Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cronulla chairman's future in the balance

Frailty

I disagree. Whether we are a basket case or not, we are still an NRL team in the best competition in the world.

Actually, it does matter if we are a basket case... Brown won't remain unemployed as a coach for long.

The expectations are so low at Cronulla that anyone capable of lifting us from the bottom will be deemed as a genius.

Yet some how, all of the coaches we have had, with their exceptional records could not achieve any success.... Those same coaches had great success at other clubs.

I think it is the perfect opportunity for a coach to enhance their reputation. Our playing roster is much stronger than what is being displayed.

Agreed, our playing roster is stronger than what is displayed. But this is a club to risk their reputation. If you want a long career - steer clear from Cronulla.

I believe that IF Brown was offered the position, he would have taken it with both hands

1. For the challenge
2. Be closer to family

1. Sound like an excuse to cross codes.
2. He will be closer to family, just won't be at this club.

Brown knows his reputation in the NRL is always a bit damaged because of his stint at the Dragons - he wants to have a better chance for success than the Sharks.

Special K

I disagree. Whether we are a basket case or not, we are still an NRL team in the best competition in the world.

The expectations are so low at Cronulla that anyone capable of lifting us from the bottom will be deemed as a genius.

I think it is the perfect opportunity for a coach to enhance their reputation. Our playing roster is much stronger than what is being displayed.

I believe that IF Brown was offered the position, he would have taken it with both hands

1. For the challenge
2. Be closer to family
If you got fired and the McDonalds around the corner was hiring... Would you take it or would you wait for a better offer to present itself?

Our roster is full of bad contracts that we are stuck with, drama off the field and has a history of showing coaches the door. I can't blame him for not taking the job! Isn't he going to be an assistant at the roosters or something and wait it out for a better offer?... You would probably get paid more to be an assistant at the roosters than we would pay for the "opportunity" to be our coach.

There are more attractive "challenges" out there than us that won't get his questionable report card black listed.

Surprise surprise the Sydney Morning Herald.
They dont have it in for us do they? They dont want the sharks to fold.

Maybe. But if that was the case for sure, why would the chairman agree to be interviewed by them?

Perhaps it isn't the Herald making the approaches.

You have a man who runs his own business and is giving up 30+ hours a week to run a football club with no pay.

As has been mentioned that is by choice but maybe there are other advantages to not being paid.

He cleans out the bludgers, he brings in new people.

Who are the bludgers?

These are some of the new people.

John Osborne - walked out
Richard Fisk - walked out
Deborah Feening - dodgy
Others - invisible.

He is the only one with the balls enough to confront Ricky, and as predicted Ricky doesnt like anybody challenging him.

Actually Ricky confronted him, and as predicted, Irvine doesn't like anybody challenging him.

To me he seems like an asset in the short term at least.

The club needs people like that.

Why not long term? Why hedge your bets?

FMD, f**ken using the Worm as a source??

Brown was been quoted directly, on TV, in person, that he was never apprached by Irvine or a representative sent by Irvine.

Brown must be confused then huh?

This is new. What channel was that on? What show? When was it? Got a link? Can you source this?

Seems funny this so called TV interview has not been mentioned on here.

This is true but I think he is digging a few holes for himself as well. Its not helping that we dont have a new CEO in place. I new it was bad idea to let this process drag out.

At the end of the day as well people need to remember that the SMH is running a campaign to destablise and get rid of the club. Have been doing so since last year. This is plainly obvious.

There are other agendas at work. Phil Gould, Roy Masters, both work for the Herald, neither like or want the sharks in the comp. Roosters have no juniors. We have assets, we have the third biggest junior base in Sydney but are stuck in the middle of St.George and Illawarra. Imagine the super power StGeorge would become if they took over our area.

Like I said people, lots of agendas at play here by the Herald.

So you shouldn't mind if I ask again. Why does the chairman even give them the time of day? Why is he basically feeding them bullets to spit back out at him?

You have to wonder huh?

I'd like to know how Feening's name came up for the position in the first place. Was she personally known to Irvine?

He is coming across as being very defensive of her, which would be understandable if she was a mate, but strikes me as a bit weird if not. Jobs for mates / family is exactly the sort of practice that has landed us in the sh!t for years.

Good question.

Mott was pressured into retiring. She did. Then out of the blue Feening is appointed. I'm not aware there was any active recruitment process. I didn't see any ad on the site where the Sharks usually advertise positions.

They do have this one running now though. Appeared on the site the a few days after Feening was outed.

Maybe she's on borrowed time.

http://executive.seek.com.au/jobsea...atfunction=4004&Keywords=CEO&searchfrom=quick

He's the Chairman, why wouldn't he support his staff?

