Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2003 Premier League Parkis Analysis

Parki

Havent been able to see many games this year, except the games in first grade that I have been to, but im going to try sum up our year in premier league...here goes

This year, has been dissappointing, though I blame the nswrl/nrl. In cutting flegg they forced the board to make a lot of decisions and in doing so made our premier league side a very young and inexperienced one. This showed in early season form, as we tried our best but after seven? (help me out here roopy) rounds we were without a win and struggling....we were never realistically in with a shot at the pl title this year as the oldest guy in our side was 26 in Dean Amos, and even he became a casualty with him going back to Wyong to play in the Real NRL. Our side has started to gel in the last few weeks with a win over high flying Canberra in abhorrent conditions, though they did fall back to earth in a 58/36 loss to Saints last weekend.

The player of the year in my opinion has to be Michael Ennis. He is a future superstar in the making and made his first grade debut against West Tigers this year, but has been carving them up in premier league. I believe that is the reason why we are getting rid of Quigley, because Ennis is younger and has proven in a side that has been outplayed for most of the year that he will be a superstar in the next 3 or 4 years. Expect to see him in the role Quigley played this year, running off the bench and causing havoc.

The biggest dissappointment of the year would have to be the game against wests at campbelltown where they allowed 72 points to be scored against them, a real career lowlight for most of the young blokes in the side i would imagine. But young is the key word, they have plenty of time in their future careers to forget that one.

Overall I would say that PL this year has been dissappointing, but the indications are there that we have the talent and the potential for future success in years to come. Dane Tilse is another bloke who was forced up from the demise of flegg, and you can see when he runs the ball up that he too will be a champion of the future. Michael Young looks solid at fullback and with more experience, and a strong off season might see him get rid of those gridiron style shoulder pads. With a bit of bulk, Young could quite easily develop into a future Adam Mcdougall. He seems to have the confidence, just not the physical attributes required for him not to get smashed every time he runs the ball back.

roopy

I would agree with all you say, but I would add that we had what was both a good and bad thing in that the injury toll in firstgrade meant that many 20 year old forwards had to step up to firstgrade while they were still finding their feet in Premier League.

It was bad because we had to replace the 20 yo guys in Premier League with 19 and 18 year olds, which gave us no hope of winning, but it was good because what didn't kill them made them stronger, so about 10 forwards aged from 18 to 21 played a higher grade than they otherwise would have, and they all got better and better by the game.

I read an article by David Fairleigh where he talked about how important it is for forwards to train together in the off season and to push each other. He mentioned training alone in the off season before he joined the Knights and how badly he trained. I mention that because I think our off season forward training this year will be amazing. All our big guys are ready for a big off season, and they will have guys like Matt Kennedy, Price, Lowrie, Tanner, Tolar, White, Worth, Tilse, Mueller and juniors like Snowden, Andriessen, Vuk, Ison, Wooden etc etc etc all pushing them hard.
Last off season half our big guys went off and had surgery, but Parso, Perry, Kennedy, Woolnough, Simmo etc etc are all fit and ready to train.

Whatever gym those guys go to will have to reinforce the floor or the guys will shake it to the ground.

roopy

Dean Amos - 11 games 6 tries 11 goals 46 points - Dean would not have been happy with his time at the Knights. He scored 6 tries, but his try scoring feats for the rest of his season included 19 in 10 games for Wyong and 3 for the London Broncos in a trial game as well as a bag full of tries for Country in the tour of England during the off season. Dean helped settle the young players in the side after they had had a very poor start to the season.

Matthew Bartlett 19 games 2 tries 8 points - Bartlett is a young second row forward who is very mobile and has a high workrate. He has forced his way into the starting side this season and has been preferred over guys like Jaques etc who are older and more experienced. He looks to be a guy on the rise and could play some firstgrade next season.

Todd Bates 14 games 4 tries 23 goals 62 points - Bates started his career at the Knights but went to Parra for a few years where he became captain of NSW u17 among other honours, but he was cut by Parra and given a chance by the Knights. He must have impressed during off season training because he started the season in firstgrade, but has slowly dropped down the rankings to become a bench player in Premier League now. He is a fair player, but too slow and ponderous to ever make the grade I feel. I think he will be cut after this week and not be back next season.

Riley Brown 11 games 3 tries 12 points - Brown scored a heap of tries from the lock position in Flegg. He was named on the bench for NSW u19 as a forward and he debuted in Premier League as a forward, but as I used to say about him in Flegg, he picked up most of his trys by running wide at the centres, where he proved to be too big and strong for the opposition, so the coaches of Premier League have converted him into a centre over the last four games or so. His first few games as a centre he was very ordinary in defence, not moving up and taking on his man at all, but he has improved heaps and now looks a great prospect as a big, fast powerful centre, which is just what the team needs.

Michael Doggett 1 game no tries - Doggett is a powerfully built winger who played the entire Flegg season. He has a style a bit like Doogs, but obviouly needs to build up a lot before he will be ready for firstgrade. He has speed and size, he just needs to put in time in the gym to develop the power. One for the future for sure.

