Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What to do. . .?

tresurehunt

Can a moderator please start a Sticky and call it 'The thread for whingers who all say the same thing'

i see you only a student in your profile,let me put it real simple for you ,im not whinging i'm just stating that a quick fix will not help us here we've lost good key players and have struggled since.

I don't think the problem has been with who we lost it's just that we've gained no one since 2005 and we look stale and tired as a unit...we need a massive overhaul at the club and it will take 2 solid seasons to do that.

tresurehunt

I don't think the problem has been with who we lost it's just that we've gained no one since 2005 and we look stale and tired as a unit...we need a massive overhaul at the club and it will take 2 solid seasons to do that.

so is this year a write-off?

you blokes need a fair dinkum cleanout. your team reminds me a lot of the post-hagen knights. a bunch of mostly pea-hearted blokes that don't want to put in anymore. stagnant, if you will.

i hope for your teams sake, DA recognises this and gets going about it promptly. don't get me wrong.. a lot of the blokes you get rid of will kick on elsewhere... but the reality is that said players will never make a fist of it again in their little comfort zones.

you're probably in for a lot of pain in the short term.. but if DA can do what is necessary and run a broom through the place, you'll turn it around i'm sure.

The P Eel

The under 20 eels have won 2 from six-I do beleive thats the same as first grade-Just to put it into perspective my friends...
If they where 2 hot shot halves than i think maybe we be going better

Agree 100% HINDY111 - they are not yet the saviours we are dreaming about - they are not dominating u20's - as good as players as they may be with plenty of potential they have not got the team home yet when they have been in a position to win most of their games thus far. Kelly goes missing IMO, i put Mortimer a bit ahead at this stage. Maybe a stint with Wenty but not 1st grade.

salvy71

i really think the guys are trying their best,we haven't bought many good players in the past few years and the crew we have now just cant compete in this competition,putting it simply we are just not good enough as a team,we've got a couple of good players in hindy,foi foi,reddy,the rest of them are just wenty players,and are just living of the 2007 success .
i really think we miss tim smith,timana tahu and ridells ability to get us on the front foot from dummy half.

wath this and tell me we dont miss them .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JyB...7B4926D43&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=8

Forget the "many" ,we haven't bought ANY good players since 2005......

you blokes need a fair dinkum cleanout. your team reminds me a lot of the post-hagen knights. a bunch of mostly pea-hearted blokes that don't want to put in anymore. stagnant, if you will.

i hope for your teams sake, DA recognises this and gets going about it promptly. don't get me wrong.. a lot of the blokes you get rid of will kick on elsewhere... but the reality is that said players will never make a fist of it again in their little comfort zones.

you're probably in for a lot of pain in the short term.. but if DA can do what is necessary and run a broom through the place, you'll turn it around i'm sure.

I'm hoping that's what will happen. Nice post.
:clap:

zipzip man

I think these are some changes that can hopefully turn our season around.

Luke Burt - dropped! He doesn't support our forwards or anyone that makes a break for that matter anymore - And before you say it, I know they aren't creating heaps of opportunities but when they do you need that support. Pattern scored two on Sunday because he backs up. Burt seems too slow now and he never stops running sideways it's very frustrating to watch him play now days. The only thing I'm stuck on there is who to put at Fullback but I'm sure we could replace him with someone from the 20's or something especially when you look at how that young Dugan from Canberra is going after being promoted from the 20's for them only a few games back.

Reddy to centre and Inu to wing as I'm convinced that he's a finisher not a starter - Fact: some of his best football ever has always been at wing, Fiction: he's never had a blinder in the centers yet we keep him there!

I think Mortimer should be coming off the bench to start to gain some 1st grade experience, he could rotate with Keating who is going quite good and from time to time he could move Keating to 5/8 Mortimer to Halfback allowing Mateo to move to lock and roam where he is most Dangerous.

We could bring in a young up and coming prop for some enthusiasm which is also lacking.

That in my opinion would make a huge difference and could blood some of the younger guys who maybe by the middle of the season may start to play some good footy and if we win a few here and there maybe we could finish somewhere in the 8 and build for next year.

I was at the game on Sunday and I'm still hurting from it, I was shattered on Sunday night and just don't know when we will fix our club that has been breaking my heart for the last 5 years. Just my 20c worth what do all you other suffering Parra supporters think??

FUIFUI_MOIMOI

Burt will never be dropped. He improved from the week before, he didnt let any balls bounce and he actually ran the ball slightly. He won't be dropped.

Im not a fan of burt but i know he will not be dropoped (yet)

INU will be dropped today.

Difference between Dugan and our NYC team is, Canberra won the NYC last year and good again this year. If our NYC team was coming first, im sure Ando would of got mortimer in firstgrade by now.

zipzip man

Well burt should be droped! i don't rate that Pattern too highly but he made Burt look like a 2 Div park footballer on Sunday.

What value are we getting from him?

lewiscook

Well burt should be droped! i don't rate that Pattern too highly but he made Burt look like a 2 Div park footballer on Sunday.

What value are we getting from him?

tell me about it,
it looked like the kind of a effort i'd put in after bout 8 scooners. . .

SDM

In the last 10 years, Pattern has outplayed Burt 85% of the time, so its no surprise.

zipzip man

Well I want him gone! I used to defend him and love the way he played but he has just lost it now, he has no speed, no weight, can't run straight, don't support, gets caught in goal more often than not, no speed and no hope. act now Daniel punt Inu and Burt back to Wenty - or better still Greystanes park footy.

Also one other thing I notuced.... I watched the post match conference and I don't know if it's just me but does Cayless look uninterested? It seems as though he doesn't like Anderson as well and don't seem to agree too much with whatever he says? I heard him interviewed the other week and he just seems very much a smart @rse at the moment.

johnkolc

We could bring in a young up and coming prop for some enthusiasm which is also lacking.

This is a big one. Until Paulo comes back I don't see the harm in getting Latimore into grade from the bench. He's certainly big enough and from what I have seen of him should get a run sooner rather than later.

Craig Johnston

the thing with burt is that he is there to either be:

1. a support runner
2. the field leader helping to organise running the team around the park. (kk can't do it by himself)

he can't be both.

kris does a better job of supporting runners, play him at 6. get burt into the 7 so he can stick to doing one job.

move hayne or even reddy to fb so we can get some decent metres coming back from kick returns. this is one area we are losing out massively.