Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Most tattooed team in the NRL?

natheel

Most tattoos in the NRL are rubbish with little thought about design and placement. Tattoos only essentially work on backs, shoulders and upper arms. Anywhere else looks shithouse, especially necks and chests. Also names and numbers are awful too.

Carney, Dugan, Reynolds and Watmough are among the worst, Nathan Fien has some shockers, and Daniel Conn and Ryan McGoldrick were train wrecks as well.

Witty's one on his back of a sun with the pride written in Chinese lettering inside it is the gold standard tbh.

Also Gallen has a devil on his arse! :lol:

Tattoos depend on the individual. Some chest pieces actually look pretty good. if the person suits the artwork then it works otherwise it wouldn't etc

Grail

How then sh!t for brains???

You were kind of on the right track. Placement is important. But a bad tattoo will look bad no matter where it is. However to say that a tattoo must be placed on the shoulder, upper arm or back to look good is just stupid. I've seen plenty of rib, thigh, ankle, foot, lower arm and belly tats that look amazing. Neck tattoos, face tattoos and hand tattoos - sure you need really think about them, but they can look good, if done well, and there is a thought process for where they will sit.

The right tattoo needs to be placed in the right location, and a good tattoo artist will help discuss where best to fit a tattoo and how it will best suit the structure of the body. A bad tattoo artist will just slap anything down where the customer asks without first talking about it and offering alternative placement or design if it will not suit. And lets face it, most people who want a tattoo have no idea as to the best placement or design.

So, yes - your absolute statement deserved a LOL, idiot and wrong comment.

Now who is the sh!t for brains?

wittyfan

Certainly not me!
eagleTattoo1.jpg

To be honest, I think Carney's tattoo is Asian influenced. I think his ex is an Asian chick who won one of those tattoo model comps.

It's actually koi rather than goldfish and many Asians have them - they believe in the next lifetime that the koi will become a dragon.

Still doesn't truly explain why he has them... perhaps he "drinks like a fish"???

Makes me laugh the number of people with the Asian koi shit. You'd have to be a complete bellend, or a committed angler, to get a carp tattoo

#51 – Tribal Tattoos

Much the same as a herd of warring goats, bogans closely associate success and social prominence with pursuits relating to physical prowess. Finding a convenient way to channel the spirit of the gladiator in order to become the alpha of their town or suburb can be critical to the self-worth of the bogan. The bogan has a vague awareness that over the millennia, there have probably been thousands of brave feats of killing things performed by warrior-like people. But, opening a book to figure out what, where, and when can be quite threatening. Thousands of bogans have discovered that a quick and effective way to appropriate the battle markings of this imagined warrior is through a tribal tattoo.
Tribal tattoos serve another important function for the bogan; they actually allow it to convince itself that it is culturally and artistically aware. Because tribes are probably from some other culture, the bogan becomes proud of its open-mindedness and ability to embrace the thuggish tendencies of an abstract people from another era and/or community. By doing so, the bogan displays tolerance and acceptance of all people, and deeply connects with the cosmos.

Secondly, tribal tattooing allows the bogan to express its artistic ability. The bogan enjoys being able, upon enquiry about its tattoo, to state that he/she “designed it myself”. Designing a tribal tattoo requires the capacity to draw up to 60 arced or swirled lines with no defined spatial or thematic structure, and to then pass it off as inspired expression. Just as this was within the capacity of the glistening trail of a snail on a slab of hot concrete, the bogan is also able to triumph in this endeavour. Jagged lines in the design depict battle-readiness, hardness, and other unspecified warrior traits.

The bogan male is aware that a tribal tattoo is best displayed on a broad, warrior-like piece of flesh. Some bogans will achieve this through making their biceps huge at the gym, while others will eat more fatty food than they ever should. The female bogan also expresses interest in acquiring tribal markings, though generally in the form of a tramp stamp.

By expressing itself through the permanent application of a tangle of unintelligible and meaningless lines to its body, the bogan attains the status of artist, creator, warrior, and, perhaps most importantly, suitable breeding partner.

http://thingsboganslike.com/2009/12/18/51-tribal-tattoos/

I think you're being a little harsh on tribal tattoos, especially if we're talking about the "Polynesian" style tattoos, for want of a better word being that I'm a pom.

I say that because from an artistic point of view all the ones I've seen have been f**king amazing. I know a few people who most definitely aren't bogans - or the british equivalent - with vague Polynesian type tattoos, and they all look fantastic, regardless of cultural insensitivity, and what not.

shinobi

Most of these people your talking about don't have cultural tattoos. Polynesian design tattoos aren't cultural, they just have a Polynesian influence in the line styles. Infact most modern tattoo artists wouldn't know how to do a cultural tattoo, those that do actually come from the specific cultures and know the historical and cultural reasons for the tattoos.

OK Im only speaking for Maori here as that is my cultural background but i guarantee you the majority of them have a lot of meaning. Ta moko (tattoo) indicate our family and tribal connections, they connect us to our rivers and mountains and anchor us to the land we came from. Go up and ask any Maori and they will explain it to you.

Unlike most of Polynesia Maori (and Samoa) maintained tattooing traditions even when the missionaries came down and tried to stamp it out so the meanings have been passed down.

Now getting a "polynesian tat" from some white guy in Parra is definitely not the same thing but you will find that a lot of Maori are tattooed by tattoists that make regular trips over here from NZ who are well trained in tradition.

Grapple

OK Im only speaking for Maori here as that is my cultural background but i guarantee you the majority of them have a lot of meaning. Ta moko (tattoo) indicate our family and tribal connections, they connect us to our rivers and mountains and anchor us to the land we came from. Go up and ask any Maori and they will explain it to you.

Unlike most of Polynesia Maori (and Samoa) maintained tattooing traditions even when the missionaries came down and tried to stamp it out so the meanings have been passed down.

"Oh, g'day Bros! Yeah just wanted to know about the significance of your tattoos you've got there?"

maori_gang-299x300.jpg

Good advice. :lol::lol:

Pete Cash

But that's a cultural thing not an I'm-a-boring-nobody-so-I'll-ink-up-to-make-myself-feel-special thing.

Why is it not a cultural thing for white working class background individuals (or bogans as they are dubbed) to have tattoos. Most of the people I know from that background are covered in tattoos. Seems to be cultural to me.

Culture doesn't mean thousands of years old. Driving a powerful ute, wearing singlets and having a million tattoos makes up the cultural identity of some groups in Australia.

Grail

OK Im only speaking for Maori here as that is my cultural background but i guarantee you the majority of them have a lot of meaning.

I'm talking about the guy who goes to a tattoo parlour and asks for a poly tribal tat. Or even a Maori tribal tat. The tattoo artist will give them something with poly influences but it won't be a traditional tribal tat.