Luke Dureau 3 games 2 tries 8 points - Luke was my favourite player last year. The guy has an outstanding football brain and worked really well with Tyrie in the half - 5/8 combination and also worked well at fullback. I think he was dropped because he wasn't big and strong enough, but he is twice the footballer Bates is.

Michael Ennis 17 games 18 tries 1 goal 74 points - An 18 year old who spent the year moving between hooker and 5/8, but mostly hooker. A hooker scoring at better than a try a game must be a 'believe it or not' fact. Most of his tries came down to his quick thinking. He seems to pluck them out of nowhere. I honestly never see his tries coming. He just sees a gap, or a chance at a chargedown, or someone not marking up on the line, or an intercept, or whatever, and bang, four points, thankyou very much. He is slightly small, but at 18 he will grow, and I think he always fades towards the end of games, meaning he needs to get fitter or find a way to do less early in the game so he can last the full 80 minutes.
As someone said of Wally Lewis, he was the fastest player over four inches in the game (the four inches between his ears) and that is Michael's greatest asset too.

Trent Estatheo 1 game - ran on, made a tackle, ran off with his knee injury back. Try again next year.

Michael Fortier 14 games 6 tries 24 points - A busy little winger and powerful for his size and fast enough. He broke his leg two games ago and I have my doubts whether he will be back next season. The trend is for big players, and he just isn't big enough. He was good this year though.

Paul Hampson 4 games - a big prop who just seems to have been dropped for all the younger guys coming through. I liked him, but over the hill at 21.

Ben Hopper 5 games - he played early in the year and I missed seeing him play.

Chris Hunt 1 game - I missed his game, but is a good and big winger by all accounts. I think he was injured for the season, but not sure.

Mark Jaques 18 games 2 tries 8 points - A barging, bustling, inspirational lock or second rower who mostly played off the bench. 'Buddy' is 21 and must be on the fringe of being dropped, but he gives 100% and everyone likes him and wishes him well because he tries hard, especially when the chips are down. I think he should get another season because of his great attitude.

Matthew Kennedy 6 games 1 try 4 points - 21 year old prop who took his chance to move up to firstgrade.

Todd Lowrie 9 games 2 tries 3 goals 14 points - After two years of mostly sitting on the sidelines with injuries he has proven why we kept him on and made the grade in firstgrade.

Cheyne McIntyre 9 games 1 try 4 points - A chunky little lock forward. He is just too short to make the grade, but he bangs the ball up. Built like Brad Drew, but has no ball skills, just bash and barge. He was dropped halfway through the season.

Tim Maddison 5 games - Tim did nothing, then was injured.

Luke Mercer 11 games 4 tries 16 points - The player who disappointed most this year. He has size, strength, speed, skill, everything except commitment. He never looked like defending well enough this season. He just grabbed at any shirt going by and watched them pull free and run to the line. He could play firstgrade tomorrow if he would have a go in defence - a centre who was dropped about 5 games ago.

Ryan Milligan 6 games 1 try 12 goals 28 points - a very good centre/winger/fullback/goal kicker. I have no idea why we let him go. He played the early season with us, and will play against us for Newtown this weekend.

Blake Mueller 17 games 6 tries 24 points - the captain of the side. He made a couple of firstgrade appearences where he looked a bit small but very willing to work hard. In the reggies he never stops working. He made a club record 65 tackles in our amazing upset win over Canberra where we basically defended our line for most of the second half but kept the free scoring (till they met us) Canberra to zero points. Blake is 90 kg of heart, but he needs to be 100kg of heart.

Clint Newton 1 game - went to firstgrade, played well, got injured, season over.

Chris Nolan 7 games - big prop who was replaced by younger big props - over the hill at 20 is a sad story.

Andrew Price 2 games - Only played reggies to get fit after injuries.

Luke Quigley 3 games - only in reggies to stay fit.

Daniel Quinn 1 game - our captain from last season who came back for one game when we needed a prop before the Flegg season finished.

Gavin Quinn 19 games 6 tries 24 points - had a game in firstgrade. He has looked fair this year without setting the world on fire. They might keep him, or might let him go, toss a coin.

Justin Ryder 2games 2 tries 8 points - season and career ending injury early in the season. The injury might get better, but he won't be coming back.

Joshua Smith 9 games 4 tries 16 points - if he is the best back we have, sack the lot and start again.

Reegan Tanner 9 games 1 goal 2 points - has stepped up to firstgrade. He runs the ball up hard and has good skills, but he never works hard enough i reckon.

Jared Taylor 8 games 1 try 4 points - I don't know why he is still in the side. Luke Mercer could at least attack, neither of them defend too well.

Dane Tilse 12 games - I think all his games have been off the bench. He packs into the second row, but the big guy plays like a prop. A couple of years and he will be our rock in firstgrade.

Daniel Tolar 13 games 2 tries 8 points - A barging, line breaking prop forward. He looks a lot like Jobson, but he plays more like Perry, only smaller. He will grow though.

Blake Tremain-Cannon 3 games - a winger/fullback with more toe than a roman sandel. he will play Flegg next season, but might find himself in Premier League if we need some pace, and he is an outside chance at firstgrade if he has a great off season in the gym.

