Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Sydney Bar/Pub scene ranking list

Moffo

Well....i've had a fairly solid 10 years on the pub/bar scene, so thought it was time to put back in and come up with my list of where is great and where is not so great. Naturally with these sort of things, they are going to be subjective, and will largely depend on personal experiences there, music, range of beer, clientele, security, service etc. The main criteria is as follows:

- Had to have had a drink there in the last 5 years
- Is known as a drinking venue
- Is within a 5-10km radius of the city

Interesting to see how this list stacks up or a ranking (perhaps top 5-10 each way) of your favourites and not so favourites:

1. The Forbes
2. Beach Road
3. Hero of Waterloo
4. The Beresford
5. Baxter Inn
6. Clovelly Hotel
7. Beach Burrito
8. Three Weeds
9. The Sheaf
10.Lord Dudley
11.The Arthouse
12.Stitch Bar
13.The Clock
14.The Winery
15.La Bodeguita
16.Bar 100
17.Scubar
18.The London (Paddington)
19.Lord Nelson
20.Victoria Room
21.The Gazebo
22.Rose Hotel
23.AB Hotel
24.Shady Pines
25.Grasshopper
26.Fringe Bar
27.Eau Di Vie
28.Tillbury
29.Kirribilli Club
30.Retro
31.Sticky Bar
32.Grandmas
33.Friend in Hand
34.The Argyle
35.The Loft
36.Melt
37.Slip Inn
38.Four in Hand
39.World Bar
40.Chambers
41.Bungalow 8
42.The Norfolk
43.Zeta
44.Bondi Hardware
45.The Oaks
46.Opera Bar
47.Kuletos
48.Shirt Bar
49.Metropolitian
50.El Loco
51.Piano Room
52.Morteons
53.The Pavillion
54.The Glenmore
55.The Passage
56.Zanzibar
57.North Bondi Italian
58.The Occidental
59.North Bondi RSL
60.The Firehouse Hotel
61.Crystal Bar
62.The Bank
63.Paddo Inn
64.Hugo's (Manly)
65.Lowenbrau
66.The Cricketers Arms
67.Commodore Hotel
68.Monkey Bar
69.Belgian Beer Cafe
70.The Australian
71.The Dolphin
72.Ryans Bar
73.Duke of Gloucester
74.Nag's Head Hotel
75.Bavarian
76.Coogee Bay Palace
77.Hugo's (Kings Cross)
78.Ivy
79.The Newtown Hotel
80.Coopers Hotel
81.The Kirribilli
82.Verendah
83.Trinity
84.Aurora Bar
85.Colombian Hotel
86.The Cleveland
87.Bar Europa
88.Establishment
89.Cargo
90.Woolooomoloo Hotel
91.The Harbour View
92.Helm Bar
93.Marble Bar
94.Coogee Bay Hotel
95.Bligh Bar
96.The Toxteth
97.The Ivanhoe
98.Small Bar
99.Randi Wicks
100.Agincourt
101.Pyrmont Bridge Hotel
102.Timbah
103.Ravesi's
104.The Vault
105.Brooklyn Hotel
106.Martin Place Bar
107.Scruffy Murphys
108.c**k n Bull
109.Coach and Horses Bar
110.The Foxhole
111.Paddy McGuires
112.Empire Hotel
113.Bat and Ball
114.Home Bar
115.Fortune of War
116.Shark Bar
117.The London (Balmain)
118.Kellys on King
119.The Burdekin
120.Grand Hotel
121.The Eastern
122.The Office Hotel
123.Albion Place Hotel
124.Star Bar
125.City Hotel
126.La Cita
127.Kings Cross Hotel
128.Scary Canary
129.Observatory Hotel
130.Excelsior Hotel
131.The Steyne
132.Wynyard Hotel
133.Ship Inn
134.The Paragon
135.Watershed Hotel
136.Trumps Tavern
137.Jacksons on George
138.CBD Hotel
139.The Mercantile
140.Settlement Bar
141.Pontoon
142.Hotel Sweeney's
143.Harold Park Hotel
144.Bondi Hotel
145.The Marlborough Hotel
146.The Orient
147.Cheers Bar
148.Shelbourne
149.Three Wise Monkeys
150.Bar 333

Cheers,
Moffo

Moffo

didn't realise there was so many gay bars in Sidanee

tumblr_lqdstlgvNw1qiij99o1_500.gif

Blue Cattle Dog (god's country)
CBH, The Palace, Randwick Royal, Bondi Icebergs, Bondi Social, The London (Eastern Sub)
The Orient, Shelbourne, PBH, Captain Cook, Monkey Bar, World Bar (City)
Zanzibar, Kuletos, Bank Hotel, Malbourgh, The Sanderingham, Newtown Hotel (Newtown
The Deck (Luna Park)
Ivanhoe, New Brighton Hotel, Jah Bar, Wharf Hotel, Hugo's (Manly)

A special mention to Section 8 in melbourne which is probably my favourite bar

Loads more if i thought about it properly

Moffo

Blue Cattle Dog (god's country)
CBH, The Palace, Randwick Royal, Bondi Icebergs, Bondi Social, The London (Eastern Sub)
The Orient, Shelbourne, PBH, Captain Cook, Monkey Bar, World Bar (City)
Zanzibar, Kuletos, Bank Hotel, Malbourgh, The Sanderingham, Newtown Hotel (Newtown
The Deck (Luna Park)
Ivanhoe, New Brighton Hotel, Jah Bar, Wharf Hotel, Hugo's (Manly)

A special mention to Section 8 in melbourne which is probably my favourite bar

Loads more if i thought about it properly

Some nice ones in there but also some bogan holes!

Orient and shellbourne should be shut down. They are both disgraces! The security at the orient is horrible

Cliffhanger

Only moffo could post a list of his 150 favourite bars - 90 per cent of which are either skeazey or wanker bars- and then diss The Orient.

Some nice ones in there but also some bogan holes!

Orient and shellbourne should be shut down. They are both disgraces! The security at the orient is horrible

Im from penrith Moffo, sometimes a guy has just gotta go where he is comfortable ;-)

a lot of the trasher joints are personal favourites because me and the missus have seen some outstanding charactors for people watching. The Sando @ Newtown is a classic example

Id highly recommend the Deck, if you havent been, wait for a nice day, get the ferry over to Luna Park, get yourself a drink and some chips with aioli, and watch the sun set. It offers the most spectacular view of sydney in the city i recon

Moffo

Only moffo could post a list of his 150 favourite bars - 90 per cent of which are either skeazey or wanker bars- and then diss The Orient.

Haha that is nice to know. Stick to the orient...And make sure all of your bogan friends do as well!

Moffo

Im from penrith Moffo, sometimes a guy has just gotta go where he is comfortable ;-)

a lot of the trasher joints are personal favourites because me and the missus have seen some outstanding charactors for people watching. The Sando @ Newtown is a classic example

Id highly recommend the Deck, if you havent been, wait for a nice day, get the ferry over to Luna Park, get yourself a drink and some chips with aioli, and watch the sun set. It offers the most spectacular view of sydney in the city i recon

Nice tip mate, I'll give it a crack!

Cliffhanger

Haha that is nice to know. Stick to the orient...And make sure all of your bogan friends do as well!

No thanks, I only go to bars when I got dragged by my work mates, or for friends birthdays. Spending so much time hanging out in bars is bogan, maybe it's about time you saw yourself for what you are and stop trying to sound trendy.