Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How many games before you ditched Fox?

I had an Austar subscription in the days when footy was free on the 2 sports channels. The kids found a way to watch the Simpsons 24/7, and I started looking forward to Souffs games on Saturday Arvo. To save our sanity (and $) we did not renew.

Now, with extra subscriptions needed to even watch the footy, I havent gone back.

I also remember the days when one game was televised - a 1 hour edited version at 6.30 on Sunday night with a manic Manly supporter doing commentary. We were so thankful for that. It sh*ts me reading comments like some of the idiots below
If this happened I'd find another sport to follow. FTA footy makes me want to stab people.
Well f*ck off to Union where you never have any problems with FTA you dumb sh*t!

I'd never cancel it, 9 simply do not show enough live footy. Plus I hate watching the dragons and broncos and souths week in week out on 9.

On fox I get super Saturday, which is pretty awesome plus a guarantee the raiders game will be live.

Any network showing delayed games is an absolute disgrace.
You dumb f*ck. In reality, the only people who deserve a live game are the ones at the game. If it's delayed, and you dont know the score or anything about whats happened, you can still watch it live, as I do with the second FNF game. And I don't care if I know the result before hand anyway - as I did this arvo. I got to cheer twice. The missus thought I was nuts!

FTA, Pay TV, excellent radio coverage, live streaming, Big Pond - never has the average League fan been so spoiled for choice.

But back to topic - I payed $70 per month for footy plus history channel option. Looks like I'm up to $90 just to watch the footy. I cannot justify that in my wage carve up.

Footnote - LMAO @ Timmah - dumping MNF :lol::lol:

Apey

They would have to lose them all.

Only game I can really stand on FTA is the first Friday night game... delayed pisses me off big time, find it hard to be interested when I can go look up the score. I still try and watch Sunday arvo games but preferred it much more when I was younger and didn't realise it wasn't live heh.

God-King Dean

lol same Apey. I just look up the score for delayed games. Just doesn't hold any excitment knowing it's already happened.

Rocket

What shits me is Nein and WIN ditching their HD coverage so all we get is crappy SD. Chalk and cheese in quality compared to FOX HD.

axl rose

delayed pisses me off big time, find it hard to be interested when I can go look up the score. I still try and watch Sunday arvo games but preferred it much more when I was younger and didn't realise it wasn't live heh.

Cant watch it either with 50 minutes of ads, horrible. To hard to stay away from the score as well and the illegal streaming beaming it live from the UK.

Haven't had Foxtel for weeks now. Just too many billing problems with Telstra (phone, bigpond, foxtel), so gave them all the flick.

Desert Qlder

Foxtel will be almost unwatchable now with their huge commitment to aussie rules. The news channel will be 'straight to the Melbourne studios' in a heartbeat. Wouldn't surprise me also if the commentators are forced to plug the afl during Rugby League broadcast.

If Ten gets a slice of the action there's no way I'd even consider connecting. Happy to head down the pub to catch any Cowboys games or others of interest.

Molly

With regard to the OP's comment re the focus on AFL. From what I understand, Fox are going to be broadcasting every AFL game live in 2012 onwards either as sole broadcaster or jointly with the FTA provider. There is a sting in the tail though. It is likely it will not be part of the normal foxsports package but an additional subscription over and above, so if you want the extended AFL, you will get it at a price (perhaps resurrecting the Fox Footy channel at a price to the subscriber).

The NRL games will go the same way eventually I presume. You need to be careful what you wish for sometimes..

Fox are reportedly investing 500k in this coverage with the FTA's propping up the rest to secure the 1 billion dollar deal. (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/foxtel-the-winner-in-footy-deal-20110417-1djsz.htm)

Lockyer4President!

With regard to the OP's comment re the focus on AFL. From what I understand, Fox are going to be broadcasting every AFL game live in 2012 onwards either as sole broadcaster or jointly with the FTA provider. There is a sting in the tail though. It is likely it will not be part of the normal foxsports package but an additional subscription over and above, so if you want the extended AFL, you will get it at a price (perhaps resurrecting the Fox Footy channel at a price to the subscriber).

