Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2007 Crowd Watch

bobmar28

Dutchy said:
f**k the money - Manly and Storm deserve Home Semis.
It's not just money, it's not a good look. AFL will be playing finals to packed stadiums and what will we have? People standing on a hill.

Ice777

Is playing in a stadium that's half full or even less depending on where it's played a better look than a hill and a ground choc full of people? I'll take the latter any day of the week. Besides it has sweet FA to do with what it looks like, it comes down to who has earned the right to play home finals and rightly so.

yakstorm

Good start to the round:

Wests Tigers v Roosters - 25,166 @ Telstra
Manly v Newcastle - 17,122 @ Bluetongue

Total: 42,288
Avg: 21,144

Hopefully we get strong turn outs at WIN, Mt Smart and Parramatta tomorrow to keep the round going.

3,547 attended the opening of this wonderful new national union comp at North Sydney Oval in supposed union territory.:lol:

Did the Bears ever get a crowd that low in the 90's?

dragondad

Think there will be a huge crowd tomorrow at the Saints game if the weather stays away.

Great crowds tonight.

mattyg

great crowd at telstra!! 5k more than i expected...was it heaps of bandwagon goosters supporters for all those who attended??

OVP

mattyg said:
great crowd at telstra!! 5k more than i expected...was it heaps of bandwagon goosters supporters for all those who attended??

:roll: Idiot. Great to see you jumping on the bandwagon re: Roosters fans not showing up for games. Typical DOG !! <-- Tit for tat hey ?

mattyg

what its true though...roosters had 16k odd last week, while for the rest of the year they've been struggling to crack 8k.

OVP

mattyg said:
what its true though...roosters had 16k odd last week, while for the rest of the year they've been struggling to crack 8k.

Its in the past mate ... King Freddy is back ... thats all that matters for us Roosters fans ;-) The Return of The King.

ali

I was there for Norths last game, the crowd would have been about that. And three quarters of the people there were supporting Cronulla, not Norths.
Brutus said:
3,547 attended the opening of this wonderful new national union comp at North Sydney Oval in supposed union territory.:lol:

Did the Bears ever get a crowd that low in the 90's?

fanatique

mattyg said:

Be fair mate. The Roos were winless game after game early on. Of course the attendances increase as a chance of the 8 comes into view. Every club is the same.

If the Bulldogs visiting the tigers drew 25,000 you'd be on herre bragging about how the Dogs are needed to get a crowd but when the Roos do it you harp on about bandwagon. You had thousands of bandwagonners last time V Eels who won't be there Sunday so don't throw stones from greenhouses mate.

It was a fantastic turn out from both sets of fans. Only the third 25K plus attendance in Sydney so far this year. Can't we just say well done to both fanbases for making it an event?

Brycey

fanatique said:
Be fair mate. The Roos were winless game after game early on. Of course the attendances increase as a chance of the 8 comes into view. Every club is the same.

If the Bulldogs visiting the tigers drew 25,000 you'd be on herre bragging about how the Dogs are needed to get a crowd but when the Roos do it you harp on about bandwagon. You had thousands of bandwagonners last time V Eels who won't be there Sunday so don't throw stones from greenhouses mate.

It was a fantastic turn out from both sets of fans. Only the third 25K plus attendance in Sydney so far this year. Can't we just say well done to both fanbases for making it an event?
He's a Bulldogs fan, only sees the bad in everything.

In-goal

The Chooks are back, The Chooks are Back.

25K quite a decent crowd for Friday night.(considering Chook fans had to travel on 2 trains and a bus + a taxi)LOL I thought I would through that in.

matty has a valid point - Roosters fans are very much a "sing when you're winning" fanbase tbh.

As for the Dogs, our crowds were the best in Sydney even in 2005, when we got to 18,038 average at Telstra/Showground.

In no way does it take away from the current success and good on them for turning up, absolutely - he's just making an observation on the pre-Freddy crowds ;-)

brendothejet

fanatique said:
You had thousands of bandwagonners last time V Eels who won't be there Sunday so don't throw stones from greenhouses mate.

i agree with everything you said, but i had to laugh at this little gem. I think you meant glasshouses.

dodge will claim that every crowd was made up of him and thousands of loyal doggies fans.

Really? Saints v Doggies crowd was at least 60-40 in favour of your mob if not more, the Dogs/Eels crowd was only just our way, 55-45 tops.

Bottom line is we get far more "super crowds" than most clubs and as a result we are the highest drawin club in Sydney. In fact, we're now ahead of Newcastle and are the top drawing NRL club outside QLD (prior to last night, I think the Tigpies crowd puts them in front of us on average)

BRI 32760
GCT 21,858
NQL 19,849
BUL 16,397
NWC 16,395
WTI 16,077
MAN 14,533
SOU 14,422
PAR 13,922
PEN 12,233
SYD 12,009
CAN 11,857
STG 11,598
MEL 11,522
WAR 11,302
CRO 10,630

Regardless, still a remarkable season with no team under 10k average. Here's hoping the Tigpie fans make the journey to Toyota next week to maintain that.

ouwet

Timmah said:
Really? Saints v Doggies crowd was at least 60-40 in favour of your mob if not more, the Dogs/Eels crowd was only just our way, 55-45 tops.

With the Dragons game i agree.. But 55-45 in favour of Bulldogs at Telstra last week?
Snap out of it, even Eels fans cannot say more then 20-25% of that crowd was Parramatta fans!

IF you were at the game you could tell the difference (Quiet a big one) when the teams ran out... For 90% of that game it was Parramatta's game and that's why they were cheering. IN saying that the game at Parramatta Stadium at the start of the yr (Did you go to that one Timmah?) was the opposite... 20-25% Bulldogs at MAX it was all Parra fans.