Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

St Georges role in the Shire should Cronulla fold

Simo

I know this is all hypothetical but I needed to take a break from some of the mind boggling insanity of some of the posts regarding the Storm.

Should Cronulla fold what role do you see Saints playing in promoting the game to the Shire since it will be essentially swallowed by the Saint/Illawarra geography.

What im talking about is, for the good of the game, you think they should have like a large prescene of school visits from high profile player etc to try to reconnect with the area and break the feeling of rivalry/resentment/hate that is so obvious from many between cronulla/saints fans?

It is an area (from what im told, correct if wrong) with a larger junior league to the saints area where the saints comp needs to join with other comps to keep going (canterbury this year I think, last year cronulla?).

I am a footy lover and think something concerted (sp) should be done to try and connect with the area should the club fold rather than just let it go and hope league still remains strong and wonder how you think it could be done since many of you here have spent the last 40 years in a the rivalry/resentment/hate....how would you break that down and ensure the dragons benefit from the extra territory/junior base?

Lastly, what would happen to the junior leagues, would they still be run seperate or would the cronulla junion league cease to exist along with the NRL side?

big pat

well i hope they do something better than, that lame attempt by the marn and gallen.

boxa777

So you went from mind boggling insane posts about the Storm to mind boggling insane posts about the Sharks?

Simo

big pat said:
well i hope they do something better than, that lame attempt by the marn and gallen.

What attempt was that??

boxa777 said:
So you went from mind boggling insane posts about the Storm to mind boggling insane posts about the Sharks?

People are claiming that the afl planted waldron and started this rort and then blew the whilstle in an attmept to destroy rugby league - I call that mind boggling insane.

Cronulla on the brink of financial ruin and what happens to the area if they fold I thought a reasonable topic.

They are some how even remotely similar/far fetched to you?

ah

we dont have the money to spend TO the cap let alone over it.

if we fold. we fold.

the area would go back to the dragons given their proximity.

players would go to nrl clubs and engalnd.

and ill be buying an RPG to use at my leisure

its all good.

Simo

ah

we dont have the money to spend TO the cap let alone over it.

if we fold. we fold.

the area would go back to the dragons given their proximity.

players would go to nrl clubs and engalnd.

and ill be buying an RPG to use at my leisure

its all good.

This has nothing to do with the salary cap and it hasnt been argued as such.

Im curious about any plans of how Saints would try to reconnect with the shire (since they have been at each other for 40 years) to hopefully keep league strong (rather than hope all will be ok and see the area go to other codes).

Just like when the North won the American Civil War we'd need appoint an interim Northern (St George) administration over the South (Shire).

What would follow would be a reconstruction era. Long suffering St George Shire Loyalists would be our foot soldiers in this effort as they try and redeem the honour of their vanquished Home Land and bring them back into the St George Union. All Lebanese slaves will be freed and given plots of land in the Shire.

We will be gracious to all defeated Cronulla Confederates, except for Peter Gow who will be hung from Tom Ugly Bridge.

Well the Sharks Leagues club would survive, for a little while at least. The juniors, like any juniors, would continue as best as they could. St George reclaiming the shire would depend on resources for development officers etc. Remember, it all costs money so it's pure guesswork as to how far this would extend. Can't see any reason why they wouldn't have players visiting schools etc. Other NRL clubs might get a toe hold but logic dictates that St George and the Illawarra would have a geographic head start, especially given that Cronulla-Sutherland is home to plenty of Dragons supporters. The rivalry and resentment isn't really 40 years old, more like 20 years old. So it might prove to be skin deep.

big pat

I know this is all hypothetical but I needed to take a break from some of the mind boggling insanity of some of the posts regarding the Storm.

Should Cronulla fold what role do you see Saints playing in promoting the game to the Shire since it will be essentially swallowed by the Saint/Illawarra geography.

What im talking about is, for the good of the game, you think they should have like a large prescene of school visits from high profile player etc to try to reconnect with the area and break the feeling of rivalry/resentment/hate that is so obvious from many between cronulla/saints fans?

It is an area (from what im told, correct if wrong) with a larger junior league to the saints area where the saints comp needs to join with other comps to keep going (canterbury this year I think, last year cronulla?).

I am a footy lover and think something concerted (sp) should be done to try and connect with the area should the club fold rather than just let it go and hope league still remains strong and wonder how you think it could be done since many of you here have spent the last 40 years in a the rivalry/resentment/hate....how would you break that down and ensure the dragons benefit from the extra territory/junior base?

