Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2014 Parramatta Eels Season Preview

spiderdan

I don't think it's the kind of thing most of the punters want to read.

Plenty of merkins just want to have a few beers and watch the footy. They don't want to think about it.

#EliteBogan
agree. plenty of league fans think it's just mongrel that wins. same as tommy. seems to be lots of raudoniki following league that don't seem to get that while it is a fundamentally simple game there's more to it when you break it down.

With the nature of the salary cap, plus injuries and other off field shit, I think predictions are unreliable (outside a handful of clubs at the top).

I'm tipping 5th - 16th. Same as half a dozen other clubs.

How would you rate you're own sentence, if you wanted to be harsh?

Well, I probably should have used quite instead of pretty but it's only a post so that probably doesn't matter. Apart from that, it's fine.

Also, *your.

The content of the preview was decent but the structure of the preview as a whole was poor as well as individual sentences and sections. You can immediately tell it's the work of someone who has no craft but thinks they do.

Without knowing it was Pou's work, I immediately chuckled at another "website writer" who probably thinks he's cool because it was an "article" that got posted somewhere. The match-related stuff that gets put up here is generally quite poor and I just thought it was just another example from one of the regulars (I don't know who they are because I rarely get to the end due to the poor quality of the piece).

Look, I wasn't being a prick, just pointing out one of the things that I immediately notice about anything that is written. Prose is my strong point and structure is something that comes naturally to me so I almost always focus on that just as much as content.

The content is fine. Despite the fact that Pou is a wanker and talks extreme amounts of shit to justify his massive ego, it's not as if he knows nothing about rugby league. His writing skills are simply average, at best.

Well, I probably should have used quite instead of pretty but it's only a post so that probably doesn't matter. Apart from that, it's fine.

Also, *your.

The content of the preview was decent but the structure of the preview as a whole was poor as well as individual sentences and sections. You can immediately tell it's the work of someone who has no craft but thinks they do.

Without knowing it was Pou's work, I immediately chuckled at another "website writer" who probably thinks he's cool because it was an "article" that got posted somewhere. The match-related stuff that gets put up here is generally quite poor and I just thought it was just another example from one of the regulars (I don't know who they are because I rarely get to the end due to the poor quality of the piece).

Look, I wasn't being a prick, just pointing out one of the things that I immediately notice about anything that is written. Prose is my strong point and structure is something that comes naturally to me so I almost always focus on that just as much as content.

The content is fine. Despite the fact that Pou is a wanker and talks extreme amounts of shit to justify his massive ego, it's not as if he knows nothing about rugby league. His writing skills are simply average, at best.

Well mate, I am actually published (trade journal), and I write fiction as a hobby (unpublished, but with a few unpaid 'credits'). I also get paid to write in my job, so I know a little bit about writing.

I too cringe at plenty of sports writing, even by sports 'journos' in major newspapers. As for this piece, in hindsight a couple of things pop out at me as weak - mostly stylistic bits like 'individual brilliance' to start successive paragraphs, 'impressive' and 'impressed' in the same sentence, and so on. But I was writing to a deadline and didn't do the majority of it until the last minute. You should have seen it before my final edit. Ugly.

Anyway, plenty of laymen think I am a brilliant writer (they're wrong) but you're the first person ever to outright say I have poor writing skills (you're probably wrong too).

As for structure coming 'naturally' to you, this isn't fiction you deadshit. It's a preview, and I was stuck with the format I was given.

Anyway, it's easy to criticise without providing any fixes. You sound like just another jealous loser that wishes he had done more with his life. It's impossible to not sound like a wanker when you're writing about something on which every merkin has an opinion. Just as you'll sound like a wanker when you write next year's preview. androtrop.

lingard

Also, *your.

Nah, you've got it arse about. He knows f**k all about Rugby League, but he's a bloody good writer. You're a pretty good writer - when you bother. I should know, I'm a better writer than either of you. (I, too, know f**k all about Rugby League; but I know the bits you two don't.)

next years preview is all your's HJ

For starters, it would be good if he addressed our best player as a man. Don't forget HJ still thinks that Luke Burt was a better fullback than Jarryd Hayne. I'll also never forget the time he didn't vote for him and admit that he was the best player on the field when he had that amazing run in 2009. But hey that's our Jarley riding poet for you.

Ignorant merkin. :p