Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The "I Told You So" thread

brendothejet

for any of you who read my rant thread you will know I have been protesting the running of an A Grade and 2nd Grade side at Newtown.

Well today in only our second match the A grade side had to forfeit with only 9 players turning in, and the 2nd grade played in a hard fought, exciting game to go down 48-24 (can't remember exactly). The 2nds played with one reserve and unfortunatley one of our blokes broke his hand midway through the match.

I think that the club should focus its efforts on one team as clearly the strain on resources is already taking its toll. With the broken ankle and ribs last week, a broken hand this week, we can all see the toll the season will take on the team.

Now I'm not taking any pleasure in this. I want this club to succeed and i believe it is possible, but not until we drop the charade of being bigger than we are.

Congratulations to the guys that went out there today and had a go. Im sure once we lift the fitness levels a little bit we will be able to match it with other sides and give it a good go.

brendan

brendothejet

Has OD has eluded to its gotten worse down there.

last night i was at work so i missed training. What i heard from a few people has got me torn between laughing and crying.

A total of 9 players turned up for training last night, after the weekends A Grade forfeit, and B grade having 1 reserve. Yet, in all their wisdom they are pressing on with 2 sides.

Apparently the powers that be claim they have 30 players (ive never seen that many at one time) and that when the time comes to split the A Grade will take 15.

15 players for an a grade side?!?!?!?! are you mental? Considering in the game you can have 20 players (7 reserves, unlimited interchange) and every other club in the comp will, you want to take 15 for A SEASON!?!?!?!?

We struggle when we do have a full bench and you want to ask these guys to play a season with 2 reserves?

What happens when there are some injuries? What happens when someone has to work? What happens when someones kid is sick? What happens when life has to come before football?

I'll tell you what happens. We forfeit, the club loses money. The juniors suffer, they lose money, they lose sponsors (whose gonna pay for a team that doesnt finsih the comp?) and ultimately the jets suffer.

As outsiders it is tough to understand the situation, but i'll try to clarify it as best I can.

In previous years we have have had more players, better players, better coaches, better preperation and we have still been smashed because we have played in a grade above our ability.

We should be consolidating this season by bringing all the players together in one team and trying to improve on the results of last year, and by playing in a grade suitable to our skill level.

The coach will tell you that the B grade was introduced for players who wanted to play but didnt want to train. he will tell you it is for players who are older or younger and not up to the grade.

This is all bullsh*t. I, like others, am a shift worker. Last year we worked our shifts and trained when we could, but still played. last year there were guys who were 16 and guys who were 52. they still played.

All of a sudden the guys who have put themselves on the line are not good enough for the cause, yet as shown by the B Grade on the weekend they are the guys who are willing to turn up and put in.

For heaven's sake newtown wake up and smell the coffee.

One team. One Grade.

It is the only way that we will have a chance at a successful season.

brendothejet

Must say that i find it interesting we've had 300 views between the two posts re:Junior Jets and only 5 or 6 replies.

I know there are people higher up the food chain than me reading this. Why are you silent?

Silence?

Perhaps those who are up the food chain a little realise what a ludicrous idea this is, but as now so backed into a corner they have no room to move.

It's a sad day that when you express your views and concerns, based on past experience and a healthy dose of common sense, you're branded as "negative". Please; don't confuse negativity with an appreciation for the reality of the situation.

Anyway. The boys who are fair dinkum will kit up and run out on Sunday (weather and numbers permitting) and will be there at the end, no matter what idiotic plans are put in place.

This club exists for its players, not its "executive".

NZ Jet

I understand your concerns totally. The bit I don't get is why the NJJs don't have more seniors players in the first place. The kids teams seem to be growing in numbers each year (my son has played for past 2 years and it seems to be going well) and the seniors have been around for a few years now. From other posts it seems like there has been some good publicity for the club on 2SM etc (and may be a factor in why they'd want an A grade?) plus you've got the 100+ years of Bluebags/Jets history.

