Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks Merger on the cards

Joker's Wild

As opposed to your homegrown stars, Bird and Gallen.

Oh, sorry, you poached your best.

You mistook me for a Sharks fan mate, I will forgive you this time.

Geez you Dragons fans are touchy though. Im not bagging the Drags for signing players outside their region I was simply pointing out that the "poor cousin" in your JV isnt just there to drain the red V coffers. The Illawarra region has been supplying players to St George for decades and are more important than alot of Dragons fans realise.

FTW Im a Knights fan who grew up in the Illawarra from a young age.

drake

You mistook me for a Sharks fan mate, I will forgive you this time.

Geez you Dragons fans are touchy though. Im not bagging the Drags for signing players outside their region I was simply pointing out that the "poor cousin" in your JV isnt just there to drain the red V coffers. The Illawarra region has been supplying players to St George for decades and are more important than alot of Dragons fans realise.

Sorry dude, it's local derby week. Easy to assume that all pisstakes are from Mermaids.

I have to say, I'm over the local junior thing. f**k all good it does. You go through the pain of blooding them, developing them into good first graders, and other teams poach them. The Super Illawarra team of the mid 2000s won us heaps of premierships. A mix of juniors and a few good purchases is the way to go, IMHO.

Take for example, the Newcastle/St George Illawarra Knights. 3 or 4 ex Dragons? I know St george was a knight, but don't take it too far.
Bulldogs are gonna have to tack some Dragon Wings on that stupid dog cartoon soon.

Joker's Wild

Sorry dude, it's local derby week. Easy to assume that all pisstakes are from Mermaids.

I have to say, I'm over the local junior thing. f**k all good it does. You go through the pain of blooding them, developing them into good first graders, and other teams poach them. The Super Illawarra team of the mid 2000s won us heaps of premierships. A mix of juniors and a few good purchases is the way to go, IMHO.

Take for example, the Newcastle/St George Illawarra Knights. 3 or 4 ex Dragons? I know St george was a knight, but don't take it too far.
Bulldogs are gonna have to tack some Dragon Wings on that stupid dog cartoon soon.

LOL true true

TBH though Housto is the only one of those players bought from the Drags that I can see playing FG for us next year. Wes has been well and truely overrun by Sau, Wicks is a lazy tub of goo good for 1 hit up and 90secs of defence and Lulia has hands like feet.

I think we've learnt our lesson not to by any more ex St George players.

Um no

Hornby, Cooper, Both Morris twins, Creagh, Ryles, Hunt, Poore, Scott and Young are all products of the Illawarra RL system.
Scott is from Camden (a Picton junior)

These guys are from the sydney side of things:
Gasnier, Nightingale, Chase Stanley,

Not bad: 13 from 27 come from our own regions.
Michael Lett is from Narooma: we'll claim him as half ours..

LOL true true

TBH though Housto is the only one of those players bought from the Drags that I can see playing FG for us next year. Wes has been well and truely overrun by Sau, Wicks is a lazy tub of goo good for 1 hit up and 90secs of defence and Lulia has hands like feet.

I think we've learnt our lesson not to by any more ex St George players.
What about ex-coaches ?

Um yes. St George bankrolled the joint venture.

Newcastle, Brisbane, Manly, Roosters also have had players from the Illawarra in their ranks - all players are on the open market from the moment they pick up a football.

As another example, Greg Inglis came through the Melbourne system, even though he played for Norths in Brisbane.

I think you need to brush up the complexities of the player market.
Joker's Wild said:
Hornby, Cooper, Both Morris twins, Creagh, Ryles, Hunt, Poore, Scott and Young are all products of the Illawarra RL system.
They are all Dragons players.

Perhaps you haven't noticed but its a joint venture.

Many Illawarra-based players play for other clubs as well, as has been pointed out.
Joker's Wild said:
Geez you Dragons fans are touchy though.
LMAO. What? No more "Illawarra has been propping up St.George" comments?

Sounds like a back-peddle to me.