Lastly, what would happen to the junior leagues, would they still be run seperate or would the cronulla junion league cease to exist along with the NRL side?

i belive that a large no of st george players already visit schools, i don't have the info myself, but a lot of schools have benefit from the dragons, and recently they donated 10k to a special school for an outside garden, once again i don't have the info at hand, but it was posted in here a couple of weeks ago, what i was refering to was that lame attempt at humour on the footy show, when the big marn went to some school in caringbah, and later paul gallen came in maybe its my hatred of him, that i didn't enjoy the segment i don't know, its just an opinion take it as you see fit.

Simo

Willow said:
Well the Sharks Leagues club would survive, for a little while at least. The juniors, like any juniors, would continue as best as they could. St George reclaiming the shire would depend on resources for development officers etc. Remember, it all costs money so it's pure guesswork as to how far this would extend. Can't see any reason why they wouldn't have players visiting schools etc. Other NRL clubs might get a toe hold but logic dictates that St George and the Illawarra would have a geographic head start, especially given that Cronulla-Sutherland is home to plenty of Dragons supporters. The rivalry and resentment isn't really 40 years old, more like 20 years old. So it might prove to be skin deep.

Thanks for a serious reply Willow, Interesting, the hatred you reckon is the last 20 years......what happened? Something in particular or just a development of time?

As for the juniors, what I meant was, would they now play under the St George jnr league (are the jnr leagues organised by the NRL sides) or would it still be the sutherland shire junior league and play seperate comps (i.e. junr's can stand alone and are run independantly)?

My concern is not so much other NRL clubs but more certain others codes that I have to read about far to much these days for my personal liking.

big pat said:
i belive that a large no of st george players already visit schools, i don't have the info myself, but a lot of schools have benefit from the dragons, and recently they donated 10k to a special school for an outside garden, once again i don't have the info at hand, but it was posted in here a couple of weeks ago, what i was refering to was that lame attempt at humour on the footy show, when the big marn went to some school in caringbah, and later paul gallen came in maybe its my hatred of him, that i didn't enjoy the segment i don't know, its just an opinion take it as you see fit.

Opinions are all im after thanks(its a hypothetical after all, even if based on probable events)

The first segment last nigfht was the first time ive watched the footy show in a couple of years so I didnt see the skit you are refering to.

TheRev

Pretty hard ask to take over an area with a football team they hate... it would take generations to re-grow support.

I guess what would yo do if the Dragons folded, and you were asked to support the Sharks?

Father Ted

Given the closest rivalry that matches it was Manly and Norths you may be what you are now vacant .

Thanks for a serious reply Willow, Interesting, the hatred you reckon is the last 20 years......what happened? Something in particular or just a development of time?
I remember being a passionate Saints supporter while living in Cronulla in the mid-late 70s. There were lots of Saints supporters in the area.

There was a good discussion recently in Jubilee Avenue. No doubt the sharks have been in financial strife for decades. In 1967, however, they had a lot of support from St George personnel. Monty Porter, Ken Kearney, Norm Provan, John Raper were all connected with the sharks club in it's formative years - either at an administrative level, coaching level, or both. The St George club even provided short term loans to help out. Given the big St George names involved, the closeness of the two clubs sounds more than plausible.

This support lasted into the 1970s. The sharks club got in more financial difficulty in 1975-76 while trying to finish the building of the clubhouse and grandstand at Endeavour Field (Shark/Toyota Park). The NSWRL bailed them out. This was during the time of Sharks players collecting money from shoppers in a 'Save Our Sharks' charity drive. Local businesses chipped in. St George Leagues also chipped in, possibly with another short term loan. It was a case of big brother helping out - mates just helping out mates.

This 'mateship' was mirrored to some extent by fans. Of course there was rivalry, but it was nothing like we see today.

Not sure exactly when the relationship between fans deteriorated. Perhaps it was around the time the likes of Monty Porter moved on. Perhaps when the sharks started to 'grow up' and win a few games. Easy to say the fans got cocky after making the grand final in '78, but I don't know how true that is.

In 1986 the Sharks club copped a bucket load of embarrassment when they tried to sell the club to Dr Geoffrey Edelsten. Mike Cleary (Minister for Sport and former Souths player) said "it nearly made me vomit!" IMO, the sharks lost a lot of respect over that, moreso.

What was just local derby rivalry got personal during the late 80s. By the 90s, the Sharks were getting bailed out by the ARL, then chasing Super League dollars. This all added to the dramas. Then of course there was the infamous Peter Gow incident in 1999 when the drunken Sharks CEO cut a Saints jersey before coming to blows with St George legend Barry Beath. By then the hate was complete.

