Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

So........ The Scarf!

Vote for your choice of wording

• Dragon Army / Dragon Army (front and rear)

Votes: 10 27.0%
  • Dragon Army / Our Red V (front / rear)

Votes: 18 48.6%
  • Dragon Army / Stand up if you love St.George (front / rear)

Votes: 9 24.3%

Steel Dragon

Yup, i'm not bagging the idea out. I'll probably get one. Just like i got a macca flag last year too. I'm just making the comment...

I think whenever 'the army' organises any items for sale, its because (in my opinion anyway) that the items arent being made available by the club.

And yeah - like Pat said. I think the people who are buying these items are those that already have EVERYTHING else available!
I honestly believe you could put a red v on an old white dog turd and we could sell it to some tragics!

SaintTPP

I think whenever 'the army' organises any items for sale, its because (in my opinion anyway) that the items arent being made available by the club.

And yeah - like Pat said. I think the people who are buying these items are those that already have EVERYTHING else available!
I honestly believe you could put a red v on an old white dog turd and we could sell it to some tragics!
You have the right idea here Steel Dragon :D.

BUT it's good for people to put up some questions like that so they can get an answer.

I totally agree we should never ever become like the TShirt Army in any way.

We also went down the avenue of asking for the stuff to be made by the Club before we went and got the Flags last year. We wanted them to look at making Scarf's and/or a slightly larger Flag to cater for some of the 'older' (well not old, but not kids) supporter's who want to support the team through purchasing merchandise but who dont wanto wave a small flag. The way I understood it is that the NRL basically control what the Clubs do regarding all this sort of stuff.

SO we did try to get the cub to do this so we could all buy from the club.

Any money will go back to benefit the Club imo soe way or another. The 'macca' flags made a deficit of $250 so there was no profit
there, and the scarves can be processed exactly the same way if people want (without the loss to us obviously lol).

big pat

thanks for the laugh mate, but i think the bulldogs, have a patent on dog turds.

You have the right idea here Steel Dragon :D.

BUT it's good for people to put up some questions like that so they can get an answer.

I totally agree we should never ever become like the TShirt Army in any way.

We also went down the avenue of asking for the stuff to be made by the Club before we went and got the Flags last year. We wanted them to look at making Scarf's and/or a slightly larger Flag to cater for some of the 'older' (well not old, but not kids) supporter's who want to support the team through purchasing merchandise but who dont wanto wave a small flag. The way I understood it is that the NRL basically control what the Clubs do regarding all this sort of stuff.

SO we did try to get the cub to do this so we could all buy from the club.

Every club just has the same bland, meaningless merchandise as the others just with the colours and names altered to suit. Who wants to wear the exact same scarf that the Bulldogs, Manly, Sharks ect have?

The only exception to this is South Sydney who have designed their own since they were taken over. Unsurprisingly Rabbitohs merchandise is very popular with their fans and even people who aren't Souths fans. Even bloody Newtown design their own merch which has become a cult hit on the streets.

We could do the same but Saints management as usual have little interest in doing something that would require a little bit more work and innovation on their part.

SerbDragon

Anything for Mrs Serb and yourself ;-). Yeh ofcourse that would be fine.

thank-you-note-14021.jpg

The Major

Hey Amanda. Why not add something for the vintage of the innaugral DA scarf. Maybe like

DRAGON ARMY

Will certainly be of a benefit to ensure future sales of new scarves each year if they are indicitive of the season they were acquired. People will always want the new season stock. Plus in 20 years time say, when my kids grow up, they will still have their original scarves knowing they were there when they first came out.
Also, touching on what some other suggestions have been regarding what to put on the other side, i quite think the slogan on Pete's flag is pretty catchy and a sure fire description for this 2010 season....

"DRAGON ARMY 2010 / IN WAYNE WE TRUST" the other.

STG-MACCA

I was in favour of having the year, but others have said it's not good coz of the reasons you state above such as having to buy a new one. Not everyone wants to spend the money each year so who can argue. In terms of what to put on it, there is plenty of options and I think they are all good. Most importantly was that it wasn't too corny and that it wasn't something that was part of the clubs current marketing plan.

The best part is that we can make a new one anytime really, there is no limit to the design, however obviously the more you add, the more it costs.

For a first time, I think it's important that we just get some runs on the board and get something out there and something for this season. If everyone is happy with the quality, and supports the concept than with some planning, we could increase the design as we go for next year and so on and so forth.

They can be ready for Round 1 next year, if it's agreed to do it again.

The Major

If anyone (well the majority) can afford a new jersey and red v membership each year, then forking out an extra 10 or 20 of their hard earnt wont break the bank. If anything was to be an annual thing, this would definitely be one of them. This would be a definite guaranteed revenue stream for future fundraising for the Dragon Army. But how we tweak it and improve it, etc, as you mentioned can be done anytime. Will have to catch up at Max Brenners again to have a bit of a brainstorm.

Doug2234

I would pay every year for a new scarf. 10 or 20 a year is nothing.

Perhaps weekly installments are in order - $20 / 52 weeks = 38 cents a week.

SaintTPP

Nah, I already got the second sample started, costs around $45 per sample so I reckon we just go with what I sent them for now. The end result will look amazing.

STG-MACCA

I think the majority would have no problems, but it was suggested that we don't wanna make an exclusive thing that is out of reach of everyone, so it starts here.

f**k, I'd give someone a scarf if I knew they couldn't afford it, and would actually come every week and use it......like we did with the flags. A couple of people didn't have the cash, or didn't come through with it, but I never called them on it.

I am only interested in making things for people to create atmosphere.....the logistics and the accounting comes naturally for Amanda and I as that's our professions so we put it to use here. It annoys me that half the flags don't turn up most weeks, but what can you do? I want to do more, and will eventually, but scarves first, than grand final tickets etc.... so all in good time.

Let me know about that coffee Major, I am keen, maybe Linnane will join us?
Still trying to catch up with Pete away from the footy also.

big pat

If anyone (well the majority) can afford a new jersey and red v membership each year, then forking out an extra 10 or 20 of their hard earnt wont break the bank. If anything was to be an annual thing, this would definitely be one of them. This would be a definite guaranteed revenue stream for future fundraising for the Dragon Army. But how we tweak it and improve it, etc, as you mentioned can be done anytime. Will have to catch up at Max Brenners again to have a bit of a brainstorm.

i think liam has two jersey's a shirt and a jacket, so young people will spend money on things like that, hopefully next year we can have a scarf, that say's, st george 2010 premiers.