Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Maybe Tomkins Is The Answer For Saints

Should Saints Try To Sign Tomkins?

Father Ted

Might be better to start with Hunt , Weyman off the bench for Impact alone with Young and his bad knees

gypsy

I'd play King and Rein Both lack a bit of experience but you only get that from playing and I see next year as a bit of a rebuilding year. Besides best to do it now while they are surrounded by experienced people . Young is a living legend But I'd play him at lock and off the bench and Fein? Fien? was so out of form at the end of the year imo but I'd consider him as a back up for Hooker , Halfback. But not in the starting 17 first up unless he trials really well. And yourself?

It's a tough one, Fein only re-signed last season, so it's hard to say what way they'll go.
He is a type of player every club would like, versatile, pretty solid...although I agree he fell away at the end of the season.

I'd probably go King to start, and Fein off the bench. I think Rein is probably a bit less creative than Fein. Also, Fein's versatility is a bonus if any injuries occur. Tough decision though.

Father Ted

I'd Start with King but when the teams get tired I'd have Rein darting out from dummy half. He's a tough little nuggett and can take a bit of a hit. Working on the belief that nothing exhausts big men quicker than constant back peddling. That would open up space for the backs and we have some damm good backs. Just an opinion

gypsy

I'd Start with King but when the teams get tired I'd have Rein darting out from dummy half. He's a tough little nuggett and can take a bit of a hit. Working on the belief that nothing exhausts big men quicker than constant back peddling. That would open up space for the backs and we have some damm good backs. Just an opinion

I'd be happy with either Fein or Rein on the bench, it's a good problem.
No doubt just having Fein around at training will benefit the two young blokes.

Father Ted

Young players makes a team enthusiastic and old players add experience which helps young talent no end . To me at least next years Dragons are the great unknown.

Bring back choc

We need fiens experience. He'll be there.

I still think we need some real impact from the bench. Hopefully one of the new recruits can fill the void.

Who's most likely out of the newbies??

Fingerbang

We need fiens experience. He'll be there.

I still think we need some real impact from the bench. Hopefully one of the new recruits can fill the void.

Who's most likely out of the newbies??
Will Matthews. I think Ah Mau is going to be a good'un, but still a year or two til we see the best of him.

Father Ted

Sport Home

NRL

Wendell Sailor backs Jason Nightingale for fullback spot at St George Illawarra Dragons

128826-wendell-sailor-george-gregan.jpg

Backing: Wendell Sailor (left) and George Gregan at The Lakes golf course yesterday for the Australian Open Pro-Am. Picture: Gregg Porteous Source: The Daily Telegraph

WENDELL Sailor, who teed up with George Gregan at yesterday's Australian Open Pro-Am golf event - Dell plays off 11, Gregan off seven - reckons Jason Nightingale looms as a natural pick for the Dragons' No. 1 jumper next season.

Two days after Jamie Soward said Kyle Stanley was a great option, so much so he would have kept Tim Moltzen out of the side, Dell said: "You could put Nightingale there. I'd have Daniel Vidot and Brett Morris on the wings, then you've got Bronx Goodwin as an option. Kyle Stanley I've got a massive wrap for, but Nightingale said he'd do the job if they wanted him to do it. Vidot is very talented, but he's better on the wing than fullback."

Wendell's thoughts on fullback

gypsy

I know the Dell is a dual international, grand final winning legend, but I just can't understand this.
Obviously Nightingale would never let you down wherever he played, but surely Dell would have seen closer than anyone how unnatural a ball player Nightingale is.
I know people are probably going to say, well I trust Dells judgement etc. but surely our player of the year , and one of the best wingers in the world can stay where he plays his best footy.
I'm Nightingales biggest fan, but can't understand this one.

Bring back choc

I know the Dell is a dual international, grand final winning legend, but I just can't understand this.
Obviously Nightingale would never let you down wherever he played, but surely Dell would have seen closer than anyone how unnatural a ball player Nightingale is.
I know people are probably going to say, well I trust Dells judgement etc. but surely our player of the year , and one of the best wingers in the world can stay where he plays his best footy.
I'm Nightingales biggest fan, but can't understand this one.

I agree gypsy. Nightingale is one of the worlds best wingers. That's where he should stay.
Hes not a natural ball player either.

Minh

I would be disappointed if Kyle Stanley does not get first crack at the custodian role.

If Tomkins is not interested then lets go for a local junior - Brett Stewart.

gypsy

or maybe even Brett Stewart.

