Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ricky Stuart quits Parramatta Eels for Canberra Raiders job

parra pete

Pete has changed clubs twice because they have no loyalty.

Albanis Morissette would har a field day with that.

Not changed Clubs....just couldn't give a rats arse about the NRL any more
I admire the Eels fans who have stuck thick and thin. I was a FANATIC also, for a long long time..but when Clubs treat fans like 'mugs' it is time to think..
"Are these clowns worth putting my cash into?" "Is it worth the stress you go through following a team?"
I USED to think it was, the BE ALL, END ALL. Everytime the side lost I took it as a slap in the face as if it was "my fault" - when really I could do nothing about it.
Since I have 'rid' myself of the fanaticism I can enjoy any NRL match MORE..Winning or losing means SFA.
I can appreciate the skills of blokes like Inglis, the Burgess boys, Cameron Smith, Billy Slater, Cooper Cronk, Jarryd Hayne, Johnathon Thurston, without thinking - YOU BASTARDS - and meaning it.
Life is beautiful...take time to smell the roses.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySQlU3hussQ

Wasn't it the guy who did 'Sing Hallelujah'?

l_cf3a8449.jpg

That's Dr to you mofo.

You should hope that he stays so he can honour a contract --- or is that too much to expect these days?

Ahhh...here's Pete again with the same point. How many players / coaches do you actually think are not honouring their contracts? In many of the cases bandied about recently (e.g Ferguson), people are simply exercising a right specified in their contract. If somebody exercise their right terminate a right to terminate a contract according to the agreed terms, how is that not honouring the contract? Firing a coach mid-contract is done in accordance with the terms of their contract.....you either pay them out the balance, or whatever is specifically included in the agreed deal.

It's not about 'these days'....some players/coaches/business people/ random toerags have tried to get out of the agreements that they've made since immemorial. The 'good old days' of the occasional hand shake deal had more than a little to do with the fact that the people involved had other sources of income, and the $$ available for footy were relatively modest.

Eelogical

I presume Pete is just making the point that contracts don't seem to be worth the paper they are written on these days. More concerning is the lack of loyalty shown by those who signed the contract in the first place.....and their desire to do a complete 180 when it suits them. Cry babies who use the excuse that they want to go back home so they get out of a contract to earn more money elsewhere is just one example IMO. It just seems to be more prevalent these days in the NRL. Tell me if I am wrong, Pete.

Fair dos. How many times do you reckon this happens, as a rough proportion of the number of contracts agreed? The vast majority of contracts are honoured in full......the fact that a couple of blokes either a) exercise a right that they actually had inserted in the contract or b) try to wiggle out what they agreed for decent or other reasons hardly constitutes evidence that contracts aren't worth the paper they are written on.

I realise that Pete's partly upset that his mate got sacked by the Raiders, and I'm not knocking loyalty to one's mates.

they interviewed him and he said he'd decide at the end of the season

obviously he's not committed to Parra saying that
I'll concede it didnt look good. He was more forthright after the Storm game - "I've got a job to do here". And Fordham flat out denied the rumour, as did the Raiders board.

That said, the club has handled this with the aplomb of a blind epileptic steering the QEII through the Panama Canal. Sharpie should have said a week ago "We will not grant Sticky a release". Dead and buried. Emphasised with a tagline "Canberra can get f*ked after screwing us over Papali. If they want Sticky - we want Papali AND Campo for compensation".

By being pissweak in his response, Sharpe has shown neithr the desire or ability to charter the club into stable waters. Really, despite 4 years of bickering, bitchiness, backstabbing, blame and bullshit, who cares who is on the board. I'd be happy with a board consisting of Khoder Nasser, Rolf Harris, Justin Bieber, Wati Holmwood, Humphrey B Bear and Otto the soccer octopus from Munich, if they brought stability to the club.

There is one thing I'll give Sticky. He is the coach best placed to deal with having a board full of dysfunctional neurotic geniuss. He is the one coach bar probably Wayne Bennett who is equally adept at standing up to players AND administrators. Kearney was a deer in the headlights. Ando didnt have the balls to put it back onto the board. Hagan looks like he'd be happy at a party drinking cordial and playing with his own snot. Smithy had the look of an angry pensioner complaining about the head on his schooner at the bowling club.

Sticky would inly ever be a success because he stood up to the board's bullshit. I think this is what's happening now.

That said, I'd love a link to ANYWHERE from a player confirming Sticky has told them he'd stay.

I'll concede it didnt look good. He was more forthright after the Storm game - "I've got a job to do here". And Fordham flat out denied the rumour, as did the Raiders board.

That said, the club has handled this with the aplomb of a blind epileptic steering the QEII through the Panama Canal. Sharpie should have said a week ago "We will not grant Sticky a release". Dead and buried. Emphasised with a tagline "Canberra can get f*ked after screwing us over Papali. If they want Sticky - we want Papali AND Campo for compensation".

Your post assumes that the club have to grant Sticky a release for him to leave. What you haven't considered is the possibility that there are release clauses in his contract that allow him to go if certain conditions are/aren't met. Maybe there are no such clauses, but the way the Board have gone about this suggests to me that there is a credible chance that they do exist.

I'd be happy with a board consisting of Khoder Nasser, Rolf Harris, Justin Bieber, Wati Holmwood, Humphrey B Bear and Otto the soccer octopus from Munich, if they brought stability to the club.

I would love to be at one of their board meetings.

Joely01

By being pissweak in his response, Sharpe has shown neithr the desire or ability to charter the club into stable waters. Really, despite 4 years of bickering, bitchiness, backstabbing, blame and bullshit, who cares who is on the board. I'd be happy with a board consisting of Khoder Nasser, Rolf Harris, Justin Bieber, Wati Holmwood, Humphrey B Bear and Otto the soccer octopus from Munich, if they brought stability to the club.

There is one thing I'll give Sticky. He is the coach best placed to deal with having a board full of dysfunctional neurotic geniuss. He is the one coach bar probably Wayne Bennett who is equally adept at standing up to players AND administrators. Kearney was a deer in the headlights. Ando didnt have the balls to put it back onto the board. Hagan looks like he'd be happy at a party drinking cordial and playing with his own snot. Smithy had the look of an angry pensioner complaining about the head on his schooner at the bowling club.

Sticky would inly ever be a success because he stood up to the board's bullshit. I think this is what's happening now.

That said, I'd love a link to ANYWHERE from a player confirming Sticky has told them he'd stay.

Hayne said it a couple days ago (can't be bothered finding a link)
And Paulo said it last night.

Both said that Ricky pulled the playing group together to tell them that he was dedicated to the job.