Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Panthers Vs. Eels

only change should be Cooper or Grant for Smith Parra still has weak forwards and Smith has no aggresion Cooper tackles much harder and plays Prop at a push also.

I bet you wouldnt say that to moi moi or hindmarsh or mannah now ....
If our forward are lame than penriths are poo. Just cause a player makes a big run doesnt make him good.Guys like lowrie and ben smith who tackle all game are the reason why we are letting in 1-2 tries a game.When was the last time penrith did that : )

Kilkenny

Kilkenny was in the process of organising tickets to this epic clash this friday night only to be reminded by the missus we bought tickets months back for Hale and Pace this Friday night at the Evans Theatre.

Hale and Pace as anyone who has watched them live are a great act and we look forward to seeing them again.

We can only hope Hale and Pace will provide score updates during the show, but if not, I look forward to walking out of the Evans Theatre about 10pm to scenes of jubiliation throughout our club.

For the record the last time I missed a Panthers game for a comedy show was when the missus and I saw Carl Barron and that day we beat the Sea Eagles at there home ground so the karma is good.

franklin2323

If our forward are lame than penriths are poo. Just cause a player makes a big run doesnt make him good.Guys like lowrie and ben smith who tackle all game are the reason why we are letting in 1-2 tries a game.When was the last time penrith did that : )

Mate take out Moi Moi and the rest are workhorses why else did you guys buy Shackleton and Poore if you was fine in the forwards you would buy 2 new props. Moi Moi will be on for his usual 10 mins each 1/2 then off. Yes Lowrie and Smith are like Nathan Smith, Grant or Cooper will make heaps of tackles but don't really offer much then that.

Sleep

Tim Mannah isn't anything special. Good heart and workrate but little impact.

Both benches are a bit... hey how you going but they've at least got Mateo who adds plenty.

To win this Waterhouse and Pritchard need to really have big games. Sammut too needs to be on the ball.

Walsh has been a bit off lately too. If he starts out the same way send the ball to Graham on the last and let him run the show. He's been great for us. I prefer his kicking game to Walsh's.

TeamSatan

Last week vrs the mighty rabbitohs.......

murraymob

lets hope the rumour about jennings injury is not true.Interesting it has not been denied on p1 yet

Western_Eel

Mate take out Moi Moi and the rest are workhorses why else did you guys buy Shackleton and Poore if you was fine in the forwards you would buy 2 new props. Moi Moi will be on for his usual 10 mins each 1/2 then off. Yes Lowrie and Smith are like Nathan Smith, Grant or Cooper will make heaps of tackles but don't really offer much then that.
Dont know where you are getting 10 mins each half from! you obviously dont watch the footy! Your forwards will get squashed on friday, yes they might do alright the 1st 25mins but after that we will get to say bye bye to the mighty Panthers,
Whats Penrith done in the last 10weeks to impress anyone anyway!

TheFrog

Whats Penrith done in the last 10weeks to impress anyone anyway!

Well they did beat Parramatta back in Round 17 but of course this was not considered any great shakes at the time....

Guys like lowrie and ben smith who tackle all game are the reason why we are letting in 1-2 tries a game.When was the last time penrith did that : )

Er, it was 4 last week as I recall. Maybe the great purple patch is ending.

The Realist

Below is a post from PI which I had to save here before it got deleted by their mod brigade. 100% sums up my thoughts!!!

Quote: elliot has to go on Today at 10:16 PM(LINK)
What an absolute disgrace. Cant say it was unexpected, we saw exactly the same finish to the year last year, season on the line, our destiny in our own hands and we capitulate worse then the zimbabwe cricket team on a turning Indian pitch. The thing that hurts the most, more then missing the finals for 5 years in a row is how mediocrity is not only accepted at our club bit it is REWARDED.

For starters we have a CEO who now has the full responsibility over the football team decisions who is no more then an equipment manager. Leary use to be in charge of the witches hats and drinkbottles and somehow someone with no credible business experience has the sole responsibility of our football team. It is mindboggling how he has been intrusted with such high responsibilities. Look at the fortunes of successfully teams - it starts with their front of house - the management. The Bulldogs have wiped their management and employed smart businessmen and look what happens, they recruit magnificently, increase memberships by 50% and translate this into a stellar season on the field. Another example is the Storm - recruited a CEO who has a background in business from the AFL and they have grown to be the most successful team over the last 5 years? Coincidence NO!

