Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is Marshall a great player?

Big Pete

No, I was at the game and you could see benji yelling at Lawrence and tuqiri about the play he was going to do, they both dropped back ready for it. I said to my mate 'we're going to run it' and we did

As captain Farah should have over called him but that play was set up by benji the play before.

I checked the game back on Smart Replay and it appears Lawrence & Tuqiri were always back there. You could be right though, let Saab's sample stand!

Aragorn said:
only to the untrained eye, the distinction is blurred.

Pffft, even those involved at that level say the same thing. Obviously still some differences, but it's not how it was 10 years ago, let alone 20 or so.

The reason for the comparison is that Stacey is obviously regarded as a Kiwi great yet doesn't have the resume of Benji. Both are similar players, very exciting off the cuff players.

I reckon Benji has surpassed the little general.

With a stronger coach, he'd be so much better.
He's never been held to account, still making juvenile errors he made in years 1 & 2.
As the recent parra game showed, brilliant against teams that dont like defense - ie touch footy.
Tough as nails...but his weak coach has allowed him to continue at fault with his errors and go nowhere, rather than learn & grow from them

Aragorn

With a stronger coach, he'd be so much better.
He's never been held to account, still making juvenile errors he made in years 1 & 2.
As the recent parra game showed, brilliant against teams that dont like defense - ie touch footy.
Tough as nails...but his weak coach has allowed him to continue at fault with his errors and go nowhere, rather than learn & grow from them

yeah, I agree he hasnt developed or re-invented himself to become a true great in a position other than# 6. To me, that's a make of a truely great player, someone who masters more than just one position.

Lockyer was a true great at both #1 and #6. Not many others like him.

soc123_au

I dont think he will go down as one of the greats based on his brain snaps. But as someone asked "Is he good for the game" then he would be one of the best ever.

Has a resume as good as almost any kiwi you could name. On his day he can make the best defences look hopeless, but he still has the shocker in him. Because of his shockers he probably isn't the best player in the world (he'd definitely be top 10), but because of his brilliance he is the most marketable. Will be one of those players who is remembered for being much better though due to his incredible highlights reel.

Hutty1986

Absolutely devastating on his day, looks a million dollars against poor defensive sides.
Obviously playing out of position this year but has made some crab runs Shaun Timmins would be proud of. Not sure he's the best guy to protect a lead in a semi, e.g v Dragons 2010, Warriors 2011..plays a bit too 'pretty' during the big moments

tigr3

Yes.

People are saying that he hasn't had the best year this year, with which I agree. If you look at his stats however, he has still produced 32 try assists, which is the most in the league by a margin of 5. He has also scored 4 tries himself.

Then look at his other achievements and remember that he played a substantial role in all the team wins:
Premiership 2005
World Cup
Four Nations
World Sevens 2004
Captain of his country
Captain of his club (periodically)
Dally M Five Eighth

Also, I think you need to take into account some of the things he has brought to the game that will be included in his highlight reel.

There wouldn't be many players with a resume' that impressive....and he is only 27(?)

The Gambler

He will be remembered as a great - I don't think there is much question about that.

Whether he is a great because of skill or marketability is another argument all together.