Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2011 WORLD CUP FINAL: INDIA v SRI LANKA April 2 (Mumbai)

Well here we last game of the tournament, gee it has gone quick

I feel SL are in for some heartache.

India, what a great cricketing nation. Currently no1 test side, and alongside that will become world ODI champions, truly an outstanding achievement

I just wonder if we will see Sachin retire from this form of the game after the game? What better way to go out when your approaching your 40s and lifting up this cup in glory. Personally I reckon he will play on and on

Panther_Daz

The 2 best teams. Should be a cracker!

Excited for now but will be nervous as hell when Saturday comes around...

Doosra

Sri Lanka will win. MOM Jayawarden

G'day guys - long time reader, first time poster

MM - I hope you're right mate, it'll be a tough to get ontop of India in Mumbai - however Sri Lanka's batting looks to be peaking at the right time and the only question mark for me is C.Silva at 5.

Mahela needs to call upon all of his skills and get past 50, he's been a touch disapointing in the crunch games and he's just too classy not to stand up and be counted.

Should be a cracker of a game IMO, two very good batting line ups but i think the Lankans have the edge in the attacks. Malinga vs Sehwag and Dilshan vs Khan will be worth the price of admission alone. If Sehwag has a day out it could prove the difference and Ghambir is due. India just.

G'day guys - long time reader, first time poster

MM - I hope you're right mate, it'll be a tough to get ontop of India in Mumbai - however Sri Lanka's batting looks to be peaking at the right time and the only question mark for me is C.Silva at 5.

Mahela needs to call upon all of his skills and get past 50, he's been a touch disapointing in the crunch games and he's just too classy not to stand up and be counted.

welcome aboard mate

like to see the Silly Wankas get up myself, it will be huge for them if they can pull it off

IanG

They'll be burning effergies in the cities of whichever country doesn't win. Speaking of which are they burning effergies in the streets of Lahore and Karachi yet?

mozza91

India will probably win but I'm hoping Sri Lanka can get the win, expecting fireworks from Dilshan and Sehwag.

Doosra

IanG said:
They'll be burning effergies in the cities of whichever country doesn't win.

LOL, pretty unqualified statement there.

Sri Lankan fans don't burn effergies when their team loses games. When you've just come out of a 30 year civil war cricket games are seen as sources of relief and opportunities to heal wounds instead of life and death scenario's.

Quoting the following article on circinfo:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket_worldcup2011/content/current/story/508950.html

cricinfo said:
The reality is that not being overwrought suits the way Sri Lanka play their cricket. They are fortunate that of all the cricket-playing nations in the subcontinent, their fans, though not lacking passion, are the most balanced. While they celebrate their victories with as much vigour as their neighbours, they retain the perspective to take defeat in their stride. Consequently, Sri Lankan cricketers lead the most normal life among their peers on the subcontinent.

Twizzle said:
welcome aboard mate

like to see the Silly Wankas get up myself, it will be huge for them if they can pull it off

Cheers buddy, looking forward to posting in the Eels forum

LOL @ Silly Wanka's, I'll pay that...

IanG

Also wanna find out who was the turkey at Channel 9 who made the decision to put on som Z Grade Movie instead of the showing the whole match. I wanna lop it's head off and have it for Christmas Dinner. Looks like I'll be going down to the club tonight

the incredible hulk no less, which has been repeated a million times already :crazy:

fair dinkum it pisses me off as well. Cricket world cup final, 3rd biggest sporting tournament in the world. lots of indians living in australia, as well as lots of us fans who would want to watch this epic. Showing the whole game IF Australia made it is kinda weird considering we are one of the most multi cultural countries in the world

Im with you IanG, Can you supply the spuds and carving knife?

btw game starts in about 1 hour

Ashish Nehra is out of the indian side, he bowled real well in the semi

IanG

the incredible hulk no less, which has been repeated a million times already :crazy:

fair dinkum it pisses me off as well. Cricket world cup final, 3rd biggest sporting tournament in the world. lots of indians living in australia, as well as lots of us fans who would want to watch this epic. Showing the whole game IF Australia made it is kinda weird considering we are one of the most multi cultural countries in the world

Im with you IanG, Can you supply the spuds and carving knife?

Gladly
Channel 9's coverage has been pathetic to say the very least,