Possm is just having another one of his moments. He flogs the same dead horse for a week, then moves onto another one when he realises he was wrong.

He said Carney was putting the finishing touches on a 3 year deal at the Dragons.
He also didn't let up about Hornby at fullback for about a month.

He'll stop soon.

According to the poll, 60% of us believe it would be good to sign Tomkins. And if I ran a poll on the idea of signing Stewart, we would probably get a similar result.

It is said that Brett Steward has an out option if Hasler leaves Manly. He must have had a reason for doing that. In addition Manly will have to upgrade contracts to keep some of their existing players with 'out options' so they would unlikely have enough to keep everyone. Player managers have already gone public saying that their newly capped Kangaroos.

Maybe I'm wrong again but its worth putting out there however, this time it is only a gut feeling; no whispers from anyone.

gypsy

According to the poll, 60% of us believe it would be good to sign Tomkins. And if I ran a poll on the idea of signing Stewart, we would probably get a similar result.

It is said that Brett Steward has an out option if Hasler leaves Manly. He must have had a reason for doing that. In addition Manly will have to upgrade contracts to keep some of their existing players with 'out options' so they would unlikely have enough to keep everyone. Player managers have already gone public saying that their newly capped Kangaroos.

Maybe I'm wrong again but its worth putting out there however, this time it is only a gut feeling; no whispers from anyone.

Run another Poll on Tomkins, and see how many people have seen him play more than 3 times. Not really enough to form an opinion.

I watch him week in week out, and have said it many times, he wouldn't have the same impact in the NRL. Too sideways, too small, only good against staggered defence and rubbish kick chases.

Stewart would only be a temporary fix, I'm happy for us to put the faith in our youngsters.
Look at the Broncos, they might have missed out on Inglis, but as a result Reed, Yow Yeh, Beale, Hoffman etc. stepped up. Have a little faith.

Now is the time to be pushing a few young blokes through, before our experienced players all retire within a year or two of each other.
We don't want to do a West Indies.

Sorry Gypsy I can't agree with you. Tomkins performed really well against Australia; he was a stand out for the poms.

To replace a proven quality player with another of similar standard is the right thing to do. You can't lose. It strengthens the team and adds depth to the support playing strength. Unless Saints want to upgrade some current contracts, it would be foolish not to try and buy someone to replace Boyd.

gypsy

Sorry Gypsy I can't agree with you. Tompkins performed really well against Australia; he was a stand out for the poms.

To replace a proven quality player with another of similar standard is the right thing to do. You can't lose. It strengthens the team and adds depth to the support playing strength. Unless Saints want to upgrade some current contracts, it would be foolish not to try and buy someone to replace Boyd.

I'm just saying, I live in England and watch him every weekend. Basing it on a few years watching him, not 2 weeks.

If we continue to play Kyle off the bench we will lose him to another club, guaranteed.
It is the perfect time to be throwing the odd young bloke in while we have experience in Hornby, Creagh, Young, Cooper etc. around them. Pretty soon they are all going to retire, we have to look for continuity, unless you want the Dragons to lose years rebuilding when those guys retire.
Look at the Aussie cricket team for evidence of how that works.

This is why Stewart is a bad idea, he hasn't got much footy left in him, and it's a temporary fix. Need to look to the future.

Bring back choc

Run another Poll on Tomkins, and see how many people have seen him play more than 3 times. Not really enough to form an opinion.

I watch him week in week out, and have said it many times, he wouldn't have the same impact in the NRL. Too sideways, too small, only good against staggered defence and rubbish kick chases.

Stewart would only be a temporary fix, I'm happy for us to put the faith in our youngsters.
Look at the Broncos, they might have missed out on Inglis, but as a result Reed, Yow Yeh, Beale, Hoffman etc. stepped up. Have a little faith.

Now is the time to be pushing a few young blokes through, before our experienced players all retire within a year or two of each other.
We don't want to do a West Indies.

Mate I'm just as keen to put faith in our juniors... But we need to have the juniors worth putting faith into!
We have made this mistake for way too long.
Bennett comes and does what we should have done years ago.... Brings in what we lack. And wow... We won a comp. So everyone wants to now go back to the bad ol ways. f**k that makes me laugh.

King and Stanley are our most exciting prospects. But we need some more experienced potency.
Stewart is a great player... But he's an imbecile. Dugan for 2013 is our best bet. But that's a very long shot.