The NRL games will go the same way eventually I presume. You need to be careful what you wish for sometimes..

Fox are reportedly investing 500k in this coverage with the FTA's propping up the rest to secure the 1 billion dollar deal. (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/foxtel-the-winner-in-footy-deal-20110417-1djsz.htm)

I think you’re out by an order of magnitude mate. ;-)

Got rid off Fox last year, terrible service.

As I said to them, I got so I could watch the Sharks, but your service is pathetic.

I go to the pub to watch the sharks now.

cumberlandcozza

What shits me is Nein and WIN ditching their HD coverage so all we get is crappy SD. Chalk and cheese in quality compared to FOX HD.

agree 100%- the Foxtel HD picture experience kills 9.... also coupled with live games without adds it is worth the cost imo.

Yeah, it would be great in 2011 if I could get fta HD channels, add free of the majority of games, but it ain't gonna happen....as a consumer you pay for everything- no one misses you these days, be it banks, electricity companies or petrol, blah blah (I sound like my father).

Got rid off Fox last year, terrible service.

As I said to them, I got so I could watch the Sharks, but your service is pathetic.

I go to the pub to watch the sharks now.
I'm watching the Anzac Day match in Southport at a pub. Counter meal, roast of the day $4.99. Big screen, blonde barmaid with good looks who calls me 'darlin' and knows how to top up my schooner. Can Fox offer the same service in my loungeroom?

cumberlandcozza

I'm watching the Anzac Day match in Southport at a pub. Counter meal, roast of the day $4.99. Big screen, blonde barmaid with good looks who calls me 'darlin' and knows how to top up my schooner. Can Fox offer the same service in my loungeroom?

No they can't and from what you've said I'm a tad jealous. But on Anzac Day, I'll be in the burbs in Sydney. After doing the lawns, I'll spend time with the kids before sitting down to my well earned 2 hours of league on the tube, so I need it in HD without channels..... It's all I have left in life.

taipan

I wouldn't panic,Fox needs rugby league like Warne needs a nookie.The last thing that media organisation wants is a massive churning rate ,losing rugby league customers by the 10s of thousands ,huge drop in ratings and advertisers saying WTF.
As long as I get the 5 NRL live on Fox or 6 if there is expansion,I will retains my subs.
However if that mob rips rugby league off again, on the next TV contract ignoring the huge Pay TV ratings,I may have second thoughts and p*ss them off.

bobmar28

For you I would guess that ONE FTA game a week would be better than what your currently getting.

FTA is f**ked.......2 games Friday and a third on Sunday. That's it!!

3 f**ken games out of a possible 8....pathetic!!

If I were you I wouldn't go cancelling my fox subscription just yet.........

I'm about to restart my foxtel subscription....too damn frustrating missing out on so many games.

IMHO....FTA should have

Friday - 2 games

Saturday - 1 game

Sunday - 1 game

Monday - 1 game

5 from 8 would make me reconsider the foxtel option......

With Ten network in the bidding we might see something like that.

Lately fox sports news has been terrible.

I was out all day yesterday. Got home just before 10 and switched on 513 to see the nrl highlights. The first 10 mins was on the afl, next story on drew Mitchell breaking his leg, then surfing (yes surfing) then some other random sport, then at about 10.20 they came to the nrl. They showed one try from each game and a sentence from both losing coaches. In total it went for 1 minute. They then went to another afl story!!

Was an absolute disgrace and unforunatly is becoming more and more common.

I got it to ensure I could watch every saints game. Coupled with getting to see any game I want. This alone makes it good value for me.

Days like today are brilliant, I get to see possibly one of the greatest modern traditions in the NRL each year.

Free bbq, big screen, HD broadcast, Brunette (can't assure you of the darling though) You would only have to top up your schooner every 2nd time (yeah i am a great host).

Johnsy can almost compete with the RSL. ;-)

Shorty

Some people get out of the house and either,
a) Watch the game in good company at the pub
b) Go to the actual game

I'll never understand why people pay money for viewing, if you are that desperate get your geek on and find a stream.