Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Balmain might have to get over it and Move On ?

Pugzley

Magpies supporters of Wests Tigers, what would you say if the jv failed and Wests Magpies stood alone?

Well if Wests Ashfield are paying full freight,then that would be fine,but you have to think of the young kids who only ever know the Weststigers club,not Balmain and not Wests.
It's a hard one,but you would think that the Magpies would want a whole lot more to pay another 50% stake,and rightly so,so long as they look after the juniors it could work.

RedVee

when manly took over their joint venture they ran it how they wanted

dont see why wests should be any different.

the NRL needs a team out of campbelltown. theres no teams at all out there
At the commencement of the JVs the licence was given to one of the clubs involved in each of those JVs. I think based on the dreaded criteria points.
So, Manly always knew that if the Northern Eagles failed the licence would revert to them. I think that St George and Balmain (though not sure on that one) were in the same situation.

There has been another licence issued since then so that may not be still the case.

magpie4ever

It would sad to see the Balmain tigers disappear, but as in the case of the northern eagles, when the bears went belly up - manly sea eagles where given the NRL licence. If this happened to Balmain and Wests magpies decided to accept 100% of the NRL licence. So, be it.

I know hundreds of Magpie supporters that would return to the fold.

thorson1987

It would sad to see the Balmain tigers disappear, but as in the case of the northern eagles, when the bears went belly up - manly sea eagles where given the NRL licence. If this happened to Balmain and Wests magpies decided to accept 100% of the NRL licence. So, be it.

And they would lose a hell of a lot more Tigers fans than the Magpie fans they would gain

magpie4ever

And they would lose a hell of a lot more Tigers fans than the Magpie fans they would gain

That is not the fault of Western Suburbs, they didn't arrange for Balmain to get into the situation they are in.

If Balmain go belly up and the NRL state that they must remain the Wests Tigers than Wests leagues would say obviously say - well if the Tiger logo remains with no financial input from Balmain than the Wests logo remains with no financial input from us. WTs (and the NRL) would have a black hole of approximately $4 million per annum.

BuffaloRules

That is not the fault of Western Suburbs, they didn't arrange for Balmain to get into the situation they are in.

If Balmain go belly up and the NRL state that they must remain the Wests Tigers than Wests leagues would say obviously say - well if the Tiger logo remains with no financial input from Balmain than the Wests logo remains with no financial input from us. WTs (and the NRL) would have a black hole of approximately $4 million per annum.

How much does Wests Ashfield put in a year?

Does old man Meriton put in more via his sponsorship?

Not sure he will be keen on the name change.

magpie4ever

How much does Wests Ashfield put in a year?

Does old man Meriton put in more via his sponsorship?

Not sure he will be keen on the name change.

I believe Balmain and Wests should put in around 2 mill each. Wests covered the shortfall until the NRL stepped in, paid Wests what they were owed, covered Balmain financials for 2 years.

Don't know what Harry T puts in.

BuffaloRules

I believe Balmain and Wests should put in around 2 mill each. Wests covered the shortfall until the NRL stepped in, paid Wests what they were owed, covered Balmain financials for 2 years.

Don't know what Harry T puts in.

The agreement is not for each side to put in 2 mil per year though is it?

I thought it was $500K per annum from the three clubs.

Of course Wests Campbelltown have stopped funding as well.

Staunch lot eh?
Just what we need, more fairweather goodtimers

Parra

Staunch lot eh?
Just what we need, more fairweather goodtimers

It is not about being staunch. They were shat on. Along with Bears fans & Illawarra fans.

Souths is a natural home for these fans who were cast off.

Fairweather clubs and administrators are to blame. Not the fans.

The clubs are the game.

Was in Ashfield this afternoon.

Heaps of come play footy for Ashfield Magpies banners.

AFL that is. Using the WS magpies logo and all.

It is not about being staunch. They were shat on. Along with Bears fans & Illawarra fans.

Souths is a natural home for these fans who were cast off.

Fairweather clubs and administrators are to blame. Not the fans.

The clubs are the game.

Yup. From one shithouse no-hoper club to another. Easy enough transition.

Magpies fans who think they would last 5 years standing alone in the NRL are off with the fairies.

magpie4ever

Yup. From one shithouse no-hoper club to another. Easy enough transition.

Magpies fans who think they would last 5 years standing alone in the NRL are off with the fairies.

What in the eastern suburbs.:lol:

We all know, up until recently Easts would count legs and arms and give that as a crowd figure. I wouldn't argue fan base if I was a chooks supporter.

If the west tigers no longer become a viable club put the license up for tender and let the magpies enter the bidding with Perth, Wellington, Brisbane, CQ and Gosford.

Probably shows the perilous state of some clubs still that even after the massive NRL grant increase they are still reliant on leagues clubs.

My money would be on benny elias,he has connections over here he's good mates with tony sage who owns the Perth glory and they are both on the board of a mining company and sage was lobbying to get cronulla to relocate when their dramas unfolded last year also elias gas been on TV over here championing the cause for a team over here so he would be the likely suspect!

pHyR3

the magpie is on the NRL jersey, you guys know that right?

small one on the left (i think) shoulder