Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Joe Gulavao

shiznit

What a servant to the game this guy is...

he's playing in his 3rd GF for 3 different clubs.

I was just talking with a mate about this weekends game and its hard to believe that Gulavao made his debut for the Warriors back in 1998 as a Fullback if i remember correctly.

Now he's playing as a prop in the GF against his Junior club.

Has a player ever evolved his game more than this guy...

'The Fullback'
Joe%20Galuvao.jpg

'The Hair Bear'
spt_sattler031006,0.jpg

'The Minister'
Rabbitohs-reshuffle-5532328.jpg

'The Eel'
332778-joe-galuvao.jpg

'The Sea Eagle'
Joe+Galuvao+DIXhKsTCBhRm.jpg

He was great at Penrith. He had a few bad years at Souths and Parra but mainly due to injuries. He has definitely regained some great form at Manly. A great man too, I read a story that he gets the train from Penrith to the city + bus to northern beaches every day to get to training.

Glen

He took a while to shake off the LOL@50uff$ curse at the Eels but was playing very good footy in the back end of his stint there. Unfortunate he had to leave at the time due to cap constraints but he has carried his form on with Manly.

Good player, good bloke

LazyDreamer

I'm sure it was he (and not the other hair bear) who was nearly caught in-goal from the kick-off against the Roosters in the grand final, but fought to *just* get back in the field of play. I have always rated that over the Scott Sattler tackle as the defining moment.

The kind of player who deserved to be a one-club player, but wouldn't have a premiership and be staring down the barrel of another if he had been.

Biscuits

what he has given this manly team in his 2 years at the club is close to what kennedy did in his 2 years in my opinion. sure he wont be remembered like kennedy and nor should he, but where kennedy was the old head that moulded watmough and and , even moreso, glenn stewart, gulavao is doing similar things for williams, buhrer, lussick and co. a no no nonsense pro that takes no shortcuts and plays the game in a fashion that is a wonderful example to all.

Garts

Love Joe. So many Manly fans panned his signing, too old, not good enough for Souths etc. He has been worth every cent and more.

B-Tron 3000

I still reckon we wouldn't have made the Grand Final in 09 if not for Joe. Against Canterbury in the Preliminary our forwards seemed nervous. Joe came on and showed the way. It was like he said "it's a final, just f**kin run it hard!"
From the moment he came on there was only gonna be one winner.

1 Eyed TEZZA

Love Joey G. Did not want to see him leave Parra. Always did the hard work and never complained. Only ever wanted to take care of his family.

All he ever needed was for a club to stand by him and take care of him at every turn like he has for them. A shame Souths treated him like shit. Scum club.

To think Rusty wanted him to retire almost 4 years ago. He's going to play in his second Grand Final since!! LOL@50uff$

carlosthedwarf

Really enjoyed him as an Eel.

Each photo above looks like it ate the one before it. Joe has certainly bulked up over the years.

zombie jesus

He has been a great signing for Manly, had my doubts when we picked him up, they were gone very quickly, on and off the field, a great person to have in your club.

We've got the nicest starting props in the game with Joe and Kite leading the way up the middle.

Patorick

Not much to add here, except to note all the injuries he's copped this year.

Between the head knocks and the hand injuries and whatever else, he has definitely been one of our most durable players this year. And one of the best overall.

Just a fantastic ambassador and/or advertisement for Rugby League.

Hope he stays involved in some way when he retires.

anjado

Joe Galuvao is one of those players who probably deserves to be paid more money than he currently is, i can't imagine he would of been on much more than Minimum wage at Parramatta,Manly and was originally at Penrith.

But he puts in as much effort as any player in the game. It would be good to see such players be able to get rewarded with larger contracts so they could make a good living off of the game.

As others have mentioned he is a great leader especially at Penrith he was easily one of our best players in 2002. He was basically on something like $30,000 a year and out performed playerd who were on ten times as much.

In 2003 he made a huge contribution to the team especially leadership wise, Tony Puletua who was on the wane i believe until Joe came to the club and gave him a kick up the ass. Helped him play the best football of his career and formed a great second row partnership.

It's a shame if he won the premiership in 09 he could of become only the 2nd player ever to win a competition with 3 different clubs.

Eagle_Rocker

One of my favourite players. He puts in 100% every game. I'm so glad he decided to sign with Manly rather than retire after his stint at Parramatta.