Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

End nears for suburban NRL grounds

Saint Doc

Amazed that people consider travelling 60mins a big imposition. Ok not ideal for young kids on a Friday or Monday night but seriously an hours travel isn't a hardship to attend an event!

Not for a person that posts on an Internet forum.

But most people don't like footy as much as we all do.

For a casual fan who supports a team but doesn't obsess over them, looking or something to do with the kids on a Sunday arvo, spending 2.5 hours traveling in the car, 2 hours at a game, $60 on tickets, $45 on food, $15 on parking is an ordeal.

That's why you need fans, ie fanatics. Become members, wouldn't miss a game for any reason etc etc. other codes can do it, don't see why we can't find 25k fans for each team willing to travel up to 60mins.

This is the end
My only friend, the end.....

It would really suck to lose Leichhardt but other than that stadium, good riddance !

Public Transport comparison - leaving venue Friday night 9.30

ANZ - Brookvale. 2 buses and a train - arrive 11. 23
ANZ - Macarthur. 3 trains - arrive 11.16
ANZ - Penrith. 2 rains - arrive 11.12
ANZ - Cronulla. Bus and 2 trains - arrive 11.40 (plus 3 other options after midnight!)

MCG - Ringwood. Tram and Train - arrive 10.14
MCG - Dandenong. Tram, Train, Bus. Arrive 10.59
MCG - Broadmeadows. Tram Train. Arrive 10.24
MCG - Altona. Tram, Train, Arrive 10.29

but but but .. you said it just cccaaaaaannttttt happen :lol:

:roll:

seriously ..... shut yr whining trap
you know shi.t from clay basically & are stuck in a time warp
the day anyone listens to the ramblings of a wombat like you

we're in real trouble :cool:
meltdown2.jpg

That's why you need fans, ie fanatics. Become members, wouldn't miss a game for any reason etc etc. other codes can do it, don't see why we can't find 25k fans for each team willing to travel up to 60mins.

What "other codes" do it? How many Perth residents live more than 60 mins away from WACA? Does Perth still exist 60 mins from the WACA? Not much of Melbourne is further than 1 hour from the MCG. But here you are with the other escapees from the dribblers ward demanding heaps of clubs are punted unless their fans are willing to travel further than anyone else.:crazy:

I dont see why you cant be happy having people live near footy teams!

meltdown2.jpg

What "other codes" do it? How many Perth residents live more than 60 mins away from WACA? Does Perth still exist 60 mins from the WACA? Not much of Melbourne is further than 1 hour from the MCG. But here you are with the other escapees from the dribblers ward demanding heaps of clubs are punted unless their fans are willing to travel further than anyone else.:crazy:

I dont see why you cant be happy having people live near footy teams!

I live about 30kms from our 3 stadiums and would take me about 45-50 mins on public transport. I wouldn't see that as a onerous trip by any stretch. Used to drive 2 hrs one way over the Pennines in winter in my youth to watch my team!

All the other codes around the world that have a centralised stadium and get 25k plus to games!

Nothing wrong with a stadium on your doorstep but its not 1970 anymore and fan bases, city life, and expected stadium amenities have changed meaning the old park at the end of the road is not adequate for a billion$ sports business anymore

Silent Knight

yep

sums up Sydneysiders to a tee :cool:

It must be so much fun living in Canberra. When you're not watching the Raiders play you've got all the time in the world to watch the tumbleweed blow by. Maybe if you're a good boy your parents will take you on a special trip to Cockington Green for your birthday.

No such thing as a casual Raiders fan because there's SFA to do the rest of the time in a town devoid of life.

newman

Amazed that people consider travelling 60mins a big imposition. Ok not ideal for young kids on a Friday or Monday night but seriously an hours travel isn't a hardship to attend an event!

Because people, like me, love being able to walk or take a short trip to the local ground to watch a club match. We love our slightly rustic faciliites. We love our kids being able to kick a ball on the hill.

I agree 100% with Perth Red.

The two tards who want the NRL to look like the A league, don't go to games and don't live in Sydney agree with each other, shock horror.

I live about 30kms from our 3 stadiums and would take me about 45-50 mins on public transport. I wouldn't see that as a onerous trip by any stretch. Used to drive 2 hrs one way over the Pennines in winter in my youth to watch my team!

All the other codes around the world that have a centralised stadium and get 25k plus to games!

Nothing wrong with a stadium on your doorstep but its not 1970 anymore and fan bases, city life, and expected stadium amenities have changed meaning the old park at the end of the road is not adequate for a billion$ sports business anymore

Again with the 1970 stuff. I said earlier that only Brookie is substandard and that is still true. (Leicchardt too but thats only used sparingly and looks great).Penrith, jubilee, shark park and WIN are all good places to watch footy at and meet all NRL broadcast and facility standards. So what's the problem? Why force people to move elsewhere when we know it won't work?

meltiger

ANZ - Cronulla. Bus and 2 trains - arrive 11.40 (plus 3 other options after midnight!)

You can also walk. I live in Altona and it's quicker/easier to just use the footbridge back to Flinders from anywhere in the precint.

The first two are the big difference that no one seems to take into account. We have about 15 train lines down here, 10 of which run directly, directly past the MCG via Richmond or Jolimont. FWIW, you don't get on a tram in those first two options.

Etihad for that matter has more lines that run directly past it (Via Southern Cross) than the G.

I mean I can get home from work and back to the MCG in time for a Friday night game, try getting Manly people to do the equivalent if having to negotiate the spit twice and make a 7.45 kick off

Any suggestion that moving games from Campbelltown, Cronulla, Penrith or Brookvale into the inner stadiums is a positive is madness.

seanoff

why are you taking a f**king tram. the MCG basically has 2 train stations. Richomd and Jolimont walk out of stadium to train station and catch appropriate train. do you like trams?

you could take 20 mins off your time to dandenong if you got over your love of trams and WTF are you doing on a bus? getting bored with the train and got off at noble park for a change of scenery.