If Ricky wants to quit, what else is he going to do? Say "no you're not allowed"?

We don't know about the Brown stuff.

Is the Barrett stuff legit?

Irvine is the one who told the media that he sent a certain email to Fisk and Stuart saying he would help them get Gallen re instated as captain. Irvine is also the dope who said the board should appoint the captain not the coach.

So, if you can believe he said what was quoted, and Mr Media hasn't denied it anywhere, then you'd have to think it's legit.

I genuinely think Irvine has the best interests of the Sharks at heart.
The guy bleeds black, white & blue, sure he may make a few fugg ups, but I reckon his passion for the club is a big positive.

I ask you this then. in 2009 when all manner of sh*t was hitting the fan all the fans and the club really wanted and needed was to be kept out of the media.

This clown is the new version of the Human Headline and as each week passes the news gets more and more, I'll say dubious.

Irvine wanted the board gone so he could do a better job. ONe aspect was to fix the brand.

Is he fixing the brand filling up the papers with smoke, inviting to look for fires?

millersnose

from frenzys link

Chief Executive Officer Cronulla Sharks

Tue 13 Jul
  • Seeking expressions of interest
  • Elite sporting organisation
  • Southern Sydney Location
The Club is seeking expressions of interest from a dynamic, energetic, enthusiastic and motivated leader to facilitate the clubs future success.

do any quotes exist from N.Brown saying DI approached him about taking over ricky stuarts job?

I have heard all the rumours but have not seen Brown actually say it either in print or any other media.

Irvine has publically denied it though.

as for ricky writing a coloumn bagging someone he used to work with ...well he is good at that.

The Peach thing ...yeah so what? good idea if it is going to make the clhb some money and help it stay alive.

beats the shyte out of playing in front of small crowds while lazy fuggen soap boxers sit on thier arse at home watching fox.

Marconi chick.... sounds bad .
was this public knowledge prior to her job with the Sharks???

Yes, these dealings, the glasses for the son's pub, the art union, date back to 2006.

carinashark

Im tired of the Brown thing and in the end its just too small. I wonder about those that want to drag in up again. Is it a case of kill the reformer? Just because you can.

Stuff

They do have this one running now though. Appeared on the site the a few days after Feening was outed.

Maybe she's on borrowed time.

http://executive.seek.com.au/jobsea...atfunction=4004&Keywords=CEO&searchfrom=quick

LOL Nice try. Just one more click and you would have found that ad is for a CEO of the FOOTBALL CLUB. Feening is General Manager of the Leagues Club.

http://executive.seek.com.au/users/apply/index.ascx?Sequence=89&PageNumber=1&JobID=17695029

EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST

The Cronulla Sharks is an iconic brand in the Sutherland Shire of Sydney. A new era at the club has shown a willingness to embrace new ideas, to re-define traditional approaches and structures, and be open minded when canvassing all possible options that build a better club for the members and the team.

With this in mind, the Board is now seeking Expressions of Interest for the role of

Chief Executive Officer of the Football Club.

So the answer is no.

Until I see Brown say Irvine approached him on it..I will call bullshyte.

Not forgetting DI stood in front of the entire contingent at the AGM and denied it.

These journo's get this crap form here I swear.

I reckon they even get it emailed to them from people on here.

I thought that too carch. Who do you reckon it is?

LOL Nice try. Just one more click and you would have found that ad is for a CEO of the FOOTBALL CLUB. Feening is General Manager of the Leagues Club.

Oh dear. Where do these silly Irvophiles come from?

I didn't say the ad was to REPLACE Feening. I know what her role is dopey. The irony is in the timing of suddenly looking for a CEO just after the news of her allegedly being dodgy comes out.

The club can't sack her and then not have either a CEO or a Gen Man of the licensed club you fool. They need one or the other. Spare me, you wouldn't leave Mr Media totally unaccountable.

Irvine is on record as saying there was no hurry to get a CEO. Then quietly, surreptiously an ad goes up just after another unsavoury allegation hits.

carrot

Im tired of the Brown thing and in the end its just too small. I wonder about those that want to drag in up again. Is it a case of kill the reformer? Just because you can.

haha. carina. It's one of a list of things. Not all of which has even come out yet.

You're right, it's small in and of itself. In combination it help paints an ugly picture of deception, duplicity, underhandedness and just general dastardly deeds.

carrot

Ram Dass

Do you want to be CEO and president of the club Frenzy???

Because as a casual observer you are very biased againt Irvine??

Is it sour grapes?

Do you want to be CEO and president of the club Frenzy???

Because as a casual observer you are very biased againt Irvine??

Is it sour grapes?

Didn't your parents teach you not to answer questions with questions?

Anyway

No
Yes
No

Now you can answer my questions please.