The braintrusts of the panthers made a wrong decision 3 year ago when hiring elliot. This is the start of a shocking and destabilising chapter of the panthers history. We heard the excuses of deadwood players and players struggling to adapt to new game plans the first year when we finshed with the spoon, the next year the coach labels the year as a "rebuilding" year and again the coaches gameplan which consits of hit up hit up, pass to half back to turn it on the inside to a forward again - totally neglecting any involvement of our backline and heaven forbid if we ever see a rehearsed backline movement - oh and his beauty of a tactic his most famous "the mid field pointless bomb" the bomb which goes straight down the fullbacks throat with no pressure on him, that's the one is blames as being to hard to grasp?!! WTF

On to this year, supercoach finally has the roster he has wanted and got rid of adamson who was causing conflict - so with the right player and the right gameplan according to supercoach we are primed for a good season (note a good season under elliot is making up the numbers in the 8 as seen by his stint with Canberra). Throughout the season due to sheer brilliance of some individual players and scrambling defence we managed to put ourselves in a great position to make the playoffs. Then as the season draws to the "glory bound" rounds elliot has one eye on taking out the comp (as seen in several newspaper articles : We can win it blah blah) Yet just like the previous year elliot can not get the players up for the big games. We go onto play terrible footy and our finals hopes fade away for yet another year. After each big game being hyped up after our "disappointing" loss we hear elliot state that he has got something wrong with the preparation of the team. We here it time and time again, he says he will rectify it yet he uses the excuse after losses to manly, st george, Brisbane and yet again he has failed in preparing the boys for tonight's do or die clash with the eels. What was displayed tonight was woeful and embarrassing for our proud club - it is not good enough and after another poor year there has to be some ACCOUNTIBILITY from elliot and Leary.

There is no defence for elliot, whichever way you look at it there are no positives with this coach or management. If you say elliot isnt dropping the balls or missing the tackles that is correct but he has a much more important job of preparing the players and constructing the game plans that they use and he has FAILED massively in his time at penrith. Look at the eels as an example - 7 weeks ago with the exact same roster they were defeated by our injury depleted team - and look at them now, undefeated since that game with the same personnel - it proves the massive role the coach plays n motivation, preparation and game plans. Elliot is not capable or compotent in any of these areas an he simply has to go.

Leary plays his role with the pitiful recruitment the club has - by far the worst in the NRL, whats the point of employing a recruitment manager when we barely sign a player? Hell we couldn't even retain our recruitment manager last year who to say with any confidence we will retain Franky Pritchard or Jenno?

It is time for the fans to make a stand and demand some accountability from the coach and management - what we are currently being served just isn't good enough. The club already has the lowest membership numbers in the NRL and the coach and CEO are further driving away supporters who are fed up with the lack of accountability and the attitude of rewarding mediocrity - how on earth elliot gained a 2 year extension on will never no it simply backs up my sentiments that the club rewards mediocrity.

I feel so sorry for the guys who are pushing membership next year - you guys and the merchandise shop have been the only shining light at the club recently (top job guys) but your attempt to gain member numbers faces the toughest task due the incompetence of our CEO and Matthew Elliot.

Ive given elliot 3 years time and ive had enough - time for some changes and to put an end to his disheartening chapter of the panthers history - who's with me guys?

Caged Panther

Posted this in another thread but it seems to more or less echo the same sort of sentiments as the realist so I'll put it here too

--------------------------------------------------------------
Why is it that when every other team has had there finals aspirations on the line over the last few weeks they've turned up and given it there all, even if they've gone on to lose. Yet we, as we always do, turned up and produced a performance that is mildy discribed as beyond pathetic.

I had some prothetic words about sammut on drive to parrmatta tonight, saying I thought he was lucky coote was injured because his form hadn't been great. Did he try tonight? Sure, but that means nothing when your trying gives a red hot opposition that needed to be denied momentum that exact thing.

Jennings does definetely need to get more active and go looking for the ball but I have sneaking suspision that the coaches gameplan may have something to do with that.

