Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can a player who slips out of the NRL come back?

DiegoNT

I do remember the dark days when Souths got Craig Stapleton back from the mines (and Illawarra A Grade). J Lowe was released in 2009 and signed again in 2010 from Qld Cup

Souths from 2002-2009 would have a shed load of these stories

stuke

A bit old but Bill Peden was trundling away for the Cessnock Goannas in the Newcastle comp for a few years before he got the opportunity with the Knights.

roofromoz

The story of Ben McFadgean, who played 1 NRL match for Penrith in 2009...

PENRITH debutant Ben McFadgean may have big shoes to fill tonight, but he spent the week more concerned about finding a pair to call his own. In an incredible rags-to-riches tale, McFadgean has graduated to first grade on borrowed footy boots because he couldn't afford new ones, let alone a meal more nutritious than a tin of tuna.

Having spent the majority of this year playing for next to nothing, McFadgean has relied on good mate and Panthers fullback Jarrod Sammut to carry him to an NRL start against South Sydney at ANZ Stadium.

"I've been playing in a pair of boots Jarrod Sammut lent me," the 23-year-old winger revealed.

"I couldn't afford new ones. I had to go to Jarrod's place and borrow his. The funny thing is that although he's a small fellow, they are still too big."

On the eve of his biggest-ever game, McFadgean yesterday visited the X-Blades warehouse to collect a brand new pair for himself.

They came as a bonus for earning his spot in first grade - a chance the once-troubled local junior feared he had squandered while banished to park football 12 months ago.

McFadgean grew up in Lethbridge Park, a Housing Commission suburb near Mt Druitt he calls "The Bronx".

Its vices got the better of him and cruelled a promising junior rep career at Penrith, where he starred alongside NSW Origin half Peter Wallace.

Last year McFadgean was given a second chance at Gold Coast's feeder side Ipswich Jets - and that almost ended in tragedy.

"I was going pretty well and (Titans coach) John Cartwright reckoned I was close to playing first grade," he said.

"Then I got injured and went out on the drink to drown my sorrows.

"I stupidly decided to drive home and the cops were on my tail. I was so dumb that I tried to outrun them and crashed my mate's car. That was the low point, that's when I realised I had to change."

With all his credits exhausted, McFadgean returned home midway through last year and accepted a breadline deal with Penrith to keep his NRL dream alive.

"I signed on for $5000 a season, but because I didn't have a manager to take me through the contract I didn't realise there were no match payments," he said.

"I was basically living on $414 a month after tax. I would have been better off on the dole. I did think about going to Centrelink but I had too much pride. I got a job labouring with a mate's dad but the work was pretty infrequent with full-time training over summer.

"It was tough. I had to crash with my brothers. Luckily one of them is a twin so I could wear his clothes. I couldn't go out - you need money to buy a counter lunch or a beer. I ate tins of tuna and hot chips because they were so cheap. It felt like I lost touch with my mates because I couldn't afford to socialise."

Making matters worse was the fact NSW Cup feeder team Windsor Wolves didn't pay for losses - and the team won just twice in the opening 12 weeks. But McFadgean is now the third Wolves player to climb into Penrith's team, joining fellow rookie flanker Junior Tia Kilifi and reborn halfback Luke Walsh.

"I signed a new contract last week," he added. "It's not much but I get $500 a week now and $2000 for playing first grade.

"That means so much to me because I can pay back all the people who helped me through.

"And I also got to buy a pub lunch - a steak. It tasted pretty good."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...ut-boots-and-all/story-e6frfgef-1225747963254

MattJ

2 examples come to mind for me

Garth Wood debuted and played a handful of games for Souths in 1st grade in 97-98, before playing a year at Balmain in 99. He then disappeared for a few years (not sure what he did) and played first grade at Souths again in 04-05.

Danny Wicks was Playing at Newcastle in 2009, Played for Grafton during his trial, went to Prison for a stint then played NRL level again this year for Parra.

redvscotty

275296-reece-simmons.jpg

An Eagle Vale St Andrews junior, Simmonds worked as a greyhound handler[2] before he made his debut with St George Illawarra in the opening round of the 2002 season. He played 14 games at fullback in 2002 and 2003.
2004 was Simmonds best year. Switching to winger he made 23 appearances and scored 14 tries.[1] However, the next two seasons with the Dragons were less successful.
In 2007, Simmonds joined the South Sydney Rabbitohs in the National Rugby League competition, but played in just 7 games that season.
From 2008 to 2010, Simmonds worked as a coal-miner and played in the lower-tier based rugby league competitions, with Collegians in Wollongong and Wests Illawarra. He retired in 2010 after breaking his leg for a second time, but was persuaded to return to playing, winning a local premiership for Wests.[3] He was also captain of Illawarra Division in the NSW CRL Championships.[4]
In 2011, Simmonds was called into the Dragons' NRL team to help compensate for nine players out due to injuries and origin commitments. He returned to retirement at the end of the season to coach the Wests Red Devils in the Illawarra League.[5]

Ojlovednicole

One thing I've noticed is all these players were big names. Biggish names I should say.

I wonder if any nuffbags have pulled of a Cashmere/Utai/Simmonds?

zero to hero, rags to riches etc

redvscotty

One thing I've noticed is all these players were big names. Biggish names I should say.

I wonder if any nuffbags have pulled of a Cashmere/Utai/Simmonds?

zero to hero, rags to riches etc

David Williams only got wraps because he had a beard... does that count?

Ojlovednicole

Williams was great at the turn of the decade.
2008-2010.

Thats why he played for OZ.

However for the last 4 years he hqasnt been genuine first grade but is still playing in the system.

That is due to the beard.

bryan fletcher quit too early on as well. story goes phil gould ran across him at a late night kebab stand and talked him into having another go. was a rep player very soon after coming back

I'm pretty sure the story was he was going to sign with Balmain the next day, however bumped into Gould who told him he was still wanted at the roosters and not to leave his junior club etc.

What about raiders legend Matt Gafa? Wasn't he like a superstar prodigy, may have played a couple of first grade games. Then went off and was like the groundsman or something? Returned through park footy to their nsw cup side. Got all the wraps and talk up as usual from raiders fans, made it back to first grade and was really, really shit.

sensesmaybenumbed

What about raiders legend Matt Gafa? Wasn't he like a superstar prodigy, may have played a couple of first grade games. Then went off and was like the groundsman or something? Returned through park footy to their nsw cup side. Got all the wraps and talk up as usual from raiders fans, made it back to first grade and was really, really shit.

Can he play 5/8th?

David Fifita was so far off the pace in the Wests Tigers under 20s he spent the entire season playing for Dundas Shamrocks U/21s

Ojlovednicole

David Fifita was so far off the pace in the Wests Tigers under 20s he spent the entire season playing for Dundas Shamrocks U/21s

Dundas Shamrocks!
Scotty Palmer! Stanley Waqa! woo.

Love going down to Shamrocks games at the st pats schools vast footy grounds.

Has a scientology temple out the back too, if you just want to unwind and be at one on a sunday afrernoon.

Burwood

Arana Taumata could be an addition sometime in the next 6 months. Currently playing for Souths in the Real NRL and looking to pick up a contract with Newcastle sometime down the track.