Simo said:
As for the juniors, what I meant was, would they now play under the St George jnr league (are the jnr leagues organised by the NRL sides) or would it still be the sutherland shire junior league and play seperate comps (i.e. junr's can stand alone and are run independantly)?
I don't think it's possible to give a proper answer to that. Junior and lower grade competitions have already shown to be quite malleable.

Simo said:
My concern is not so much other NRL clubs but more certain others codes that I have to read about far to much these days for my personal liking.
If you mean soccer, they draw even less than the sharks. Rugby union doesn't even rate a mention. AFL??

If the sharks fold and some former league fans start following soccer, that's their choice. But I don't think the NRL or St George would sit by and allow another code to get a foothold in the shire.

Stagger Lee

Just like when the North won the American Civil War we'd need appoint an interim Northern (St George) administration over the South (Shire).

What would follow would be a reconstruction era. Long suffering St George Shire Loyalists would be our foot soldiers in this effort as they try and redeem the honour of their vanquished Home Land and bring them back into the St George Union. All Lebanese slaves will be freed and given plots of land in the Shire.

We will be gracious to all defeated Cronulla Confederates, except for Peter Gow who will be hung from Tom Ugly Bridge.

That sir was hilarious :D :lol::lol:

RedVee

dont think they will fold. But yep, Saints should just subsume the area.

I remember being a passionate Saints supporter while living in Cronulla in the mid-late 70s. There were lots of Saints supporters in the area.

There was a good discussion recently in Jubilee Avenue. No doubt the sharks have been in financial strife for decades. In 1967, however, they had a lot of support from St George personnel. Monty Porter, Ken Kearney, Norm Provan, John Raper were all connected with the sharks club in it's formative years - either at an administrative level, coaching level, or both. The St George club even provided short term loans to help out. Given the big St George names involved, the closeness of the two clubs sounds more than plausible.

This support lasted into the 1970s. The sharks club got in more financial difficulty in 1975-76 while trying to finish the building of the clubhouse and grandstand at Endeavour Field (Shark/Toyota Park). The NSWRL bailed them out. This was during the time of Sharks players collecting money from shoppers in a 'Save Our Sharks' charity drive. Local businesses chipped in. St George Leagues also chipped in, possibly with another short term loan. It was a case of big brother helping out - mates just helping out mates.

This 'mateship' was mirrored to some extent by fans. Of course there was rivalry, but it was nothing like we see today.

Not sure exactly when the relationship between fans deteriorated. Perhaps it was around the time the likes of Monty Porter moved on. Perhaps when the sharks started to 'grow up' and win a few games. Easy to say the fans got cocky after making the grand final in '78, but I don't know how true that is.

In 1986 the Sharks club copped a bucket load of embarrassment when they tried to sell the club to Dr Geoffrey Edelsten. Mike Cleary (Minister for Sport and former Souths player) said "it nearly made me vomit!" IMO, the sharks lost a lot of respect over that, moreso.

What was just local derby rivalry got personal during the late 80s. By the 90s, the Sharks were getting bailed out by the ARL, then chasing Super League dollars. This all added to the dramas. Then of course there was the infamous Peter Gow incident in 1999 when the drunken Sharks CEO cut a Saints jersey before coming to blows with St George legend Barry Beath. By then the hate was complete.

I don't think it's possible to give a proper answer to that. Junior and lower grade competitions have already shown to be quite malleable.

If you mean soccer, they draw even less than the sharks. Rugby union doesn't even rate a mention. AFL??

If the sharks fold and some former league fans start following soccer, that's their choice. But I don't think the NRL or St George would sit by and allow another code to get a foothold in the shire.

Yep, Willow by my reckoning Saints have helped the little brother out a few times. I don't think there was any real dislike (apart from 'ceremonial') until Gow hit the scene and/or Super League. I think we went guarantor on the loan they used to buy the land for their Club and ground. Perhaps thats why the constant refrain of "we are the only team to own our own ground" gets so far up my nose! Cronulla got pretty arrogant duing Gows reign and had the team of pretty boys like ET and Matty Rogers who thought they should not be subjected to tackles. Rugby fixed any pretty aspirations for Rogers LOL.

I know of quite a few middle aged or older supporters that still have the other team as their 2nd team, and some supporters adopted Cronulla as their SL team and Saints as their ARL team. I think it is only the fanatic fans that hate the neighbours, I don't think this condition afflicts the casual 'supporters'.

BIKER_DRAGON

HELL YEA HANG GOW.....From Tom Ugly's Bridge or the Sour Apple Tree

The Lord loves a hanging that's why he give us necks.:lol: