly committing for 3yrs - what if he had stayed and smashed his leg into a million pieces before we got round to offering him a longer big money deal? where would he be then? up sh*t creek, thats where ..... no young sportsperson in their right mind could turn down that much more guaranteed money - sport is a risky business - gotta take what u can get when u can get it
[/not-stupid-comments]

AlexTheEel

wonderful - are we prepared to replace him with someone?? because as it stands our depth is sh*thouse and I don't want him go unless we have a contingiency plan.

U really dont think with ur head do u. Tony Williams will go to Manly then diagnose himself with bipolar to get released from his contract and be back with us on Grothes money before the start of the year.

Also, Luke Lewis and Nathan Smith have copped a bit of negative press over their decisions to renege ... and how many stories have been run about the integrity of the game being in jeopardy?

Personally, it'd take a lot to get me to go back on my word, especially in the current climate, so it's hard to blame him.

If we were willing to offer him more now, then the simple fact is we should have offered him more back then. Bad management.

Buggered if I know how Penrith managed to do it twice, quite frankly.
they started winning games and suddenly the players went from :( to :D

U really dont think with ur head do u. Tony Williams will go to Manly then diagnose himself with bipolar to get released from his contract and be back with us on Grothes money before the start of the year.

stupid me - what was i thinking?

who's argueing? my question is do we have a contingiency plan set in place when or if he does leave...because I don't think we do.

Well based on his form - any kid could fill his hole and probably be less of a liability AND we'd have circa $200k in the kitty.

aaaahhh!! yes and????

we'll have 200K in the kitty doing nothing...great! :?

caylo

contingiency plan: ME (hear me out)

20 years old
177cm
82kg
run 100m in 12 sec (that is slow)
would stay on the wing (good positional play)
good front on defencer and can take intercepts
Good dumby half runner and runs hard
take a ball AFL style (pretty much becuase i used to play AFL)
would play for $500 match payments and sign a 10 year contract

only problem is C-grade park footy is probably easyer than NRL and you may aswell just play Tautai onthe wing
Who needs a continiency plan it is the f**kn wing, any 17 year old can play on the wing. Our under 20 back 3 would be good enough TBH.

next year backline minus grothe would be

Burt
Reddy
Benny
Hayne
Inu

res: Tautai, Gardner, Etu

look at brizy, next year have hunt, hodges, izzy, michaels and robinson(this guy is crap) and have lost boyd, kemp. Melbournes backline is falling apart, St George are also lossing Morris. Every team is lossing players and finding it hard to keep depth.

Half our problem this year has been injuries.

Ryan

El Diablo, I have to ask, you claim today that:-

1) he still hasn't signed so you can still live in hope if you wish too
+ Yet you have absolutely no source, or knowledge if this is the case - or to back up your theory - and don't copy articles written yesterday or the day before. Last night Manly registered contracts - YOU look for the article on Chris Bailey etc if you want.

2) You wrote: "Well they asked him to take into account all that had been done for him in the past. obviously he showed no gratitude".
+ Again, a straight slander, and 100% opinion. Do you know the facts? If he showed no gratitude would he be in the team right now?

You deleted posts I have written, that had author, date and article in them because they mentioned your precious Parra, and you suggested they were deleted because "I" was making allegations - they were direct cut and pastes from articles mate (also - you wanted the direct link - even though it was obvious they were written by the media).

Then you come out, make stuff up, slander the poor young guy Williams for looking at greener pastures - but that is satisfactory?

Come on mate. As a moderator, you should look at things in a balanced way. Not only from Parramatta's perspective. Be a little bit fair, and open to views that differ to your own.

TooheysNew

Ryan, if they aren't sourced properly, then El D is well within his rights to delete them. Sourcing properly means a link where applicable.

And this bit:
"As a moderator, you should look at things in a balanced way."
Is purely wrong. He's not posting as a moderator, he's posting as a forum member. Don't bring a title into it.

You are such a wet blanket Stags. Relaaaax. :roll:

I know it's had for you to comprehend but when players of the calaber of Grothe are on quality coin, we need to make sure we use that coin to the best of our ability and if it means upgrading a "Tony Williams" [I can tell you there's not another one like him in our ranks atm] or signing an outside back with a bit of talent and experiance like Amos Roberts or even Luke Rooney than I'll be content with that.

not bad for a wet blanket attitude...

I know it's had for you to comprehend but when players of the calaber of Grothe are on quality coin, we need to make sure we use that coin to the best of our ability and if it means upgrading a "Tony Williams" [I can tell you there's not another one like him in our ranks atm] or signing an outside back with a bit of talent and experiance like Amos Roberts or even Luke Rooney than I'll be content with that.

We are on the same page matey. :cool:

Why don't we get rid of Lowrie??