Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'10 | R21 | Sat | Eels 12-48 Roosters | Parramatta

Result: Eels v Roosters

Tommy Smith

so I take it by the comments by some chooks fans that they should be us about 12? fair to say?...

no wories.
Which comments are you referring to - these?

lol...

Luke Burt - Point scorer.

Timana Tahu - intimidator

Poore / Cayless / Moimoi / Mannah - best front row rotation in the game

Ben Smith - most improved backrower in the game

Nathan Hindmarsh - say no more.

so put Hayne aside, it's not a bad outfit.

Oh wait a sec, that was you...

Tommy Smith

What happened? Injured from Monday's game?
JWH apparently injured his calf; not sure about Mose yet. Still looking for the details...

Without those two, but more importantly on the short turn-around from Monday night and with the Eels being at home and also being the refs favourite team, coupled with us evidently being their most hated team in recent weeks, i have a feeling we'll get done by 10-12 points this week...

But at the very least expect the penalty count to be in the vacinity of 12-3 in favour of the Eels.

dragondad

JWH apparently injured his calf; not sure about Mose yet. Still looking for the details...

Without those two, but more importantly on the short turn-around from Monday night and with the Eels being at home and also being the refs favourite team, coupled with us evidently being their most hated team in recent weeks, i have a feeling we'll get done by 10-12 points this week...

But at the very least expect the penalty count to be in the vacinity of 12-3 in favour of the Eels.

The fact that every week you are on the wrong side of the penalty count doesn't smell of illdiscipline?

SDM

The fact that every week you are on the wrong side of the penalty count doesn't smell of illdiscipline?

No the refs are picking on them.

And Parra dont have good props, the refs just gift them the ruck.

Tom Ace

Think it's a lower back injury

Perhaps. But the fact remains that we've also received the least penalties by far. Other teams become magically more disciplined against us do they?

Which comments are you referring to - these?

Oh wait a sec, that was you...

as opposed to...

Haha yeah...tbh I don't rate most of the players he mentioned. Some decent players but other than Moi Moi not exactly striking fear into opponents. I certainly rate our forward pack over theirs. Parra does not have the best prop rotation in the comp.

mehhhhhhhhhhh

As for Ben Smith being the most improved backrower in the game - tell him to wave to Frank Paul the Wrecking Ball on Saturday when he's getting run over by him!

Shame about the halves and hooker...

Masoe and Waerea-Hargreaves are both massive losses for this game. Both big boppas that can more than match it with the likes of Moi Moi.

But Myles is back to offset their loss...

I think you guys are the ones pulling you're own dicks about your own performance, as I said you should win by about 12...fine by us.

CMUX

Partly. When I had a look at the stats a couple of weeks back we were about 5th worst for penalties conceded with teams like dragons and panthers conceding more. However we easily have the lowest amount awarded to us while the dragons had the most....

I Agree with Adam.. Teams must really make a point of being disciplined against the roosters… :sarcasm:

SDM

Perhaps. But the fact remains that we've also received the least penalties by far. Other teams become magically more disciplined against us do they?

Penalty counts come down to ruck dominance, Rooters have none.
You blokes cant win the ruck, so you dont get penalties with the ball, and you give them away in defence.

Other teams dont become more disciplined, they just get a chance to dominate for a change.

CMUX

Penalty counts come down to ruck dominance, Rooters have none.
You blokes cant win the ruck, so you dont get penalties with the ball, and you give them away in defence.

Other teams dont become more disciplined, they just get a chance to dominate for a change.

Oh of course, how could we be so ignorant?

Its not as if we beat the opposition nearly every week in metres gained…. It must be the forward pack’s fault, they cant dominate anybody…. It’s a wonder how we ever win a match

What next?? Is it the backs fault that the video ref makes crap decisions every week?

Tommy Smith

Fact is, if we receive more than 5 penalties in a game it's a minor miracle.

For the Dragons and Eels its common practice.

But yeah, its "ruck dominance". And apparently we dont know what that is, which is quite remarkable for a 3rd placed side given its the most important aspect of winning a game!

CMUX

So you blokes are the roosters version of Skeepe. Got it.

No Skeepe would have Canberra win every penalty count 25-0… with 22 penalties being awarded for every hit up Alan Tongue takes. I hate penalties and wish there were less of them and I usually don’t bag refs but these are the facts:

Fact 1 – Roosters get penalised more than most teams à possible ill discipline

Fact 2 – The roosters receive less penalties than every other side and have won something like 10% of penalty counts over the last 3 seasons with our game winning rate at a guess being 40-45% à must be the forward packs fault because they cant “dominate” anybody apparently

Fact 3 – over the last 3 weeks the referees have directly cost us 3 tries and allowed 2 tries for the opposition. That is 30 points in 3 games due to decisions that were plain wrong.

Those are facts, not bias interpretations’ of events. Then Robert Finch has the audacity to say he is “comfortable” with the Nick Kenny try on Monday night.

So forgive me for being a little upset at the recent standard of refereeing, I will continue to whinge until this deplorable standard is lifted.

dragondad

Maybe if Easts had their own referees association they wouldn't have a problem!

Two of the best came through Easts, Tony Archer and Kevin Roberts, and now with no comp in the area aspiring referees are forced to join either Souths, Balmain or North Sydney.

Refereeing incompetence aside, I'm more wirried about this game than I was the Broncos. Monday night turnaround, some injury worries, and the task of derailing the Haynetrain. If I was neutral this would be a coin toss tip.

Tommy Smith

Hayne doesn't particularly worry more. It's more the short turnaround.

The last time we were being talked up as contenders and also had reason to be drained from back-to-back gruelling footy games was in Rnd 3; and we got 60 put on us then.

So if we lose this one i reckon we'll lose it well unfortunately.

JT_

Basically it is the short turn around that is worrying, the wet weather will hopefully neutralise Hayne's effectiveness and our kickers will probably look to find touch like the Storm did when they shut Hayne down earlier this year. If we can attack as well as we did for the majority that we did against the Warriors where it was very wet, we can take the points.

Masoe and JWH have been solid for us so they will be missed but hopefully Kennedy can put a good shift in.