Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2005 - Riddell, Marsh and Morris???

True EEL

with Witt being brushed and the potential signing of another halfback I am beginning to wonder where some players like the above-mentioned are actually going to play?????

if some sanity prevails i would imagin we would start next year with something like....

6. Morris
7. Marsh
9. Riddell

however, i am now wondering if Leuluai (if signed) or someone like Smith or Green will be thrown into halfback and Perenara or another one of them at 5/8??? especially if Anderson does come on board and Leulaui is successful in the tri-series (and is signed)??

so, if any of this latter scenario happens, wher exactly does that leave people like PJ and Morris especially???

coming off the ebnch to spell Riddell???
or is Riddell going to be played at lock or something???

all this justs eems very strange and there now seems to be an overwhelming abundance of halves even though we just brushed our incumbent halfback....just hope its not going to bemusical chairs and amerry-go-round system in the halves again.....because it kills a team

your 6, 7 and 9 is exactly how I would start the year.

Thomas Leulaui may have something to say about that ;-)

True EEL

thanks eelevation.....but that's my point

i'm not saying i don't want Leuluai, but what's going to happen if we do sign him and if i said if he stars in the Tri_Series???

and i would like soemthing in return for Witt as it appears he may have been made redundant to sign Leuluai????

True EEL

yeah UTE and what about the incumbent NZ test half if we sign him???

this just smack of last year when BS went all out to buy as many frontrowers as he could and then get out a loud speaker and tell the world that our problems lay in the forwards and that now "we could kisck some sand in other people's faces"

only so we could be embarrassed and humiliated in Round 1 by the Bulldogs and a teenager making his first grade debut???

maybe soon, Smithy will step out from the shadows and tell the world that the halves are our problem (shock horror who'd a thunk it) but - never fear because we have signed a plethora of halves and are talking up a few more young ones as well from within the club and now we will be able to "throw a few dummies of our own" or something like that??????

just seems weird is all..........

and PJ marsh....injured and not played for years or not....is not going to just settle back to being a bench player at Parramatta and if he has to, we will surely see him walk out ala Jamie Lyon??? and Morris won't be keen on a similar role either after being one of our best players during the last few years???

and if they do keep their spots, what are the 5-6 other gun, young halves going to do cooling their heals in PL????

more problems for Parra i think...although i am still hopefull it will workout just before evryone tells me that i am negative and crap like that

i just call it like i see it and i am a realist and at the moment there could still be problems IMHO..................

yy_cheng

If Marsh is fit, I reckon Morris will start at 6 in the beginning of the season and depending how the Young Guns play in the first few rounds in premmies and trials as well as Morris' form, Morris might be the #14 by midseason.

Therefore:

Start of Year

6. Morris
7. Marsh
9. Riddell

14. Young Gun, Leululi (If we get him), Peranara, Mateo, ....

Middle of Year

6. Young Gun, Leululi (If we get him), Smith, Green, Peranara, Mateo, ....
7. Marsh
9. Riddell

14. Morris

And I would guess that by that stage, Morris will probably not be with us the following year.

I prefer Morris to play hooker rather than 5/8 and use Riddell as an impact player off the bench either as a hooker or back rower. The only problem then is where would I put Widders??

My choice would be

6. Young Gun, Leululi (If we get him), Smith, Green, Peranara, Mateo, ....
7. Marsh or Smith, Green.
9. Morris

14. Riddell

I would even consider giving Hindy a break during the game instead of playing him flat out 80 mins. A fresher charging hindy is what I would like to see.

Does anyone remember before this year, when Hindy used to bust the line and sprint 30m to score and noone could catch him, did he play 80 mins in those games??

I don't even think halfback is a problem.

Our issue is the lack of experianced depth in our outside backs, I think we're phucked in that area if Tahu and Grothe breaks down again. I'm much more anxious about Ronnie Prince being at the club than Witt.

True EEL

yeah but thats the problem.....we have all these young guns as you put it who may play well and push for a spot

as well as all these veteran players who are good and who are probably on good money also (especially Riddell) who are not going to like being played on the bench

depth is a great thing, but sometimes you can almost have too much depth and it causes some players to either get the shits because they cannot get an opportunity or because they have to play off th bench, especially when you are dealing with halfbacks and playmakers???

can you imagin Riddell coming here for $1 billion and playing in the second row or lock when he has stated he only really wnats to play hooker or even playing off the bench?????? i don't think so????

Marsh's fitness is questionable.

I think he will start on the bench at best.

We dont have Leululi yet.

A lot of option at this stage and I think its too early to start predicting what may happen.

I would like to see our juniors (Smith, Mateo, Green) bought into either the bench,
or the starting team.