Chris Tyrie 20 game 4 tries 1 field goal 17 points - not his best year, but the little halfback improves every game.

Brad Wallace 3 games 1 try 2 goals 8 points - has played 5/8, but is a specialist halfback. One of our best juniors for the last few years, but has missed a lot of games with injuries. He has forced his way onto the premier league bench with outstanding form.

Shaun Wallace 6 games 2tries 2 goals 12 points - our third string hooker and big brother of Brad Wallace. He has a great football brain. We are blessed with great hookers all the way down to SG Ball. I hope they keep him, but with Parker and Sainty both winning awards in Flegg and Ball, and Ennis, Quigley and Buderus in front of him, I don't see what we can use him for. Nevertheless, a great footballer.

Matthew White 10 games - big young prop who is getting better each game.

Adam Woolnough 1 game - just getting fit after injury.

Brendan Worth 13 - another great young prop who just gets better and better - him and white are twins i think, but white wears headgear so i can tell them apart.

Michael Young 15 games - no points is a bit unexpected. A very cool and mistake free fullback. Does everything right in attack and defence and would look a lot better if he had better players around him in the backline.

Doctor

Michael Young 15 games - no points is a bit unexpected. A very cool and mistake free fullback. Does everything right in attack and defence and would look a lot better if he had better players around him in the backline.

Very cool under pressure, and that is why he is ideal for the Knights at fullback. You're right about the quality of the backline. I still think he has done a good job, especially given the defensive mistakes of his outside men.

He is a talker which is good. I think in 12-18 months he will be a regular in the first grade side, especially with O'Davis likely to hang around for only one or perhaps two more seasons.

The shoulder pads will go as he gets bigger - he is a naturally light ball runner, light on his feet, but will improve his size as he gets older - he is still only 19.

Ennis seems to be shaping as an obvious star of the future by all accounts. I've seen him score tries just like that. Just when you think they're running out of tackles to score a try, he pops over without blinking an eyelid. Such a young kid, but has a future ahead of him, especially if fellows like Johns and Buderus can nuture him into first grade and pass on knowledge as he improves under their direction.

But even better than this is, as you say, his own ability to judge the direction of the game. Some players rely heavily on superstars like Johns to teach them everything - if what people say is true, Ennis seems to have already developed a knack for what is going on, and the imput of Johns etc will only benefit his already improved game.

Encurly

That's great info Roopy - really good for those of us who don't get to see much Premier League.

The description of Ennis - smallish, quick-thinking hooker/five-eighth, good at spotting weaknesses etc - all makes him sound a lot like Craig Wing. Do you think he could be used next year in much the same way as Wing was in the rep games this year ? That is, come on after 20-odd minutes in each half, take some pressure off Buderus at dummy-half, and also come in at five-eighth when Buderus is taking the dummy-half role. By the sounds of things he could be dangerous if he's fresh and the opposition's tiring.

Terminator

Your our main source of info Roopy, on the juniors our future players for our club, I'm going to make an effort next year and watch the premier league like you obviously do.
Just wondering if you could put in their ages as well if you have them, cheers mate!

roopy

Encurly said:
That's great info Roopy - really good for those of us who don't get to see much Premier League.

The description of Ennis - smallish, quick-thinking hooker/five-eighth, good at spotting weaknesses etc - all makes him sound a lot like Craig Wing. Do you think he could be used next year in much the same way as Wing was in the rep games this year ? That is, come on after 20-odd minutes in each half, take some pressure off Buderus at dummy-half, and also come in at five-eighth when Buderus is taking the dummy-half role. By the sounds of things he could be dangerous if he's fresh and the opposition's tiring.
Ennis could be a bench player for firstgrade next year, and it will be interesting to see exactly how he is used. At the moment we have Quigley who goes on and just about does the same things as Buderus, only not as good, but Ennis has a different sort of game. One thing he will do for certain is kick from dummy half. He is the best long range tactical kicker in our Premier League side, with good accuracy and the abillity to spot a weakness or a guy out of position or injured etc. Buderus has had a few kicks from dummy half recently, but they weren't good.
I think Ennis will have a different role to perform, and he is smart enough that Michael Hagan could give him different instructions every week and he would carry them out beautifully I reckon.
He could easily turn into our game busting super sub.

roopy

18 year olds
Ennis
Tremain-Cannon
Worth
White
Brad Wallace
Tilse
Mercer
Brown

19 year olds
Nolan
Bartlett
Doggett
Bates
Fortier
Lowrie
McIntyre
Tyrie
Shaun Wallace
Young

20 year olds
Luke Dureau
Hampson
Jaques
Mueller
Tanner
Milligan

21 year olds
Taylor
Quigley
Price
Kennedy
Newton
Esatheo
Hopper

Smith
Ryder
Quinn

Amos

Maddison

roopy

terminator007 said:
Thanks Roopy, what about Snowden?
Is'nt he supposed to be our next star at the club?
Snowden is 16. He started the seaon in Ball and finished as one of the best in Flegg. No Premier League games yet, but he could hold his own for sure.