But by all means feel free to convince yourself that you weren't having a troll.
Joker's Wild said:
Im not bagging the Drags for signing players outside their region
The team is called the St George Illawarra Dragons. Until such time that the JV ends, it is the Dragons region.
Joker's Wild said:
I was simply pointing out that the "poor cousin" in your JV isnt just there to drain the red V coffers.
I do believe you said a little more than that. If the Illawarra are a poor cousin, then the sharks are the destitute bastard son that no one wants.
Joker's Wild said:
The Illawarra region has been supplying players to St George for decades and are more important than alot of Dragons fans realise.
I'm happy to expand on the history lesson.

Seeing you are speaking in 'decades', there have been more St George juniors who have played first grade for Saints than Illawarra juniors. But I do not consider that to be the core issue.

Since 1921, and before, the Illawarra has indeed had a connection to the St George RLFC.

Since WW2, the Sutherland district has also had a connection to St George. But before 1950 there was sweet f-all juniors in the shire - they really were of little importance to rugby league in the first half of the century (imo its quite absurd that the Sharks were admitted ahead of the Steelers).

Up until such time that the Illawarra (1982) and Cronulla-Sutherland (1967) gained entry into the NSWRL first grade, these regions were, in effect, part of the St George system.

In fact, there was even a push in the 1920s to have St George nicknamed 'The Illawarraites'. It didn't catch on but it shows how close the regions were.

Moreover, depending on how far you want to go back, in the 1800s and early 1900s the whole area south of the Cooks River was often referred to as Illawarra... when the local sport was tree-felling.

Graeme Langlands, a Wollongong junior, has often referred to the Illawarra as a great backyard for rugby league. Mark Coyne referred to St George and Illawarra as kindred spirits. I personally considered the joint venture to be a reunification of sorts.
Joker's Wild said:
Yeah, that happens to a lot of Steelers supporters. Btw, just in case you didn't know, Wes Naiqama is a St George junior.

gregstar

forum hemorrhoid said:
Actually I would like to merge with Illawarra . I would like to see the red V incorporated into the Blue Black and White. I covet the Illawarra juniors , mixed with ours would be a very potent base for the future . We would get incentives from the NRL at the right time to keep us going while we get the development finished . Once that is out of the way we would be a powerfull team based in southern Sydney and the south coast. Playing out of an upgraded Shark Stadium. Very attractive to big sponsers like LG and Toyota. North of the bridge (our bridge) is all soccer anyway so we would let St George Leagues and OKi Stadium do what they want. Most St George supporters would be ok with the merge as they know they are a shrinking club with limited options . The Illawarra supporters we would make welcome with heaps of special offers regarding seats and parking . We have a lot in comon with Illawarra as we both know what its been like to be screwed by St George so I see Illawarra as a good fit for the Sharks .Im not shure what to do with Win stadium tho.

hmmm....let's relive the highlights of this post shall we?

stick to topics about which you have a clue.

i'd suggest your topic is masturbation for the mentally challenged.

don't leave that comfort zone you nunce.

hmmm....let's relive the highlights of this post shall we?

stick to topics about which you have a clue.

i'd suggest your topic is masturbation for the mentally challenged.

don't leave that comfort zone you nunce.
Hey Gregster can you make your yellow sock puppet sig laugh..:lol:

MattYg1

Mattyg1. sometimes acting hard on a forum is all we have, as these assholes will not come out to play no matter how good the invitation is. ;-)

Its all in fun and also trying to build the hype for the game. Bar the original posters recial comment.

:lol: spose ur right...

The racial garbage that began this got me in a foul state...

Joker's Wild

f**k me Willow you have a mighty large chip on your shoulder

Um yes. St George bankrolled the joint venture.

Newcastle, Brisbane, Manly, Roosters also have had players from the Illawarra in their ranks - all players are on the open market from the moment they pick up a football.

As another example, Greg Inglis came through the Melbourne system, even though he played for Norths in Brisbane.

I think you need to brush up the complexities of the player market.
They are all Dragons players.

Yes I know and as I stated in my previous post I was never questioning the Dragons of poaching players outside of their region, I was however pulling up one of your ignorant contemporaries on his blatant understating of the Illawarra regions importance in the St.G-Ill JV.

Perhaps you haven't noticed but its a joint venture.

