Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Other sports are laughing at us

Flapper

You pretty much nailed it in your first response to El.

unfortunately it's because of lame brain muppets like him who buy their foxtel subscriptions, never bother to attend games and run their hard-earned through the pokies and Tom Waterhouse, that the Wankers who run the NRL never have to worry, despite the fact that the AFL shits all over us in crowd attendance.

What rubbish. You lambast people who say that people are complaining aren't true fans, then you say that only the true fans are complaining and if you're happy with how things are you're just a lame brain muppet and a wanker. What complete horseshit.

Card Shark

Mistakes are going to be made, even video ones, we're human, it'll happen on occasions. IMO, NRL refs are the best in the world, I've watched lots of other sports/games, and I think we have the best. Shane Hayne picks things up that I probably wouldn't, he's good.

Agree, refs cop way to much crap. It's a very tough job, they are human & make mistakes. They have hundreds, perhaps thousands of decisions to make per game.

Players make lots of mistakes so refs can't be lambasted for doing the same.

You pretty much nailed it in your first response to El.

unfortunately it's because of lame brain muppets like him who buy their foxtel subscriptions, never bother to attend games and run their hard-earned through the pokies and Tom Waterhouse, that the Wankers who run the NRL never have to worry, despite the fact that the AFL shits all over us in crowd attendance.
Tell us all how no AFL fan has a Foxtel susbscription. While you are there, explain how AFL clubs are not funded by poker machines.

And WTF does AFL crowds have to do with it? Do you reckon their pathetic meat inspectors and their stupid taxi-the-747 routine are immune from mistakes?

If I find that there's something wrong with this game, instead of acknowledgeing it and bringing it to the attention of other supporters, I should stick my head in the sand like every other muppet and loudly proclaim that it's the best game ever and anyone who thinks different should f*ck off and follow another code.

:roll:
Thank God for the internet. If not for your enlightening post, no one would have known about the refereeing mistakes in last nights game. Then again, you reckon it is destroying the code. Therefore, if no one knew, why do you and a few other miserable twats have to tell us, and therefore ruin the code?

Just f*ck off back to AFL, and take Dogs Twat with you. There you two can celebrate how AFL shafted Canterbury out of home games twice you brainless douche!!!

Mr Spock!

I watch AFL. Their umpires make mistakes all the time.

They don't have time to dwell on it.

The Swans signing of Buddy Franklin is a laughing stock.

Did anyone watch the Ashes? Cricket is a laughing stock.

Pig Champion

I'm a sharkies fan, most people with me at the local bowlo were likewise, and the general consensus was how good the game was.

A few points:

• One dubious try each. All square
  • Roosters cant complain too much - Aubusson didnt get binned.
  • Thank f*ck North Queensland didnt make the grand final!!!!!!!

supercharger

Because of the farcical state of our refereeing. Discuss

Bad officiating is a factor in all sports from baseball and basketball to football-college, NFL and CFL
through to cricket, hockey, tennis, soccer, and so on. don't get me started on the likes of figure skating and boxing
Sure we have our fair share of blown calls and bad referees in rugby league but I don't think you could call their integrity into question, can't say the same thing about officials in some other sports though

***MH***

Bad officiating is a factor in all sports from baseball and basketball to football-college, NFL and CFL
through to cricket, hockey, tennis, soccer, and so on. don't get me started on the likes of figure skating and boxing
Sure we have our fair share of blown calls and bad referees in rugby league but I don't think you could call their integrity into question, can't say the same thing about officials in some other sports though

Also take note that there is far more running for a League referee than any other sport. Not only does he have to keep up with play, but he's required to set the 10 for each play. And heaven help him when there is an intercept or a line break and he needs to be there to call a forward pass or a knock on.

Have you ever had to make a decision whilst having to sprint to follow the play?

Canard

Also take note that there is far more running for a League referee than any other sport. Not only does he have to keep up with play, but he's required to set the 10 for each play. And heaven help him when there is an intercept or a line break and he needs to be there to call a forward pass or a knock on.

Have you ever had to make a decision whilst having to sprint to follow the play?

Tried to explain that to another guy in a thread, who wanted our referees to carry flags (NFL style) to throw during the play.

Can you imagine sprinting at 100 miles an hour after an intercept, having to reach into your pocket pull out a "Flag" and throw it.

In general NFL referres are fat 50 year olds whose only running is to get to the hot dog stand after the match.

Frailty

Referees and umpires in all sports are criticised. Soccer and cricket amongst the most.

Garbler

This.

The integrity of the refs is more important than their performance.

Apparently in the NBA, coaches have refs mobile numbers. I prefer the combative relationship NRL coaches have with refs ( unless that is all for show :? )

Check out all the "NBA is rigged" youtube videos... Think the NRL could be a lot worse...

supercharger

Rugby league would certainly be right up there amongst the most difficult sports to officiate
I would say that Hockey is the most difficult, basketball is right up there as well. So to baseball, home plate and 2nd base
and football both three down and four down versions.

supercharger

Referees and umpires in all sports are criticised. Soccer and cricket amongst the most.

Aloha to that brother. I think Jason Gregor summed it up pretty well in the Edmonton journal

EDMONTON - Fans of sports which use officials, referees or umpires to ensure fair play have one thing in common ? you feel the referee has wronged your team.

At some point in your career as a fan, you?ve yelled at an official, screamed at your television, ?brutal call,? or stood around the water cooler lamenting at how an official cost your team the game.

Usually, fans see the officials through biased eyes. You won?t complain about a call if it goes in your favour. It is human nature, and I doubt it will ever change, but what has changed is the how officials in sports are evaluated.

If a player or coach makes a bad play, the media can ask them about it after the game and the fans get a sense of closure. The player or coach explains why they made that choice, and regardless of whether we agree with it, at least you heard or read their point of view.

However, referees don?t talk to the media, which leads many to feel that there is no accountability for their actions.

That isn?t the case.
http://www.edmontonjournal.com/spor...utinized+critiqued+believe/8748372/story.html