Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PKF can Go Copulate Themselves

shintaro

I'll sing you a song
a song of the sea
Bird's Eye Fish Fingers

Hmm...........not sure about the "Fish Fingers" bit

SharkShocked

That + his past string of convictions, on the field that is and his links to off the field dramas

Tell me, if this were Darren Lockyer or Brett Hodgson who have never been reported as getting into trouble, and did the same thing, do you think the media would be as intense?

I think maybe not, of course i agree with the fact that the way in which he has gone about attempting to cover it up speaks volumes and has damaged any chance he had at a presumption of innocence before guilt.

But his past certainly has affected the way in which the media decided to go about it

Tell me, if this were Darren Lockyer or Brett Hodgson who have never been reported as getting into trouble, and did the same thing, do you think the media would be as intense?
Yes, any player of rep quality would have the hounds at thier door.

SharkShocked

Yes of course, i agree with that.

But i think the manner in which they would portray it, would be slightly different.

millersnose

That + his past string of convictions, on the field that is and his links to off the field dramas

absolutely

but you know what

hodgson on lockyer dont have a run of arrests and nightclub incidents

and they have never had a mate accusing them of taking the rap for assaulting a woman

only 1 footy player has that i can remember

wolverine

Girlfriend told me about this this morning and asked me the question "Who are PKF?" and i replied " I Don't Know and now i don't want to know even more so". Correct me if im wrong but i didnt see sponsors wanting to pull out of the Raiders after the many Carney incidents-same thing with Newcastle. I understand the severity of the incident with Bird but if anything your company will get more publicity by staying on-its not as though people see a player on the field punch someone and think ohhh Red Rooster condones punching people. Or a player pissing on someone and The Tradies go ohhh no we dont wanna be associated with a team who has a player who pissed on someone.

sharks8601

thats the question i want to ask
besides most sharks supporters who knew who our sleeve sponsor was???
free advertising gents

Sharkman

PKF are only a mid-tier firm obviously trying to compete with the Big 4. My view on this is that they simply see an exit strategy for the sponsorship, which in my opinion has not provided them with as much exposure/revenue increase as they would of anticipated.

That'd be my guess.

I presume though our legals and big boys are smart enough to protect the clubs income stream from sponsors by not providing vague or "generous" opt out clauses.

Surely

absolutely

but you know what

hodgson on lockyer dont have a run of arrests and nightclub incidents

and they have never had a mate accusing them of taking the rap for assaulting a woman

only 1 footy player has that i can remember

So millers do you think lanfranci and half the bulldogs team should have been sacked before all the evidence was in ?

millersnose

So millers do you think lanfranci and half the bulldogs team should have been sacked before all the evidence was in ?

no

and i will tell you why

gold digging is prevalent in society particulairly against young wealthy sportsmen

so i would need to be assured there was an assault to begin with

in the bird case their is no doubt their was an assault and their is no doubt bird tried to blame a freind

Vossy

* edit *

im still angry at bird BUT the way he has been vilified by everyone BEFORE he has even been proven innocent/guilty, is seriously fugged...this world can be screwed sometimes

Last edited by a moderator:
I once saw a PKF employee drunk & abusive at a pub one night.

Funnily enough, I did work for PKF many years ago. They helped me pay my way through uni. While working there I used to get drunk fairly regularly. Never got abusive though.

Actually how good would it be if there was a chemical in alcohol that interacted with the brain chemistry of people with aggressive/obnoxious personality types that caused them to faint/die (take your pick) at the first sip of it. Scientists, get working on that - how many societal problems would it solve!!!:D

there is a pill/injection you can take that will make you sick when you try to drink alcohol.
Alcoholics use it.

spider

an unsubstantiated report i received is that PKF will remain a sponsor with a provision that an amount be used toward player welfare - or something along those lines

sharksforever63

ABC Online, Australia - 30 minutes ago
[SIZE=-1](ABC) Accountancy firm PKF has agreed to stay on as the sleeve sponsor of the Cronulla Sharks despite concerns over Greg Bird's arrest at the weekend. ...[/SIZE]