Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Only 11,000 at Parramatta's First Home Game

Evenflow

ughhhh Evenflow.why are so many Storm fans so totally obnoxious?? i know a few awesome ones but sadly they seem to be in the minority.

MsStorm i agree with you, more people need to support their team and get out there. my friends all go for different teams but we all go with each other and i think more people should do that.

but i dont think its particularly fair to compare a parra crowd to a melbourne crowd when the storm has the league monoply down there.

Obviously you are sooooo very blonde because i sure as sh*t aren't a Storm supporter. I do live down here for work purposes but if you think the Storm have a "monopoly" down here just because they're the only side in an AFL dominated state then you're even more stupid than you come across. It's obvious for all to see your ridiculously pathetic attempt to bag f**k out of the Storm just because your team are one of their (main) bitches.

I can hear a chorus of denial here but i haven't been on this forum for that long and i can still see how sadly pathetic the Stains fans are towards the Storm given their dominance over you. They own your sorry arse and the sooner you and other Queens supporters realize that the better! I think the Storm in the comp are great as much as i dislike them ane the sooner you and your scumbag Stains supporters get over your petty selves the better for everyone......Stains supporters, gotta love them for at the very least comedy value :lol:

Kiki

a blonde joke? really?

btw you are the one filled with hate not me. your diatribes are a tad disturbing to be honest.

mave

I am usually a very positive person...if you care to read my posts.
All I want to see is more people attending rugby league games in NSW.

Anyway, Loudy deserves a bit of stick:D

I eagerly await your thread congratulating Manly and the Sydney based Warriors fans then...........

nothing like a bit of positive reinforcement to get people motivated.

20 years ago the population was much less than it is now.

Loudy, you also know this is an afl town...unlike Sydney which should be or is the heartland of rugby league....just compare the crowds of both codes.

The point of this post is to encourage people in NSW to go and support their clubs.

I'm actually not interested in comparing the crowds of both codes. It never has made a sherd of difference to our game that Melbourne are fanatical about AFL - it's been to their detrement, not ours, because we don't have to rely on a 40k crowd average to prove our worth, unlike AFL.

Let AFL get their big crowds in Melbourne, because they sure can't get them anywhere near as big as League in Western Sydney, for for that matter, Canberra, Gold Coast, Newcastle, Wollongong, North Queensland, Auckland or even the mighty Central Coast.

Melbourne's problem is that it has wakned on so much about being the sporting capital. Yet it never proves it. And the response? Jump up and down and threaten death is there's a few empty seats in Sydney.

I also don't remember bagging Melbourne for it's first round crowd - I even made a point to wishing you well in filling your new stadium. The response? The normal Melbourne tall-poppy inspired wish to decimate Sydney.

I eagerly await your thread congratulating Manly and the Sydney based Warriors fans then...........

Or Bunnies and Dogs fans in Round 1, Bunnies and Eels fans last weekend.........

MsStorm

The Warriors got a fantastic crowd to their game tonight and deserve's everyone's praise.

I assume the 16,000 at Brookie last week is correct and that's a reasonable crowd...could have been a bit better, but still good.

Great to see the huge support the Cowboys got tonight against the Storm...don't know the nos. but looked quite packed.

Kiki

crowd wasn't massive last night at the Tigers game but dear god they were loud and pumped up. the atmosphere was freaking awesome.

also loudstrat, i like you. that is all.

Kiki

my bestie is a Parra fan and i've been to heaps of games with her and to be honest i don't remember ever seeing a super massive crowd there. they seem to be better on a sunday arvo though.

it's a great stadium tho, so close to the players. u can hear them thumping into each other.

my bestie is a Parra fan and i've been to heaps of games with her and to be honest i don't remember ever seeing a super massive crowd there. they seem to be better on a sunday arvo though.

it's a great stadium tho, so close to the players. u can hear them thumping into each other.

A big game at Parra was always over 20k. Used to remember Fitzy putting the crowd figures DOWN. Still remember the stadium being packed for Round 1 1997 v Norths.

Those were sunday arvo games. I bet Leichhardt, Toyota Park and Kogarah have suffered as well. Suburban Sydney is Sunday Arvo footy.

MsStorm

yeh i agree. it's also better for families during the day time.

Kiki we just can't have day games any more...the game is so professional now and we need to keep up with the other codes and hopefully get stronger.

A lot of people can't also attend day games cos they work...yes even at the weekend.

Kiki

but day games are one of the greatest things about footy. im not saying we should have heaps more, just a few.

what is unprofessional about day game??

i honestly think crowd numbers would improve if the stadiums didnt charge so much for the bloody tickets. it is so so expensive. i would go to heaps more games if i didnt have to pay 40 bucks or more. and im just a single chick, imagine having a huge family. when people can watch it on tv i get why alot of the time they dont bother going.

Kiki we just can't have day games any more...the game is so professional now and we need to keep up with the other codes and hopefully get stronger.

What a stupid excuse.

Other codes run around in their sisters undies and get a point for missing. Quick, we must keep up and adopt that practice too!

Read (amd I'll type this slowly for you) - R E A D M Y P O S T A G A I N.

Saturday night/arvo has always been the worst crowd schedule on a weekend in Sydney. Friday night against a big rival, or Sunday 3pm seems to be the big crowd puller. Brisbane seem to agree. Apparently Saturday Night works best for your mob, as it does for the Cowpats fans.

But, geez, AFL paranoia has infiltrated League. F**K AFL. Let it wander around in it's skimpy poofy kit and stupid punch the ball crap. The very LAST thing we need to do is copy AFL in ANYTHING. League got to where it is today - or better - where it was in 1994 by NOT copying ANYONE. Ever since Trumper and Giltinan decided that club Rugby was crap, League has charted it's own course. Other's fail to keep up.

Yawnion would LOVE having a game on FTA. It would LOVE to impliment it's plans in Australia without having to shelve them all due to a Seff Effrican whinge. Soccer would love our passion, the FTA, and to place in our cultural capital that League has. And AFL has been screaming for years to be recognised outside the 3 most remote cities on earth. It would LOVE to expand - but has already saturated it;'s market. League hasn;t. Because, quite simply, we have led - they have followed.

• We were the first to get televised on the east coast.
  • We were the first to make our comp international
  • We were the first to recognise our national capital as worthy of includion into the big time
  • Ditto North Queensland
  • We are the only code to be able to sell out stadiums for club, state and international games.
If you think AFL has all the answers - go back to it. Then I'll happily allow you to decimate Sydney because the Swans are a huge bag of rubbish waiting for someone with a truck to come along and piss it off back to Victoria!

A lot of people can't also attend day games cos they work...yes even at the weekend.

So, because that happens in Godless Melboring, it should happen in Sydney? You want us to fill in the harbour and drink latte as well?

gong_eagle

Average home crowds

Parramatta 13528
Melbourne 12474

Parramatta 14,142
Melbourne 11,711

Parramatta 14,587
Melbourne 10,853

Parramatta 16,264
Melbourne 8,898