Pritchard as usual had one outstanding game and felt his work was done for the next month. And what little he gave certainly wasn't helped by the decision to take him off early and leave him off until the game was gone.

Of course that decision is the coaches and what a complete myth we have as a coach. Stupid inside balls that are not only telegraphed when they are about to come but even if they weren't you'd still know they were coming because we do it every week. Unfathomable interchange decisions during the game as well as choices about who is on the interchange bench as well as a complete inability to get the best out of players.

It's our admininstration that really take the cake though. Nero sitting on the hill playing his harp or f**king fiddle or whatever the hell it was he was playing has nothing on these guys.

After two years of no results we decided our myth of a coach and proven himself afer a slightly above averge (for us) run to be worthy of another two year contract. Masterstroke.

We continue to lose players and sign either no one or nuffies to replace them and when we dare call into question the recruitment and retention poilcies we get a standard line about the salary cap and recruitment and retention being a complex balancing act.

Well yes it is but only if you have dunces in charge like the ones that seem to be running penrith. Because every other club seems to manage this complex issue in a way that they are able to fill the gaps where they exist in their playing rosters, retain the core of their team and lose the deadwood while we let the gaps grow, let everyone steal our core and recruit extra deadwood.

While I'd like to sit here in say I'm going to boycott home games and not buy a season ticket as a protest against this complete and utter uselessness both on and off the field I know it won't happen. I know instead by the time the Grand final roles around despite every ounce of logic I can summon telling me otherwise I'll have born some new false beleif that next year might be the turning point and so I'll endure another year of schooling in what a dumb club we are on and off the field.

Fibroman

I thought our forwards came out all guns a blazing and looked to be dominating in the first 15 minutes of the game, which under usual circumstances sets the tone for the rest of the game. All our forwards except Franky P, who went missing.

Those early penalties really hurt us, and enabled Parra to put 12 points on us early.

I think we were hard done by in that respect and I will continue to hate referees as they are the scum of the earth.

I have been saying this all year. I will say it one more time. SAMMUT IS TOO SMALL AND TOO SLOW TO PLAY FIRST GRADE. He was clearly caught out of position all night and continues to get thrown around like a rag doll.

Elliotts game plan sucks. The stupid inside ball to Bell, Puletua or Cooper is just a waste of a tackle.

Parra outside backs are all over 6 foot and good under the high ball. Why did we bomb to them all night? What's wrong with putting the ball along the ground. Bob Blair would have been a better kicking option.

Blair and Tighe are two of the most gifted players in our side. Elliott starts Blair at hooker. WTF! If Blair is going to be in the side, he needs to be running the ball 2 wide.

As soon as we got 18 points down, it should have been all hands on deck. Pritchard out on the field under instructions to run the ball at least once every set of 6. Instructions should have also gone to the halves to get the ball the Jennings.

Elliott was a dumb 2nd rower when he played. He is a dumb coach, and we have dumb management for leaving him there.

Finally.... JTK showed once again that he is a star of the future. Not only did he play most of the season at Windsor, we have failed to secure his services for the future.

I am a shattered Panther supporter.

Fibroman

Below is a post from PI which I had to save here before it got deleted by their mod brigade. 100% sums up my thoughts!!!

What an absolute disgrace. Cant say it was unexpected, we saw exactly the same finish to the year last year, season on the line, our destiny in our own hands and we capitulate worse then the zimbabwe cricket team on a turning Indian pitch. The thing that hurts the most, more then missing the finals for 5 years in a row is how mediocrity is not only accepted at our club bit it is REWARDED.

For starters we have a CEO who now has the full responsibility over the football team decisions who is no more then an equipment manager. Leary use to be in charge of the witches hats and drinkbottles and somehow someone with no credible business experience has the sole responsibility of our football team. It is mindboggling how he has been intrusted with such high responsibilities. Look at the fortunes of successfully teams - it starts with their front of house - the management. The Bulldogs have wiped their management and employed smart businessmen and look what happens, they recruit magnificently, increase memberships by 50% and translate this into a stellar season on the field. Another example is the Storm - recruited a CEO who has a background in business from the AFL and they have grown to be the most successful team over the last 5 years? Coincidence NO!