Exactly the point I was trying to make to FMUTC.

Many Illawarra-based players play for other clubs as well, as has been pointed out.
LMAO. What? No more "Illawarra has been propping up St.George" comments?

Sounds like a back-peddle to me.

How can I back peddle from a statement I didnt even make? The illawarra has always supplied its best juniors to St.G for many many years. That does constitute "propping up" in my opinion

But by all means feel free to convince yourself that you weren't having a troll.

I wasnt mate. I am just sick of some ST G fans always downplaying importance of the region where I grew up. Sh!ts me to tears.

The team is called the St George Illawarra Dragons. Until such time that the JV ends, it is the Dragons region.I do believe you said a little more than that. If the Illawarra are a poor cousin, then the sharks are the destitute bastard son that no one wants.I'm happy to expand on the history lesson.

Seeing you are speaking in 'decades', there have been more St George juniors who have played first grade for Saints than Illawarra juniors. But I do not consider that to be the core issue.

Since 1921, and before, the Illawarra has indeed had a connection to the St George RLFC.

Since WW2, the Sutherland district has also had a connection to St George. But before 1950 there was sweet f-all juniors in the shire - they really were of little importance to rugby league in the first half of the century (imo its quite absurd that the Sharks were admitted ahead of the Steelers).

Up until such time that the Illawarra (1982) and Cronulla-Sutherland (1967) gained entry into the NSWRL first grade, these regions were, in effect, part of the St George system.

In fact, there was even a push in the 1920s to have St George nicknamed 'The Illawarraites'. It didn't catch on but it shows how close the regions were.

Moreover, depending on how far you want to go back, in the 1800s and early 1900s the whole area south of the Cooks River was often referred to as Illawarra... when the local sport was tree-felling.

Graeme Langlands, a Wollongong junior, has often referred to the Illawarra as a great backyard for rugby league. Mark Coyne referred to St George and Illawarra as kindred spirits. I personally considered the joint venture to be a reunification of sorts.

I agree with all of that mate but Im not sure why you had to post it as it pretty much backs up what I was saying all along. I suggest you calm down a bit and read my posts again in context to what FMUTC posted and maybe you might actually see the point I was making.

Yeah, that happens to a lot of Steelers supporters.

LOL First I was a Sharks supporter and now I am A Steelers supporter! FMD some people take some liberties with assumtions round here. FYI champ, I have always supported the Knights but I will always call Wollongong home.

Btw, just in case you didn't know, Wes Naiqama is a St George junior.

Yet another waste of a post.

f**k me Willow you have a mighty large chip on your shoulder
Really? Pot meet kettle. lol

And here I was thinking you have trouble accepting a different opinion.

You obviously just don't know a fair debate when you see one.
Joker's Wild said:
Yes I know and as I stated in my previous post I was never questioning the Dragons of poaching players outside of their region
And where did I say anything Dragons are poaching players or you questioning that?
Joker's Wild said:
I was however pulling up one of your ignorant contemporaries on his blatant understating of the Illawarra regions importance in the St.G-Ill JV.
Well in my opinion petty insults win no arguments. But good luck with that.
Joker's Wild said:
Exactly the point I was trying to make to FMUTC.
You said the Illawarra have been propping up St George. Its a bold statement that deserves to be challenged.

I have shown you how this is incorrect and the best reply you've got is that I have a chip on my shoulder.
Joker's Wild said:
How can I back peddle from a statement I didnt even make?
You did say it: 'Illawarra have been propping up St George'? Its in black and white.
Joker's Wild said:
The illawarra has always supplied its best juniors to St.G for many many years. That does constitute "propping up" in my opinion
Hang on, you said it or you didn't say it...? Which is it?

In any case, to say Illawarra have ALWAYS supplied it best juniors to St George is a simply a wrong statement.

Many champion players from the Illawarra have played for other clubs. Bob Fulton and Keith Barnes are just two examples that spring to mind.

And what of all the Steelers players from 1982-1998? You are effectively saying that St George took ALL the best juniors from the Illawarra during this period.

Perhaps you just didn't think it through.

Don't take offence, but if you insist on making these odd statemements, then you should expect someone to take you to task.

