Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'13 | 1st EF | Sat 4pm | Sharks 20-18 Cowboys | Allianz

1st Elimination Final: Sharks v Cowboys

Obviously the 7th tackle try was disgusting but the cowboys had every chance to still win, and really should have.

Tera

Be interested to see the stats, but my feeling was the Sharks were actually the better side. One blatantly incorrect try awarded early in the game doesn't make it the most undeserved win of all time or anything.

Well, they wouldn't have won without it.

SaraSassypants

Haha 7th tackle try. Does this mean refs rigged it for Sharks to win or does that only work when it's Souffs? Entertaining game feel sorry for Cowboys fans especially considering they dropped out last year via a controversial try too.

Noa

On the brightside for the Cowboys you can start a new era with Brad Arthur as your coach

DJShaksta

I doubt Sharks fans will care.

Frankly, it's an utter shame the discussion will be about officials rather than the game, which was a good one. Great atmosphere too.

Jason, it's not that we don't care mate. I care, cos its a blight on our game.
I would be pissed if I was a Cowboys player or fan right now. This has happened to the Sharks more times than I can count.

AlwaysGreen

Indeed. He eats that try for breakfast during the regular season. Treated the ball with too much care and it cost him, most times he'd be airborne planting it in the corner. Not this time, wanted to secure the ball and stayed low to protect the footy

A specialist winger would have scored it. Winger is the most underrated position on the field.

Manu Vatuvei

Well, they wouldn't have won without it.

Without that try who knows how the game works out. Impossible to say.

A single incorrectly awarded or disallowed try in a game is unfortunately pretty common. The fact this one was more blatant doesn't mean it had any greater affect on the game.

A specialist winger would have scored it. Winger is the most underrated position on the field.

No question. Linnett will replay that in his mind 1000 times and every single option he comes up with will be better than the option he took

voltron

seriously the 7 tackle try was dumb
but you cant just blame that for the loss

it was really early in the match
you get some really dud calls go against you
tries by forward passes or whatever
you need to overcome that
and the cowboys had more than enough time to do that.

it wasnt like it happened at a time when the cowboys didnt have enough time to overcome it

but it'll be used at the excuse far more than it should be

Manu Vatuvei

it wasnt like it happened at a time when the cowboys didnt have enough time to overcome it

Way too sensible

eddiesmith

Love it, Cowboys get favoured all day and yet everyone will go back to an alleged mistake in the 7th minute...Maybe they should have made their favouritism in penalties count for more points, taking the 2 early on was probably the wrong call as well

At the end of the day the better team won, deal with it! :D

TheVelourFog

it's not as simple as saying "well take the try off them and cowboys win"

but equally you can't say "well they should have won anyway" I mean that's the whole point right? Sharks got 6 points they shouldn't have

jason taylor

Exactly, the Cowboys were never out of the match, they came back and were in front. Shit call but to say it cost them the match is a farce.

Tera

I wish we could have a single f**king game where there isn't some monumentally bad call that has a huge bearing on the result of the match.

The officiating of the NRL is an absolute joke.

eddiesmith

it's not as simple as saying "well take the try off them and cowboys win"

but equally you can't say "well they should have won anyway" I mean that's the whole point right? Sharks got 6 points they shouldn't have
Hell Sharks could have scored from that play anyway if the ref called 5th tackle the tackle before, you will never know

Unlike when a team actually scores 2 tries and both are incorrectly taken off them...

Manu Vatuvei

Does anyone actually reckon the Cowboys dominated that game?

The real stitch-ups are when a succession of poor decisions at timely moments dictate the momentum of a game. Wasn't the case here.

TheVelourFog

Hell Sharks could have scored from that play anyway if the ref called 5th tackle the tackle before, you will never know

Unlike when a team actually scores 2 tries and both are incorrectly taken off them...

yeah, we will never know

still leaves a bad taste in the mouth

good game though