So all you've said is completely valid in the situation you are in - seems utterly pointless to forfeit matches and have blokes getting hurt by playing on injured cos no reserves etc... but why is the club in that position in the first place - after all there are many clubs without the Jets marketing, history etc playing in A grade and in more than one grade in Souths/Easts at seniors level?

Sorry if I've missed it mate, but that's what I don't understand.

brendothejet

I understand your concerns totally. The bit I don't get is why the NJJs don't have more seniors players in the first place. The kids teams seem to be growing in numbers each year (my son has played for past 2 years and it seems to be going well) and the seniors have been around for a few years now. From other posts it seems like there has been some good publicity for the club on 2SM etc (and may be a factor in why they'd want an A grade?) plus you've got the 100+ years of Bluebags/Jets history.

So all you've said is completely valid in the situation you are in - seems utterly pointless to forfeit matches and have blokes getting hurt by playing on injured cos no reserves etc... but why is the club in that position in the first place - after all there are many clubs without the Jets marketing, history etc playing in A grade and in more than one grade in Souths/Easts at seniors level?

Sorry if I've missed it mate, but that's what I don't understand.

no mate youve picked up on a vaild point. After about the under 15s players go AWOL. I'd say in the six years at the jets ive played a grade we've probably used 100+ players. they all leave because we manage oursleves poorly at the senior level, so we end up performing poorly and players walk away.

Not to mention we've had players proceed up the ranks to high grades, move overseas/away, retire, go to gaol and various other things....

stumped

no mate youve picked up on a vaild point. After about the under 15s players go AWOL. I'd say in the six years at the jets ive played a grade we've probably used 100+ players. they all leave because we manage oursleves poorly at the senior level, so we end up performing poorly and players walk away.

Not to mention we've had players proceed up the ranks to high grades, move overseas/away, retire, go to gaol and various other things....

If its as you say it is I will offer my assistance, I'll be their Sunday with 26 band aids for your grazed knees, if thats not good enough I'll supply 13 razor blades for you to slash your wrist....

I have seen your efforts on the field and strongly recommend that the 2nd's is where you belong, along with all but maybe 2 or 3 of your team mates.

In all honesty, leave the club if you feel so strongly about what you have put out for all of us to read.

If its as you say it is I will offer my assistance, I'll be their Sunday with 26 band aids for your grazed knees, if thats not good enough I'll supply 13 razor blades for you to slash your wrist....

I have seen your efforts on the field and strongly recommend that the 2nd's is where you belong, along with all but maybe 2 or 3 of your team mates.

In all honesty, leave the club if you feel so strongly about what you have put out for all of us to read.

Leave the club???? What a well thought out, considered response..... not.

Sure, let's just walk away from the idiocy; let's just walk away from our mates; let's just walk away just because the problem is tough; let's just give up, like most in society do. If walking away was the answer, then there'd be no need to post at all.

The thread was posted because of the love of the club; the love of the sport; because people actually believe there is a better way to do things at the Jets.

Despite the inherent sarcasm, maybe 2nds is where we belong. But the issue here is much deeper than which grade the boys play in, although from the tone of your reply, that seems to be lost on you.

I hope you're not married, or plan to. If things get tough I imagine you'll just walk away.

brendothejet

To suggest I belong in seconds is rediculous. Probably 3rds at best atm, but hey, what are you going to do?

And yes you are right, probably all but 2 or 3 of my team mates should be in 2nds. Which is precisely my point! Why are they putting these guys in a grade that is above them?

Stumped if I just quit the club as you've suggested I would be walking out on a team, a club and people I care about. Right now is a tough moment for the junior jets side, but does that mean I just quit?

When the Newtown Jets got kicked out of the NSWRL did people just quit?

When they didn't field a side at any level for a couple of years did they just quit?

You don't last 100 years as a club in the toughest sport in the world by walking away when things get tough. In light of ANZAC day just passing it makes me wonder what it would have been like standing next to you in the trenches...

mate I may not be the best footballer going around, but as I have proven time and time again I will put my hand up and have a go, especially when the chips are down, which they frequently are for Newtown.

