Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What to do with Level 3 - Parramatta Leagues Club

Mark -would you know how many more poker machines we have now compared with say ten years ago?

No, but I could hazard a fair guess that the amount of floor space used is comparable apart from the new areas created. One of which is new floor space (Balcony) the other was some store rooms and a toilet.

I remember going to Kicks around that time and going to the area where the Tahoe room is now, I played a James Bond Machine, won $25 and became a member (it was more expensive then). Back then it was wall to wall and all of them were stand up machines.

mickdo

Once again, 2/3rd of floors in the Club, do not have poker machines on them. It has been that way for as long as I have been a member. I do think this is a perception issue more than anything else. The club did cut down the amount of floor space for lounging at the club. But it was not toward the benefit of the pokies.

But if the club has not been geared toward a casino, why is there so little to attract members who are not pokie players? I can't believe the number of pokies in the place has not increased significantly in the last decade.

What more would you want, without reading through masses of pages of stuff. All I have heard about is a "Better" sports bar a "Better" hall of fame and after match functions, with the overtone that we should have gotten more of them, (however we didn't play another Sunday Game at Parramatta) Some shows/concerts in the Auditorium (Which is happening) So again I guess everyone wants more or "Better" shows, cocktails and an arcade machine.

No need for a report then, eh MITS?

And while we're at it, we can keep on running up $6 million losses.

Come on mate, we are all in this for the same resaon - to improve the way things are run. No need to get defensive.

mickdo

All I have heard about is a "Better" sports bar a "Better" hall of fame and after match functions, with the overtone that we should have gotten more of them, (however we didn't play another Sunday Game at Parramatta) Some shows/concerts in the Auditorium (Which is happening) So again I guess everyone wants more or "Better" shows, cocktails and an arcade machine.

ffs Mark. That aint a small list, and by no means is it the complete list either... it's merely a start. And if all that you just listed was such a nothing, why hasn't it been done earlier??? MITS to the board's defence yet again...

Just so you know where I stand.

Sterlos is the same as always, but now it doesn't have a TAB. What does that mean for me, I can't go an put a bet on the game before I go to the game, no real issue I just bet outside the venue.

The Hall of Fame, I like far more than the original one. You had to work through photos of Old Kangaroo Tours, and Under 23 Premierships to get to others, It looked a complete mess, like your Nanna's house with all your photos on the wall. I like the current one, much cleaner, neater and acknowledges the true greats of our club.

Shows, I could care less, Night Clubs I could care less. Arcade games on level 3, I could care less. The removal of the Pool tables, thank god more space to sit down.

And finally we will see how we go with After Match Functions on a Sunday at Parramatta.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases

You question the importance of Cocktails and Big Buck Hunter???? :shock:

Yes, it does.

Perhaps help to facilitate the gaming industry?

Money put through a club goes back into the club.

Any money you spend in the club helps facilitate the gaming industry by contributing to the services provided for those who play pokies. Ovo mentioned the Reno room, for example. In putting money into the leagues club, we've all, in some way, contributed to that room IMO.
Well, you seem intent on drawing a very long bow to make some sort of point against my opinion, so all the best with that.

I can't agree or disagree with that statement as it is your perception as to what the club provides you as a member, and what you expect to be provided as a member.
Yep, and same goes to you with your own perceptions, as above.

Bart said he was going to the club in the future it would be very interesting to see if there have been and further updates on the status of Sterlos Bar. If the upgrades the club is doing up there are progressing, The cabinets for more memorabilia, rehanging the clubs Directors Boards and Life Members Boards. The Photos of the first board of directors.
Didn't get to pop up to the thrid floor last night unfortunately, just trhough the pokie floor and up to the Wentworth Room. But as of 23rd of January I can report there had been no sign of any new memorabilia cabinets (or provision for them), didn't lay eyes on any Boards/displays re past directors or a footy hall of honour either.

The Hall of Fame, I like far more than the original one. You had to work through photos of Old Kangaroo Tours, and Under 23 Premierships to get to others, It looked a complete mess, like your Nanna's house with all your photos on the wall. I like the current one, much cleaner, neater and acknowledges the true greats of our club.

And sh*t loads of empty walls.

Fair dinkum, if you call that disgrace on the 2nd floor a "Hall of Fame", you are a worse judge than I thought you were.
It is an embarressment to the club.

The reason why "nannas" have heaps of photos on their walls is because they are proud of their past.
Ever been to your nanna's house and watched a video reels package of the highlights of her life?

What you are all missing if the above is the case is the Cumberland lounge. A bar accessible directly from the foyer to go and have a drink at sit down and socialize.
Yep, a simple idea.

That used to be the part of the club I used most frequently, along with the bistro.
Yep me too. The "meeting point", as some peopel have referred to it in this thread's wish lists - one you don't have to go to the top floor to enjoy.

If that is the case, lets not go blaming the pokies, lets blame the influx of Asian people into the area, blame them for joining as members, blame them for the effect they have had on club management trying to cater to them by removing the Cumberland Lounge and adding the Tingha Palace.
I don't think that logic follows somehow... and is quite concerning to be honest? Instead of being racial, why shouldn't we blame the club directors that took the decision to take away the Cumberland Lounge (or not provide an equivalently located area), thus making a significant part of their membership feel less welcome in the club?

And sh*t loads of empty walls.

Fair dinkum, if you call that disgrace on the 2nd floor a "Hall of Fame", you are a worse judge than I thought you were.
It is an embarressment to the club.

The reason why "nannas" have heaps of photos on their walls is because they are proud of their past.
Ever been to your nanna's house and watched a video reels package of the highlights of her life?

So you where happier with the Clutter then, thank god your a builder and not an interior designer ;-)

I don't think that logic follows somehow... and is quite concerning to be honest? Instead of being racial, why shouldn't we blame the club directors that took the decision to take away the Cumberland Lounge (or not provide an equivalently located area), thus making a significant part of their membership feel less welcome in the club?

Oh that's fine Blame the directors for chasing after the clientèle, by all means. But I think they "new members to the club that use Tingha" out number us "Footy Fans" to be honest.

So you where happier with the Clutter then, thank god your a builder and not an interior designer ;-)

:lol: Good call.

No, I was happier, and quite enjoyed looking at the old photos of Kangaroo touring teams and Under 23 squads. It was (and still would be) a great education of the history and development of players from our club. It's supposed to be a Hall of Fame, not Video Ezy.

:lol: Good call.

No, I was happier, and quite enjoyed looking at the old photos of Kangaroo touring teams and Under 23 squads. It was (and still would be) a great education of the history and development of players from our club.

They are still there, just not on the walls.

I know I bought my Nana a Digital Photo Frame, the club was a few years ahead of that.