The braintrusts of the panthers made a wrong decision 3 year ago when hiring elliot. This is the start of a shocking and destabilising chapter of the panthers history. We heard the excuses of deadwood players and players struggling to adapt to new game plans the first year when we finshed with the spoon, the next year the coach labels the year as a "rebuilding" year and again the coaches gameplan which consits of hit up hit up, pass to half back to turn it on the inside to a forward again - totally neglecting any involvement of our backline and heaven forbid if we ever see a rehearsed backline movement - oh and his beauty of a tactic his most famous "the mid field pointless bomb" the bomb which goes straight down the fullbacks throat with no pressure on him, that's the one is blames as being to hard to grasp?!! WTF

On to this year, supercoach finally has the roster he has wanted and got rid of adamson who was causing conflict - so with the right player and the right gameplan according to supercoach we are primed for a good season (note a good season under elliot is making up the numbers in the 8 as seen by his stint with Canberra). Throughout the season due to sheer brilliance of some individual players and scrambling defence we managed to put ourselves in a great position to make the playoffs. Then as the season draws to the "glory bound" rounds elliot has one eye on taking out the comp (as seen in several newspaper articles : We can win it blah blah) Yet just like the previous year elliot can not get the players up for the big games. We go onto play terrible footy and our finals hopes fade away for yet another year. After each big game being hyped up after our "disappointing" loss we hear elliot state that he has got something wrong with the preparation of the team. We here it time and time again, he says he will rectify it yet he uses the excuse after losses to manly, st george, Brisbane and yet again he has failed in preparing the boys for tonight's do or die clash with the eels. What was displayed tonight was woeful and embarrassing for our proud club - it is not good enough and after another poor year there has to be some ACCOUNTIBILITY from elliot and Leary.

There is no defence for elliot, whichever way you look at it there are no positives with this coach or management. If you say elliot isnt dropping the balls or missing the tackles that is correct but he has a much more important job of preparing the players and constructing the game plans that they use and he has FAILED massively in his time at penrith. Look at the eels as an example - 7 weeks ago with the exact same roster they were defeated by our injury depleted team - and look at them now, undefeated since that game with the same personnel - it proves the massive role the coach plays n motivation, preparation and game plans. Elliot is not capable or compotent in any of these areas an he simply has to go.

Leary plays his role with the pitiful recruitment the club has - by far the worst in the NRL, whats the point of employing a recruitment manager when we barely sign a player? Hell we couldn't even retain our recruitment manager last year who to say with any confidence we will retain Franky Pritchard or Jenno?

It is time for the fans to make a stand and demand some accountability from the coach and management - what we are currently being served just isn't good enough. The club already has the lowest membership numbers in the NRL and the coach and CEO are further driving away supporters who are fed up with the lack of accountability and the attitude of rewarding mediocrity - how on earth elliot gained a 2 year extension on will never no it simply backs up my sentiments that the club rewards mediocrity.

I feel so sorry for the guys who are pushing membership next year - you guys and the merchandise shop have been the only shining light at the club recently (top job guys) but your attempt to gain member numbers faces the toughest task due the incompetence of our CEO and Matthew Elliot.

Ive given elliot 3 years time and ive had enough - time for some changes and to put an end to his disheartening chapter of the panthers history - who's with me guys?

I have to say, I cannot disagree with anything in this post, which is very sad indeed.

mightypanther

I, very sadly, agree with all 3 of you. Every single word that you have all written.
Too sad and bitter to add anything of my own right now.....:eek: :( ](*,)

Kilkenny

Do I think we can do better in terms of adding value to the existing playing roster, absolutely.

Does the blame of what happened last night and against the Broncos lay at the feet of Matt Elliot and the coaching staff, no I don't think so.

It is naive to think Matt Elliot got the playing roster he wanted. He wanted Todd Carney for starters and didn't get him. There are others he has wanted to recruit into the club but is hamstrung by our finances and that isn't going to change.

With Petro and all our top players fit and healthy we are reasonably competitive. Without Petro he leaves a massive whole which frankly we cannot fill.

We would have made the semi's had Petro been fit and available and considering our other injury woes we have performed reasonably well leaving aside the two very disappointing displays against the Broncos and Eels.

The sad part of the whole equation is our management have not done anything to address the deficiencies in our playing roster. We have not bought anyone when clearly we needed at least four quality players to strengthen us for next season.