This thread isn't about me as you are making it out to be however, this thread is about a serious problem at the NJJs.

This issue is not only going to affect the A/B Grade side (whatever we are) but it will have further ramifications down the junior structure. Every game we forfiet incurs a fine and that is money that could be going towards young kids playing footy.

The NJJs have done a fantastic job creating a community environment for their young players, especially given the locality they operate in and the diverse domestic situation our young footballers come from. It would be a shame if the egos of a few older people got in the way of continuing this work.

Stumped you seem upset that I have put this out there to the world. Well for the Newtown and Rugby league fans that read this forum i felt it prevalent that they know what is happening.

Some people on here care more about calling the Newtown directors (senior level) names rather than football - as seen by the fact no one posts in here any more. People come on here to slander and sledge, but never to talk about football.

Well i've come here with a real problem, and one that can be solved so easily, yet am howled down for it by yourself.

If you're going to be there on Sunday don't bring band aids or your razor blades, why don't you bring your boots and have a run. I guarantee you at least one side, if not both will be short on players.

Tempe, 1pm kick off, warm up from 12pm.

BTJ

silverfox

you should probably question souths juniors about what grade they put the teams in. you cannot blame the committee as they have all these players that turn up early on so they nominate 2 teams. Then there is no one as souths juniors out them in a-grade and they get flogged. I think you will find both teams will be in b-grade

silverfox

other than that brendo - your whinge is getting boring - why dont you nominate yoursefl for the comittee so these things can be bought up? is there anyone from a-grade on there? People have only looked at this post to laugh at yours and the other blokes rant - to see if you actaully have anything decent to say. You say that people critise the senior club - your doing exactly the same to the juniors. Stand up and address the committee if you feel so strongly

greg

Some people on here care more about calling the Newtown directors (senior level) names rather than football - as seen by the fact no one posts in here any more. People come on here to slander and sledge, but never to talk about football.
BTJ

Spot on Brendo. I mentioned similar on this forum last month only to find it removed the next day. Plenty of good old contributors have gone missing. Too much politics, not enough football.
This is your cue now "stumped" where you acuse me of being a sook or having a hidden agenda.

brendothejet

other than that brendo - your whinge is getting boring - why dont you nominate yoursefl for the comittee so these things can be bought up? is there anyone from a-grade on there? People have only looked at this post to laugh at yours and the other blokes rant - to see if you actaully have anything decent to say. You say that people critise the senior club - your doing exactly the same to the juniors. Stand up and address the committee if you feel so strongly

Hey hey, we have contact!

I've spoken to the manager, the club director, the coaching staff, other senior players and yet it falls on deaf ears.

Yeah I’m "critise"-ing the club, because unlike other issues raised on this forum, this is something that can be changed very easily.

its also pretty funny that you call for me to stand up and address people when you are posting anonymously on an internet forum.

If you read my orignal thread you will see me point to specific evidence of past years where large numbers of players have signed on but never fronted. Not to mention the injuries etc which i feel I have covered. WHy is it that when I bring statistical evidence to the table I'm howled down?

If I can see the problems of the past 6 years at the Jets then why can't anyone else? I've not got any magical powers and I'm not privy to any extra information.

Look at the scoreboards. Look at the player rosters of years gone by. Look at the forfeited games and seasons.

Rectify the situation in 2009 before its too late.

Not unreasonable, not impossible.

brendothejet

Spot on Brendo. I mentioned similar on this forum last month only to find it removed the next day. Plenty of good old contributors have gone missing. Too much politics, not enough football.
This is your cue now "stumped" where you acuse me of being a sook or having a hidden agenda.

I agree. The forum has died due to the conspiracy theorists. Now when there are problems, good times to share, wins to talk about, losses to sufffer, there is no one around to talk about it to.