Green is still a bit green, he hasn't even played PL, to my knowledge.

True EEL

this is the thing twizzle.....we are now looking very overloaded in the halves and it might be good to give these younger guys a go......

but there are other players ahead of them in the pecking order and there are also other positions in a team than the halves (and prop where we are also very overloaded) that need filling??

parra001

Maybe the best way for us to keep Green from jumping ship at the end of his contract (which i believe is at the end of this year - i may be wrong) is to show that we will off load players to ensure he stays.....if you look to the near future im sure at this stage the vast majority of fans will agree that they see a brighter future with the australian schoolboys captain at the helm than Witt.

For the record i dont think Michael was given a fair chance this year and honestly i didnt want to see him leave he deserved better from the club but if its for the greater good (a premiership) then ill live with it for now and just hope it doesnt backfire

Blake Green and Tim Smith are the future of parra, they are real talent. When these guys crack 1st grade they will dominate.

BD5733

I've been a huge fan of Tim Smith for a long time and he has impressed more often than disappointing me no matter what grade he plays in.

His talk amongst the players when he made his PL debut last season was very important from my point of view.

However if Marsh isn't fit to play at the start of the year I'd be very concerned if Smith was ready for NRL level.

I wouldn't think so, it'd be a huge step up. He would eiethr revel or crumble :?

True EEL said:
thanks eelevation.....but that's my point

i'm not saying i don't want Leuluai, but what's going to happen if we do sign him and if i said if he stars in the Tri_Series???

and i would like soemthing in return for Witt as it appears he may have been made redundant to sign Leuluai????

Mate, if we do sign him and he stars in the Tri-Nations, then we're sitting pretty and need not worry:

* He starred at a higher level
* He's young
* He's talented.

But that is a big if - i haven't really been impressed with his club form, myself.

True EEL said:
yeah UTE and what about the incumbent NZ test half if we sign him???

this just smack of last year when BS went all out to buy as many frontrowers as he could and then get out a loud speaker and tell the world that our problems lay in the forwards and that now "we could kisck some sand in other people's faces"

only so we could be embarrassed and humiliated in Round 1 by the Bulldogs and a teenager making his first grade debut???

maybe soon, Smithy will step out from the shadows and tell the world that the halves are our problem (shock horror who'd a thunk it) but - never fear because we have signed a plethora of halves and are talking up a few more young ones as well from within the club and now we will be able to "throw a few dummies of our own" or something like that??????

just seems weird is all..........

and PJ marsh....injured and not played for years or not....is not going to just settle back to being a bench player at Parramatta and if he has to, we will surely see him walk out ala Jamie Lyon??? and Morris won't be keen on a similar role either after being one of our best players during the last few years???

and if they do keep their spots, what are the 5-6 other gun, young halves going to do cooling their heals in PL????

more problems for Parra i think...although i am still hopefull it will workout just before evryone tells me that i am negative and crap like that

i just call it like i see it and i am a realist and at the moment there could still be problems IMHO..................

Mate, we all have our own opinions, and that's great.

But to me, the bigger forwards system was not a failure - before their injuries, Cannings and Tsoulos were probably our best props.

I believe biggger, tougher forwards mixed with more skilled forwards is the way to go. I just think Brian had no idea how to coach a team with big forwards.

Which is yet another plus if Anderson does sign on - he's coached the Warriors, with some of the biggest forwards in the competition, to some success.

Utey

True EEL all I have to say to you is that you have no idea like any one of us who will be in our team next year. Who the halves will be. Who will replace Riddell Etc. I for one dont think Marsh is a #7. Who knows. Round 1 will see who our halves will be. There is no point speculating.

True EEL

thats fine UTE

but its worth speculating what the hell is goin on at the club as i can't sit through another wasted year like this year and pretend ev erything is fine

Mzilikazi

Sometimes Riddell plays as a running second rower. So you might find that Morris, Riddell and Marsh go into dummy half a fair bit on some kind of rotation principle, with Riddell ocassionaly running wide to cause havoc on smaller Centres.

Look to Marsh to play the role that Drew did so succesfully in 2001.

True EEL

as i said i don't think PJ Marsh will settle for that role after achieving what he did with he Warriors and QLD away from Parramatta and he probably shouldn't have to???

and rotating 2 players at dummy-half is fine.....not 3 or 4 and not guys that are your starting half or 5/8??? it should be a bench player

it didn't work with Dykes and Morris this year and it didn't work with John Simon and Aaron Raper (another blinder by Smithy) in 1997???

Pazza

Now with Witt gone i think Marsh will be the number 7. Riddell is a very good second rower, he might play alittle bit in the back row towards the end of games IF Marsh is the hooker.