Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

mmmmm interesting....

Broncos fan!

Wash your mouth out :shock:

I reckon Hodges will head to FB unless one of the youngsters set the world on fire.

Why not go after Boyd? I would have to agree with Deej. I would love to see him back. He would be at the top of my list. I'm not sure where he sits with his current contract though.

Big Pete

He signed a three year deal with the Dragons originally meaning he won't go off contract until 2011.

I'd sign him, but not on a marquee contract.

whykickamoocow

I couldn't stand Boyd when he was a Bronco but I'd love to see him playing fullback for the Broncs, he's certainly turned into a fantastic footy player. As for buying a hooker I have to take the popular call here and say we don't need one, McCullough is doing a pretty good job and give it a year or two he'll be up there with the best number 9's in the game. If it's true and Hannant and Petero are done deals I'd be looking at upgrading some of the younger guys contracts and maybe go after Cronk. If that means moving Wallace on or Locky steeping down early I think it should be done. They say that Hannant is going to be the stand out prop for the next five years or ditto on Cronk as the half of the next 4 to 5 years.

screeder

Why not go after Boyd? I would have to agree with Deej. I would love to see him back. He would be at the top of my list. I'm not sure where he sits with his current contract though.

No way will Boyd leave Bennett. His instinct to stick with Bennett has been proved right in terms of his development as a player.

DeeJ

No way will Boyd leave Bennett. His instinct to stick with Bennett has been proved right in terms of his development as a player.

I was under the impression he went to St George for the opportunity to play fullback. He can do that at the Broncos now.

ponies 4ever

If Cronk is even a possibility and he's interested "the great one" Locky could do the club another service and maybe go onto the coaching staff. The guy is a TRUE LEGEND and either way it's his call but the signature of Cronk would set us up 4 the next 5 yrs at least. Either way Darren Lockyer is rightly the Broncos' favourite son and has served the club with the highest distinction.

Big Pete

What like your a giant DOUCHE or that the Broncos are 100% chance of winning tomorrow?:crazy:

I'm actually flattered you think the opening line is original. Cheers beads. :p

The reason I said what I said simply was because this Macca agenda only seemed to come about after a post in BHQ. This isn't the first time I've seen you copy + paste an opinion either. Dodds is another example, originally he was a no hoper, when others brought up his work in defence magically Mitch became the next big thing in the forwards and he had to play in the second row, had you ever seen him play in the second row? Of course not, you were just mirroring an opinion of a far less ignorant supporter.

Now, Macca hasn't been setting the world on fire, true. But to place blame on him for the sides performance is ridiculous. He's shown enough at a young age to suggest he's going to be something special and to just throw him aside so we can place a halfback in his position is stupid.

Big Pete

He played one game there in 20's before he went onto play hooker for the most of the season, that's where he was most dangerous.

Dazzat

For a thread that started about Tate, things certainly digress don't they?

McCullough may have made a good fist of No. 6 in younger grades, but I don't believe he has the pace or variety in his attacking arsenal to play there in senior grades consistently. This is a well worn path tread by many up-and-coming halves who are a little slower, but defend well, and can mix it with the big boys ... PJ Marsh, Fien, Cameron Smith.

Back to Tate .. I'm constantly amazed with how people underestimate his ability ... he has scored some of the most scorching tries I've seen on the international stage, the highest level, and fans still question his talent.

Having said that, I think it's more wise to invest in youth when it comes to 3/4s.

lockyno1

A better hooker would be tops. What about Peter Wallace to the 9 and Copper Cronk in the 7??

Exactly what I was thinking. Nothing has changed my view that Andrew McCullogh is not a hooker that will win a premiership for Brisbane. I am sorry, but he is a solid, good backup hooker that is it.

Dazzat

And how do you explain Brisbane winning a premiership with Shane Perry at half?

It's quite easy ... doesn't take a lot of intellect.

Forward power! (From memory we had Webke, Civ, Thorn and Carroll in the pack when we won that year).

We don't have it (forward power) this year, so the creative players in the team are struggling ... No. 6 (the best in the game), 7 and 9.

This concept (forwards need to dominate to give half room to build attack) has probably been mentioned hundreds of thousands of times in expert commentary (if not millions), but some can hear this over-and-over, and still not get it.

And these thick-heads keep criticising the halves. It's all pretty pathetic.

Seagullsrock

This concept (forwards need to dominate to give half room to build attack) has probably been mentioned hundreds of thousands of times in expert commentary (if not millions), but some can hear this over-and-over, and still not get it.

And these thick-heads keep criticising the halves. It's all pretty pathetic.

Amen to that. Then everyone says it was a mistake to sign Folau and weeks later they want Tate or Boyd or Thurston or Inu......

GoTheBroncs

We don't have it (forward power) this year, so the creative players in the team are struggling ... No. 6 (the best in the game), 7 and 9.

Theoretically you are correct. But the strange thing is the Broncos forwards have been dominated consistently for a few seasons now (except those couple of games against dragons last year) but we have somehow still managed to win games.

While our forwards are getting beaten this season as well, there are still problems with our attack. This is best demonstrated by the Canberra game, where we had a ridiculous amount of opportunities on the opposition goal line, but most of the time come away with nothing.

Don't know what it is. Lack of creativity. Teams know our out-the-back play, and its not as effective without K Hunt. The support play is terrible, our second phase play non-existent (I've seen our forwards make half breaks, but there is no support to take advantage of them!). We don't have as many stand out players who create something from nothing (Renouf, Sailor, Tuquri, Hodges, Alfie etc). Our final play options are generally poor.

Mate your right about our forwards. Its been a problem for a while now. But the attack seems to be going downhill slowly with it...

cornerposter

I didn't rate Boyd when he played with us. He's proving that opinion wrong with his current form at the Steelers, but he's still the same weak charactered germ he's always been. Typical example was his dive tonight when Williams got him a little high just before half time. Lyon was givin it to him for his soccer-like performance. :lol:

Dazzat

Mate your right about our forwards. Its been a problem for a while now. But the attack seems to be going downhill slowly with it...

You just answered your own question. The losing of our spark in attack coincides with the dwindling of our forward stocks. Simple.

We also lack a great support player ... like Langer, Walters and Darren Smith ... who pop up after a half break.

Over the years, the club grew dependent on dominant forwards to muster their attack. Now they are gone, we are learning to attack without them, and struggling.