Moderating the Newtown forum is about as time consuming as counting the number of wins the Sharks have this year.

you should probably question souths juniors about what grade they put the teams in. you cannot blame the committee as they have all these players that turn up early on so they nominate 2 teams. Then there is no one as souths juniors out them in a-grade and they get flogged. I think you will find both teams will be in b-grade

Nonsense:
This year there has never been enough players for two teams. Last year we had 26 regularly turning up for training for one team, and by mid season we struggled to get a full bench. By season's end, it was even worse.

This year we have supposedly 36 on the books, although 36 have never turned up to training, and we try to run 2 sides? Does it take Stephen Hawking to realise how stupid this is?

And there'll be little chance of two teams playing in any division.

Oh dear.....

You think this discussion hasn't been taken up with anyone at the Jets who'll listen???? That's the problem. NO ONE LISTENS.

This was fiercly discussed at training last week with the coach and a committee member...... to no avail.

Criticise? You bet. They deserve it.

Kingy83

For all of BTJ and OD's faults, mainly the lack of footballing ability (Sorry i couldn't help having a dig) there are certain things they are not lacking and that is commitment and passion. They have those attributes in spades.

Anyone that see's their comments on here as whinging is clearly lacking brain cells. They are drawing attention to a very real problem that before to long could spell the end of senior park football at the Jets.

I am not criticising this years coaching or management of the A/B grade teams as it has been a common theme in my time at the Jets since 06. It is fine to want to build up an A, A reserve and hell, why not a B grade team as well. If that was to happen i would hope to be a part of it in some form. But some words need to be heeded...........Rome wasnt built in a day.

stumped

Oh dear.....

You think this discussion hasn't been taken up with anyone at the Jets who'll listen???? That's the problem. NO ONE LISTENS.

This was fiercly discussed at training last week with the coach and a committee member...... to no avail.

Criticise? You bet. They deserve it.

lets set the record straight, your not happy and you want something done!! well when I had a negative point posted on this very forum, One BTJ was one of many that would criticise me saying "If I didn't like the way the club was run then leave" well let me tell you and BTJ, I did just that, I did not renew my membership to either the sports club or football club, I have attended one home game this year apposed to all but one last year, your gripe is somewhat tiresome and very childish, from what I see you are saying the club should not have more than one side in A grade, I say good on the juniors for trying to promote and encourage the growth of the juniors.

so adhere to some of your previous advise and either take up the battle on the field of dreams or walk away,

by the way, has anything ever come of the multitude of funds from Narellan?

brendothejet

lets set the record straight, your not happy and you want something done!! well when I had a negative point posted on this very forum, One BTJ was one of many that would criticise me saying "If I didn't like the way the club was run then leave" well let me tell you and BTJ, I did just that, I did not renew my membership to either the sports club or football club, I have attended one home game this year apposed to all but one last year, your gripe is somewhat tiresome and very childish, from what I see you are saying the club should not have more than one side in A grade, I say good on the juniors for trying to promote and encourage the growth of the juniors.

so adhere to some of your previous advise and either take up the battle on the field of dreams or walk away,

by the way, has anything ever come of the multitude of funds from Narellan?

Let me give you an update.

The A Grade has forfeited for this weekends match. There is a couple hundred dollars down the drain.

Now it appears both sides will play in the 2nd division, with the prospect of the sides playing each other later in the comp.

You are saying stumped that the NJJs deserve congratulations for trying to grow the juniors, what by placing them in a position that will endager their season.

3 games in and weve had two forfeits. What growth!

Stumped i dont know who you are, but Im aware of the gripes you have with the senior club. I dont have anything to do with the politics of that club.

Why is it so difficult for you to accept what Im saying? Ive been at the club for 6 years and have seen what happens. Why cant you look at the past and ensure history doesnt repeat itself?

Like I said at the beginning of the post, A Grade has forfeited their match this weekend. I said that would happen and everyone told me it would be okay. Well its not.

Finally Stumped, you dont have to go out there on the weekend and play. You dont have to make the tackles, carry the ball up. You dont have to walk around being the laughing stock of the comp, losing by a cricket score each week.

I dearly want to turn this team around and turn Newtown into a success. that isnt going to happen while we divide our resources in half.