Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Was wrong about Ryan Phelan

Ridders

I remember being outraged when it was announced that Phelan would be replacing Warren Smith as the host of NRL on Fox. Always loved Wazza and the thought of him being replaced by Phelan of all people was pretty disgruntling.

Have been tuning into NRL on Fox in recent weeks and I have to say that Phelan does a pretty good job as host. Pretty savvy and does a good job of setting a platform for the panel. Looking back one of Wazza's problems was that his agenda's would often get in the way of his hosting abilities. While Phelan does have his opinions, he does a good job of keeping them in check imo.

What do you guys think?

I actually like the build up and surrounding the coverage with panel discussion and dissection etc - much more interesting than 9's predictable lead up where you get a brief preview from Gould/Sterling and then launch into it.

Charlie124

I dont mind him. Brandy, Loz, Junior and Gordie on the other hand....... are there four worse voices to listen to on Australian television??

Special K

It needs less Freeman. That bloke is an idiot!

When Phelan started he very much looked like someone who didn't watch nrl at all and just read the papers. He has his own views now which is an improvement.

Big Pete

He's still a fish out of water but he's beginning to adapt. I don't mind him as the host, he doesn't bog the show down as much as Smith who can be grating.

Also, it isn't as if the panel is made up of him, Gould, The Wok, Vossy and Middleton.

Ronnie Dobbs

NRL on Fox needs more Gary Belcher tbh

Ken Oath mate. I reckon Phelan is a good host. If I never saw Wiz again it wold be too soon. He just dribbles on without saying anything.

I actually don't mind Tallis. Not the most eloquent of blokes but at least he will call it how he sees it and is not concerned with upsetting players, which is a massive joke on the 9 coverage.

Put Daley in with Wiz for mine and add someone like say a Steve Price next season or someone we canget more serious footy talk out of and it could improve.

He doesn't really need to be a good analyst, rather, he just needs to be a good host. Leave the analysis to the 'experts' (although that would be a generous description of a couple of Fox's commentators).

There is nothing worse than someone like Andrew Voss, or one of the other non-analyst type commentators, try and editorialise and pass comment on the game. That's not their job. Phelan does it well by just facilitating discussion, and also adding some humour.

Rexxy

NRL on Fox needs more Gary Belcher tbh

The world needs much LESS Gary Belcher TBH. No illumination, just states the bleeding obvious.

Its a pity when he shaved off his mo, he didn't let the razor slide down and knick his jugular.

What a sh*t-eating smug merkin of a know all.