Let me make this very clear, I am fully aware that many fine players from the Illawarra have played for St George... that's a gimme. But please try and keep it in perspective. To say that St George have ALWAYS taken the best is easy to disprove.
Joker's Wild said:
I wasnt mate. I am just sick of some ST G fans always downplaying importance of the region where I grew up. Sh!ts me to tears.
And yet it seems that you abandoned any notion of supporting a team in the Illawarra long before you posted here.

And hey, I can see both sides of the argument... perhaps you could try to do the same. St George's track record in the 1990s was somewhat better than we have seen in the subsequent decade. When you realise that, and begin to understand what it means to be a St George supporter, you might have an idea about the alternative viewpoint.
Joker's Wild said:
I agree with all of that mate but Im not sure why you had to post it as it pretty much backs up what I was saying all along. I suggest you calm down a bit and read my posts again in context to what FMUTC posted and maybe you might actually see the point I was making.
Nope, you have been trying to make out it has been all one way traffic with the silly 'Illawarra propping up St George' comment. You needed to shown how this is incorrect. While many fine players from the Illawarra have played for St George, many more have come from other districts or St George itself.

Plus I can't see how expanding on the history can be construed as being irrational in any way. If anyone is getting hot under the collar, it has been you kid.
Joker's Wild said:
LOL First I was a Sharks supporter and now I am A Steelers supporter! FMD some people take some liberties with assumtions round here. FYI champ, I have always supported the Knights but I will always call Wollongong home.
Hmmm... talking about assumptions. I never said you were a Steeler's supporter. I said it happens to a lot of Steelers supporters (ie support another team). But so what? Sounds like you're getting a little paranoid there.

You said you were brought up on the South Coast but preferred to support another team. I trust you understand my point now.
Joker's Wild said:
Yet another waste of a post.
And yet you reply. lol

The illawarra has always supplied its best juniors to St.G for many many years. That does constitute "propping up" in my opinion

I am just sick of some ST G fans always downplaying importance of the region where I grew up. Sh!ts me to tears.

I dont know how long you have been reading these forums, but there are not too many saints supporters on here who downplay the Illawarra regions contribution to our club.

I take it you dont have an issue with the entire state of QLD propping up the Broncs, or any other club poaching players from outside mits area ? Why would this be ?

I really fail to see the point you are trying to make, considering, as I have already said I am yet to see anyone down play the contribution the Illawarra region has made to our club via junior players.

Are we expected to bow down to Illawarra ? Exactly what do you want from the St George side of the JV to do to pay homage to this "issue" you seem to have?

j0nesy

I really fail to see the point you are trying to make, considering, as I have already said I am yet to see anyone down play the contribution the Illawarra region has made to our club via junior players.

You're right these forums are quite good in that regard. However I do take his point, this comment made by Follow Me Up To Carlton could be considered as downplaying the contribution of the Illawarra region to the jv -

A merger between Cronulla and Illawarra makes a lot of sense and in fact The Scum where very interested in this option in the late 90s but off course didn't have the cash to prop up the Stanley's.

Neither club has won anything or has a history to maintain so it would be very easy. At the moment our joint venture is like Kieran Perkin's marriage, one partner is so accomplished and legendary, the while the others finest moment was a stint on the biggest loser (a losing Tooheys Cup Final). You just know this causes a lot under the surface angst and tension that simply wouldn't exist between two equally sh*t people, or two sh*t clubs.

Thankfully these types of opinions are generally in the minority, all in all the joint venture has been very successful. St George have the history and have the money (or used to) and the Illawarra has the juniors. It works pretty well, the only concern now, for me, is whether St George leagues club can continue to prop up the JV. Hopefully a return to playing matches at Kogarah can help with this.

Joker's Wild

You're right these forums are quite good in that regard. However I do take his point, this comment made by Follow Me Up To Carlton could be considered as downplaying the contribution of the Illawarra region to the jv -

Thankfully these types of opinions are generally in the minority, all in all the joint venture has been very successful. St George have the history and have the money (or used to) and the Illawarra has the juniors. It works pretty well, the only concern now, for me, is whether St George leagues club can continue to prop up the JV. Hopefully a return to playing matches at Kogarah can help with this.