I agree 2010 will almost certainly be another of disappointment as we will be relying on the same group of players on which we are clearly deficient in a number of key areas.

murraymob

laying the blame just on Elliott is crazy.Ask any coach does want to go out and buy players the answer will be yes Elliott included.The board have given him no one new to improve his side with.And the did the same to lang.
But Elliott does have to take the blame for the fact we have no set moves no decoy runners no plan on how to attack different teams as we play them.Simple fact we are using a squad of about 20 players and guys like Pearn mckenry,Arona ,blackett just where not given a shot when others where under performing.

I hate to say it but we have a forward pack of lazy footballers.No one runs a decoy for another .Watch all the top teams players in motion even if they dont get the ball.I will always support penrith but investing in season tickets and the amount spent in merchandize may be asking to much next year

mightypanther

I will still be buying my season tickets next season, because when it comes to Penrith I am such a glutton for punishment - 20 years and still counting, but I don't think, in our one income household, that I can justify to my non league following husband any dollars spent on merchandise, at least for next year.

But I will still be there at all the home games, and most of the away ones, with the same stupid and unrealistic hope that our team will have a reasonable successful season.

False hope ??? Yep, probably, but what am I gonna do? I'm a Panther till I die, I can't help it....:crazy::D

Kilkenny

I am unconvinced Matt Elliot is to blame for the last six weeks or so.

As those who know me can attest I have been firmly of the view we have lacked quality in a number of key positions and as such we have been found wanting again at the business end of the season for the past two seasons.

Is Matt Elliot to blame I don't think so as clearly he has been hamstrung by our lack of ambition by management and our lack of recruitment in key positions.

Let's not be naive, Matt Elliot knows exactly where our deficiencies lay but he can do nothing. The management of the club control the purse strings and they clearly are not doing him any favours.

Blaming ME is too convenient. Blame the coach and sack him.

ME is a good coach and could be successful but will never be successful while he is tied to a club with no ambition and no ability or finances to attract quality players to the club.

Yes let's continue to blame ME but that is surely masking the true failings of our club.

mightypanther

I have to say that I don't feel quite as depressed about the result of our game as I did earlier.

My mood lifted a little higher on hearing that the dragons had slipped to their 3rd loss in a row, and it lifted even higher when I heard they lost 41-6 to souths.

If wayne bennett's competition leaders can have a major slump this close to the finals, and have a huge scoreline like that put on them by a team too far down the ladder to make the finals, then I don't feel quite so bad about our lowly performance against a red hot, in form team that is on the rise.

Hey, the way things are going for us, I'll take any mood lifter I can get.....

bigfoot

I am unconvinced Matt Elliot is to blame for the last six weeks or so.
Seriously? :crazy:
Our attack consists of either:
a). Ball is passed from hooker to a backrower/frontrower who takes a hitup.
b). Ball is passed from hooker to Walsh who throws an inside ball to a backrower/frontrower who takes a hitup.
c). Junior Tia Kilifi is making a run out of dummy-half because our forwards are too tired after being hammered all game. That's what generally happens when you have either zero or one front-rower on the bench. :lol:

THE BACKS NEVER TOUCH THE BALL!
Jennings touched the ball about 3 times in 80 minutes last night.
Tell me, is the coach not to blame for that? Is it all Walsh's fault? Surely if Walsh was not doing what Elliott instructed every week he would have been dropped?

ME is a good coach
Really? I think he's a terrible terrible terrible coach. Absolutely useless.
Actually, I am strongly of the belief that we would have done better this season without a coach. Yes, I am absolutely 100% serious.

What did I post when we re-signed him earlier in the year? I said we wouldn't make the Top 8 this year. Looks like I will be right, unfortunately. :(

If I had a son in an Under 8's team and Matt Elliott offered to coach the team for free, I would say "No thanks". The bloke can't even pick a team properly, let alone coach. Let's have Waterhouse Pritchard and Lewis all starting with Smith, Cooper and Paulo on the bench... HAHAHA. Unbelievable.

Yes let's continue to blame ME but that is surely masking the true failings of our club.
Matt Elliott is part of our failings. There is no doubt about it IMO.
However, he is only one of our failings. The other is our ridiculous management, especially our recruitment and retention.