Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2007 Crowd Watch

f**k, The Ground Formerly Known As Aussie Stadium is packed!

nqboy

beave said:
and to think for years you have been telling us the team represents the whole north and that fans come from far and wide, not just around the 'Ville. You can't have your cake and eat it too nqboy. Don't just blame Townsville people for not turning up last night.

Beaves
True, but the regional fans I speak to all have season tickets and will turn up regardless to get their value. The vast majority of the walk-up crowd will be from Townsville, so I think it is mostly them that are costing us the big crowds.

My bitterness comes in part from a slanging match I had with some loud-mouthed Townsvillain who was dissing them and suggesting they move to Cairns after a poor performance some time ago. I know there are thousands of loyal locals but I found his complacency disturbing. Probably, it would be no different for Cairns-ites if they had NRL footy on offer every week, but I'd bag them too if that were the case.

nqboy

Timmah said:
f**k, The Ground Formerly Known As Aussie Stadium is packed!
Packed? 20000? I don't think so. It's good to see a vast improvement in the Roosters crowds but try to keep it real guys.

nqboy said:
Packed? 20000? I don't think so. It's good to see a vast improvement in the Roosters crowds but try to keep it real guys.

theres no satisfying some.

seriously we dont have to be so literal about everything , sometimes its ok to exaggerate a little.

nqboy

I'm satisfied with the improvement in this one game but would like to see it translate into something more permanent.

And what about the weather? Looks like a beautiful winter's Sunday arv down there. Where was this when the big games were on?

the crowd is probably a combo of three factors.

1.both in form teams
2.Heaps of kiwis in the eastern subrubs
3.Great waether.

I think sydney has tradtionally always supported sunday arvo football well though.

beave

nqboy said:
True, but the regional fans I speak to all have season tickets and will turn up regardless to get their value. The vast majority of the walk-up crowd will be from Townsville, so I think it is mostly them that are costing us the big crowds.

My bitterness comes in part from a slanging match I had with some loud-mouthed Townsvillain who was dissing them and suggesting they move to Cairns after a poor performance some time ago. I know there are thousands of loyal locals but I found his complacency disturbing. Probably, it would be no different for Cairns-ites if they had NRL footy on offer every week, but I'd bag them too if that were the case.

I think last nights 15-16k crowd was due partly to a few things. The Cowbees in all honesty have been playing like busteds for the majoirty of the year (yeah they are 4th but let's be realistic, they won't last 2 weeks in the finals) and Canberra don't have a hell of a lot of fans up here and they aren't exactly a marquee team ,I'm not bagging the raiders or their fans here as I reckon they will be a force in 2 years and they have an awesome coach, but these are the facts. If people are going to miss a game during the year, this one and the rabbitohs are probably the games they would sit out. Me personally, that is treason and punishement by firing squad is to be dished out, but some people aren't as hard core as us nqboy. The only positive from having the small crowd last night was that I could get a Rum in about 3 minutes, instead of the usual 10 mins. The facilities at DFS are getting beyond a joke, the concourse area is dangerously narrow now they have installed those kitchens for the hob nobs on the eastern side, i would hate to be in the stadium if there is a fire on that side, the crowd will be back for the dragons game though.......... fingers crossed.

Significantly more than last week again opposing another OOT team. Normally I'd lay in to any Roosters crowd but it's a good improvement.

35,784 at Suncorp.

Round 21 - August 3-6
Bulldogs/Eels TELSTRA 27,201
Knights/Dragons EN-AUS 12,573
Titans/Tigers CARRARA - 17,257
Panthers/Rabbitohs CUA PEN 10,845
Cowboys/Raiders D F S 15,791
Roosters/Warriors S F S 15,124
Broncos/Eagles SUNCORP 35,784
Sharks/Storm TOYOTA TBP

7 matches
Total: 134,575
Average: 19,225

A crowd of 8,000 tomorrow at Toyota brings us to around 17,800 average for the weekend.

Let's hope some more than that get out there.

mattyg

herbert henry1908 said:
thats SFS figure seems low to me , looked much closer to 20K.

especially when they showed the western side , it was really packed.

there was nobody sitting on the ends whatsoever, let alone the top tiers. I'd say 15k is about right.

In all seriousness the ends of the ground are closed to patrons which severely limits capacity.

With next weekend's grand final round we should maintain another weekend with a 17k+ average IMO.

The following weeks sees the Broncs host the Dogs and Cowboys host Saints on consecutive nights, Storm v Eels on the Friday also and Souths first MNF, the third overall at Telstra, the first two of which both managed 20k + and this one is four the Bunnies against Manly.

Round 24 then has Dogs v Storm on FNF, Roosters v Panthers @ SFS, WT v SS @ Leichhardt and Saints v Eels.

I think that should be enough to trump last year, assuming the final round is a big drawcard on every front (except maybe Storm/Titans and Can/Cron).

No chance on 2005.

fanatique

nqboy said:
Queensland - Rugby League's heartland :D

You seem to be innumerate NQBOY.

Let me explain in easy steps. Sydney has 9 clubs in a metro area of 4.5 million. hence a catchment area of 500,000 per club. Brisbane has a metro area of 1.5 million. hence the Broncos have an area 3 times that of the average Sydney club. the average sydney attendance is 14 to 15,000. To keep pace the Broncos would need 42 to 45,000. In fact they get 33,000 average meaning that Sydneysiders attend in greater strenght per head than Brisbaneites.

t-ba owns you in this argument and if Brissy had 3 clubs instead of the one club stroll the Broncos have I wonder what ther averges would be in a ciity less interested in watching live League than Sydney is?