Thankyou

Admittedly I may have been a little over zealous in my arguement regarding St G and Illawarras relationship pre entry to the NRL but myself and many I know from the Sth Coast region feel that the Illawarra contribution of the JV gets taken for granted. I understand the confusion about me being so passionate about this as I am a Knights fan through and through, but I have always supported the Dragons move to Wollongong and I have played alot of footy with some past and current players (some FGers) so you could say I have a soft spot for the local team.

Willow. I am a big enough man to admit that using the words "propping up" was probably inaccurate (Btw I never denied posting those words, I was refering to you implying that I said Illawarra jrs only play for the Dragons) but it is fair to say that you misinterpreted a fair chunk of my posts. My original intent was to pull up one poster on his "Keiren Perkins" analogy and how wildly rediculous it was. I am well aware that Wollongong is now a part of the Dragons catchment but I used "St George" in my posts, refering to pre JV.

I was initialy surprised that I sparked such a big reaction from you and I admire your passion for your team, but it was blown way out of proportion in relation to the original intent.

P.S. You implied I was a Steelers fan champ, you know you did so it was a little tough calling me paranoid ;-)

Thankfully these types of opinions are generally in the minority
Thankfully the opinions exist, otherwise we'd all be mindless robots agreeing with the party line.

Opinions are kind of essential in discussions in debates.
j0nesy said:
all in all the joint venture has been very successful.
A key part of the debate is whether or not the JV has been successful. In what way do you think it has it been sucessful?

Personally, I can't see how it has been successful on the football field.

Prior to the JV, Saints had a recruitment and retention policy which saw us to three grand finals in the 1990s. We have not made a grand final since 1999. Even in the the 1920s, Saints were good enough to be runners up. This decade looks likely to be the first ever that a Dragons team will fail to qualify for a premiership decider.
j0nesy said:
St George have the history and have the money (or used to)
Well the club took an annual loss last year, but they still have the money.
j0nesy said:
and the Illawarra has the juniors.
Indeed, and those juniors could have also been there as a feeder arrangement or fought over on the open market - we certainly see enough Illawarra juniors playing in other clubs. Saints may get first dibs in a lot of cases, but the salary cap and other considerations means that we can't keep them all.

Willow. I am a big enough man to admit that using the words "propping up" was probably inaccurate
Well it only took a few attempts for the man in you to admit it.

Amazing what a good night's sleep can do.

So tell me, are you 'back-peddling' now? Or would you prefer, 'had a change of mind'?
Joker's Wild said:
(Btw I never denied posting those words, I was refering to you implying that I said Illawarra jrs only play for the Dragons)

but it is fair to say that you misinterpreted a fair chunk of my posts.
You said St George ALWAYS took the best juniors from the Illawarra. How else would you like me to interpret it?

As I said, you probably just didn't think it through. Or perhaps it will take a few more posts for you to admit that as well.

Joker's Wild said:
My original intent was to pull up one poster on his "Keiren Perkins" analogy and how wildly rediculous it was.
Yes, you want to tell another supporter how he should support his club.

Let's get this straight, and don't get stressed.... but you're not a Dragons supporter. You're not even a Steelers supporter - you made it clear that you abandoned supporting Illawarra in favour of the Knights.

You're entitled to your view, and you have a 'soft spot' for the local area... but let's make no mistake, the only tangible qualification you have is your postcode.
Joker's Wild said:
I am well aware that Wollongong is now a part of the Dragons catchment but I used "St George" in my posts, refering to pre JV.
Yes I know that. And you made an incorrect statement when you said St George ALWAYS took the best juniors from the Illawarra. Already said all this.
Joker's Wild said:
P.S. You implied I was a Steelers fan champ, you know you did so it was a little tough calling me paranoid ;-)
Oh good... putting words in my mouth. lol.

I'm afraid the winky emoticons offer you little defence. I knew you were a Knights supporter... I read your previous post. Why else would make the Wes Naiqama comment? Word of the day: comprehension.

But again, even if someone did call you a Steelers supporter, then so what? It seems to have touched a nerve.