Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is this the worst Season ever?

hermidale1

Can the prophets of doom please calm down!! This isn't the worst season ever. What about 1978? the Dragons won the comp in 1977. In 1978 they won 10 from 22 to not even make the Semi Finals. They even lost the Amco Cup. Did everyone scream to sack Harry Bath???? The following year 1979 they won the comp again. Teams have up and down seasons. This hasn't been a great season by all means, but calling it the worst ever??????

R&WTILLIDIE

Can the prophets of doom please calm down!! This isn't the worst season ever. What about 1978? the Dragons won the comp in 1977. In 1978 they won 10 from 22 to not even make the Semi Finals. They even lost the Amco Cup. Did everyone scream to sack Harry Bath???? The following year 1979 they won the comp again. Teams have up and down seasons. This hasn't been a great season by all means, but calling it the worst ever??????

Fair point...So after winning in 2010 we should have gone shit in 2011 and won 2012?

The thing is, after they won the GF I bought a framed photo of the team and put it on my wall, now when I look at some of those players it makes me sad to think that they have just faded away into a rabble..It's like they've forgotten to play footy.

So many of those good players left and did not get replaced because apparently the CEO says we have no money..

The CEO's job is to make the money, if he can't do that then he should be replaced.

God-King Dean

The doust hate was at it's peak in 2004 imo.

Maybe someone can remind me. I remember we lost Mark Riddell & Brent Kite, & it was due to Dousts mismanagment contracts. I can't remember the details, but everyone on here was pissed.

Slippery Morris

2007 was a bad year but Saints hit 20+ points 9 times. This year they have hit 20+ 5 times. They beat Canberra 58-16 in round 17 and Penrith 38-20 rd 19 in 2007. Close to 100 poins in 2 games. They both finished below the Dragons that year but at least Saints punished them. This year they struggled to beat the teams below them. Last minute try against the Eels, same with Roosters. Reverse those results and they are wooden spoon contenders. Saints would be on 18. Parra 18 and Roosters 21. If Saints won their 2 golden point games they would be on 26 I suppose but they lost 1 against the Panthers so what does that say. The other against the Rabbitohs which was unlucky but they were lucky to get that close.

Slippery Morris

Bennett inherited a bunch of very committed footballers with a common goal of winning the premiership and both Bennett and the players were equally responsible for our victory. I can handle losing I've seen it plenty of times over the years but I think we definately underachieved this year, we had a good mix of seasoned pro's and youngsters in the team yet we struggled to beat nearly all of the bottom teams all year.

He inherited that team from Nathan Brown and even Wayne said that Brown did a great coach preparing these youngsters. He just plugged the gap with a few smart buys. From 1-7 with the exception of Boyd was all Brownies boys. Creagh, Hunt, Prior, Young, Scott also Brownies boys.

Time to bring back Brownie ASAP or Potter. Anyone but this joker. Both Brownie and Potter have proven themselves in the ESL. Only thing Brownie has on potter is NRL experience. It would be worth giving Potter a 1 year contract at least to see how he goes next season.

If Barrett becomes NSW coach and he beats QLD I know who I would go for the following year. Bring back BAZ.

grouch

Not even close to the worst. I'm guessing the OP has been supporting us for 5 minutes or less.

Plenty of highlights this year.. winning our first golden point game, spoiling Newcastle's big season opener, the Loltzen fun at Kogarah, Anzac Day unforgettable, and we beat Melbourne (always worth savouring)

Slippery Morris

If Baz does succeed as coach for NSW (that is if he gets the gig first) then it will be interesting if he credits his coaching to an old coach of his called Nathan Brown. How good would that be.

The doust hate was at it's peak in 2004 imo.

Maybe someone can remind me. I remember we lost Mark Riddell & Brent Kite, & it was due to Dousts mismanagment contracts. I can't remember the details, but everyone on here was pissed.
Everyone thought they were signed, including board members. Apparently the offers on the table were pretty attractive. But at the 11th hour the offers from the opposition camps were ramped up, 'sign now or walk' type of thing. I was more cranky at Kite. We put up with years of him being an inept ball handler and when he started coming good he went to the highest bidder. He's done well I guess, but not sure if Riddell commanded another increase after moving on.

It's reasonable to say that it's been pretty dismal.

People are right in picking out the late eighties, the Farrar years and 2007 as depressing years. I'll add 1997 to that. That was when we had Shane Kenward signed up as Choc's replacement and he was so bad Jeff Hardy spent most of the season as starting five eighth.

And '82. We were the only team to drop four points against Illawarra and Canberra in their first seasons in the comp. The Steelers belted us at Kogarah. Humiliating.

2013 might hit us hard too. We'll have Beale, but the halves and the forwards will be worse than this year. Grim times ahead.

Efresh

I was more cranky at Kite. We put up with years of him being an inept ball handler and when he started coming good he went to the highest bidder.

It was worse than that wasn't it? If memory serves, we signed him after he was cut lose by Canberra due to injury, developed him to SoO level and persevered with him through more injury.

gorilla

1974 would have to be a candidate for the worst season in my memory. It was the first time Saints failed to make the semi finals for 23 years. It was virtually unheard of for us to not be there in September.

The U/23s, or whatever they were called then, kept me positive.

That time was the lowest ebb after the glory days and the final exit of Smith and Langlands in the early and mid-70s. Those final weird forwards like Rasmussen and Tonga, Beath, Tatana and even ex-centre Ferguson.

I loved Ferguson's bullocky ways.

It took a flutter in '75, then 77 and 79 with Bath and his 'babes'.

counterpuncher

I'll add 1997 to that.

+1

Awful season. SL and all, but what I remember were the miserable crowds all season long, I remember having a fair bit of room to kick a footy on the hill with mates. A lot of fair weather fans jumped ship after the '96 GF.

Late 80's weren't much fun either as a young fella. Wondered why the old man took me to watch a team that didn't seem to win that much. My favourite player was Ricky Walford, through kid eyes he seemed to be the only one in the team that was much chop :).

Stagger Lee

As bad as 2007 was, and strewth it was bad, I still maintain that all those youngsters we forced into first grade maturity so quickly helped set us up for the 2010 premiership. Hopeful something good can come from this season.

Mr Red

As bad as 2007 was, and strewth it was bad, I still maintain that all those youngsters we forced into first grade maturity so quickly helped set us up for the 2010 premiership. Hopeful something good can come from this season.

which youngsters have been forced in this season - none.

maketo, king, stockwell, cummins and a few others should have seen more first grade this season.
instead Price has persisted with Hornby, Fien, Ah Mau, Miller.

munge

maybe

but call me pessimistic but with a fairly easy run home i still think we are a huge shot to make the finals

Ronnie Dobbs

Is this the worst season you have had to experience following the Dragons? I know there are other season that the Dragons did not make the finals but from memory at least they provided some good footy now and then like Parra do occaisionally this season. Parra are coming last but they have at least won a couple of games playing nice attrractive footy and scored heaps of points doing so.

Saints have played like crap all year. The only highlight I can think of is the Tigers game earlier in the year but appart from that have been rubbish.

I have not seen them win a spoon yet and hope I never do but winning a spoon would be an all time low for this great club.

I really hope they don't have to put up with this rubbish next season. They have the players to go well so hopefully they can learn form this season and use it for motivation next year.

It is the worst I can remember. 86-90 were dark years and I can see us heading down that path at present.

I was only a kid then.

1994, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2007 were ordinary years.

But this is the worst I can recall.

Makes me sick in the guts.