Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finals Week1 VS Seagulls

i am confident in this game, we are starting to build a little momentum, and we have more momentum then the dragons, titans, bulldogs, knights, eels and are equal with manly. we can and will win this title, LETS GO BOYS!

40-0 means nothing, we were under strengthed and its in the past

WE ARE THE STORM FROM MELBOURNE TOWN WE WILL BLOW THE OTHER OFF THE GROUND WE ARE THE STORM AND WERE NUMBER ONE!

Carnifex

...hurting from the 40-0 loss as much as you guys are hurting from the beating we gave you in 07.

MsStorm

5K? That's sh*t house! Sure you didn't mean 15 or 25K?

Monday was exclusively for members only, I booked 2 tickets at lunchtime Cat. 3 lower deck and there was very little choice left.

From Tuesday tickets go on sale for other members that missed out and for general sale.

Unfortunately we are up against an afl final at the MCG as well which will affect attendance. Can't see too many Manly fans travelling down, especially seeing its a friday game. Bad scheduling.

I am predicting about 22-25,000. Had it been Broncos/Dragons or Warriors def. would have got 30,000.

meltiger

Bad scheduling.

Can't change things around to suit the Storm

Also can't use Fitzroy V Footscray as an excuse for not drawng a crowd

I actually think they will draw a decent crowd.

& LOL! @ the thread starter ... "Seagulls" :D

LESStar58

Monday was exclusively for members only, I booked 2 tickets at lunchtime Cat. 3 lower deck and there was very little choice left.

From Tuesday tickets go on sale for other members that missed out and for general sale.

Unfortunately we are up against an afl final at the MCG as well which will affect attendance. Can't see too many Manly fans travelling down, especially seeing its a friday game. Bad scheduling.

I am predicting about 22-25,000. Had it been Broncos/Dragons or Warriors def. would have got 30,000.

I will be a walk-up on the night. It's Etihad. There will be plenty of seats and friends from work coming too so we're just gonna walk up.... or I'll buy tickets during my day off on Friday.

MsStorm

Can't change things around to suit the Storm

Also can't use Fitzroy V Footscray as an excuse for not drawng a crowd

I actually think they will draw a decent crowd.

& LOL! @ the thread starter ... "Seagulls" :D

Why can't things be changed to suit the Storm?:lol: Nonsense.:D
So what's your crowd prediction for Friday night?

meltiger

Why's that? Is it because of the teams you mentioned who are playing?

Yes, the Friday night game is Brisbane (Fitzroy) V Western Bulldogs. Not exactly 'huge' clubs and whilst the game may draw an excellent crowd, as late as 4pm yesterday, you could still buy second level seats in the second bay they release in the Southern Stand. It's not exactly a blockbuster.

If the Storm game was on the Saturday night up against Collingwood, that would be a different story. Collingwood have more supporters than Friday's combatants combined.

Why can't things be changed to suit the Storm?:lol: Nonsense.:D
So what's your crowd prediction for Friday night?

Given it's @ Etihad & not Turd Park? The way you lot still talk about Manly shows there is still hurt there over the GF result so revenge is a factor ... I'm hoping for 30. Will be dissapointed if it's any less.

Evenflow

Yes, the Friday night game is Brisbane (Fitzroy) V Western Bulldogs. Not exactly 'huge' clubs and whilst the game may draw an excellent crowd, as late as 4pm yesterday, you could still buy second level seats in the second bay they release in the Southern Stand. It's not exactly a blockbuster.

If the Storm game was on the Saturday night up against Collingwood, that would be a different story. Collingwood have more supporters than Friday's combatants combined.

Fair enough but i think whether it can be used an an excuse or not (the storm crowd) will be dependant on what numbers they get to the Lions V Dogs game amongst other things. While i agree that they aren't huge clubs compared to the usual suspects in Melbourne, if the game draws say 80K then that's still 80K that can't be in 2 places at once regardless of if it's a blockbuster or not and/or who's playing.

Any game that draws those numbers not to mention the million or so that will watch it on tv is always going to have some sort of impact on another event that's on at the same time. Especially when that event is a rival code and to be fair a minority one at that in Melbourne.

How much impact it has would be only guessing and speculating but it'd be pretty naive to think that it wouldn't affect a rugby league game down here. It goes without saying if there was no AFL game tomorrow night and the Storm V Manly were the only game in town it'd draw many more people given you'd have not only the people who'd have been at the G but also the tv audience to potentially draw from.

In saying all that i don't think they'll need to make an excuse and i agree with you when you said the game should still draw pretty good numbers. I just think it could've been more had they not been up against and AFL final but that's just how it falls unfortunately.

meltiger

^ re: Timeslot - nothing can be done about that though. 4 v 5 plays Friday night, even if you switched it with say 3 v 6 ... it then goes up against Collingwood down here, which I would suggest is an extremely bad idea lol Do we remember all the sooking that went on last time a Storm final clashed with a Collingwood final? (That was such a good game of footy too, I still chuckle at Parra being cheated :) )

I'll be shocked if Friday nights semi draws 80 ... Last week Footscray/Geelong only got 75 & Geelong have a much greater supporter base than Brisbane/Fitzroy (Anyone in the ground would agree the split was clearly 70/30 Geelong's way)

i just found it interesting she was already making excuses for the game drawing a poor crowd when #a - there is only so much sooking you can do about the AFL & #b - I expect the game to draw a strong crowd anyway.

Anything about 25 would be excellent, but I'm still hoping to see 30+ show which would be a fantastic effort.

Evenflow

In an ideal world the game wouldn't clash with the AFL game but the reality is that more often than not it will so it's a bit unfortunate. I'm with you though and still reckon it'll hit around the 22-25K mark. 30K would be excellent for sure so here's hoping.

meltiger

Not sooking or looking for excuses, just simple facts.

Here's hoping we can draw 30,000. It would be awesome.

The AFL game drew 47k (As I predicted it didn't get remotely close to a 'blockbuster' crowd) ... Well under anything that would have impacted on the Etihad crowd

Your sheer jealousy of the AFL blinds you ... Sooner or later you're going to have to stop hiding behind the AFL.

Game didn't get the crowd I wanted, but still broke 20k so :thumb to the Storm

LESStar58

I was happy with the crowd... and the result! Hopefully we get an even bigger turn out next Friday. Time to start promoting it NOW!