Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2012 FOUR NATIONS Round 2: Great Britain vs Australia

Forum 7s - 4 Nations - 2012
GREAT BRITAIN & IRELAND LIONS -V- AUSTRALIA KANGAROOS
british-map-100x100.jpg
-V-
logo_kangaroos_aust.jpg

Game Thread:
* This is a game thread only. Only game posts can be made here - team lists, substitutions, and articles.
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.​

Naming Teams:
* 3 -V- 3 (+ 2 reserves for both teams)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named​

Kick Off: Saturday 17th November 2012 (2100AEST)
Full Time: Saturday 24th November 2012 (2100AEST)
Referee: Non Terminator
Venue: Croke Park​

Monk

After spending an entire afternoon setting up a remarkable Christmas tree in the locker room, Great Britain are ready to run out onto the field guns blazing.

Atop the tree stands a radiant Leon the Lion. Forever watching over us, guiding us to victory! Onwards and Upwards!

image.axd

Great Britain
Drew-Sta
Hutty1986
Monk

Lambretta

Go the Poms!

Drew-Sta

Drew-Sta sculls his English Breakfast cup of tea before lining up the first Australian forward and hitting him with a perfectly timed tackle.

---

The cold shoulder

The last few days have been amusing to watch as the media, forums and players have thrown up their arms at the outlawing of the shoulder charge. It’s amusing because people seem to think it’s the end of the physicality that rugby league has been renowned for.

It’s not.

In fact, there’s perhaps some wisdom in this decision that the ARLC haven’t considered. What is that, you might ask?

Simple – the return of technique to tackling.

See, the issue at hand within rugby league is many of the players are lazy about the way they go in for a tackle. Now, most of the meatheads that take the field are nothing more than bionic robots that intend to destroy their opposition with collision. This is fine. Meatheads can be meatheads for all I care as they’re going to be the ones who will learn the hard way.

But the ‘thinking’ forward? They’re going to be snickering at this, because they know something. It’s old school, in fact, and most of these young forwards are too stupid to know about it.

It’s the solar plexus.

confusedfaceblogpic1.png

Yes, that’s right; the solar f**king plexus. It’s latin for “hurtin’ spot”.

Most of you namby pamby wimps would be sitting there scratching your balls going ‘What the hell is this guy talking about?’ Well, chumps, take your hand and put it to your chest. Move it down til you feel the bottom of your sternum. Now, poke your finger a few times with some force about a centimetre below the sternum and feel the slight discomfort your getting from your moisturised fingers.

Go on, poke it a bit harder. Hurts, huh. In case you’re as thick headed as the meatheads crying for the return of the shoulder charge, I’ve given you a picture of where it is, as shown by some creepy guy on Wikipedia.

Celiac_plexus_coronal.png

Now, imagine this – you’re running at the defensive line and that bald, angry looking guy called Mick Weyman is running at you. You grin, knowing he can’t shoulder charge you. You run at him, he runs at you. He drops his shoulder, you frown. He sits his shoulder right in that spot and pumps you like a sack of runny manure. Suddenly your breath leaves you, your feet are in the air, the ball is out of your arms and you’re lying on your back desperately trying to breathe as Mick rubs your face in the dirt and laughs.

I guarantee you that as impressive as a shoulder charge looks, its nothing more than two very hard stones hitting each other and deflecting. In a proper tackle, where the tackler uses some technique, the force of his shoulder into the solar plexus plus the physics behind a 110kg man pointing his entire contact into that one little spot will leave you on the ground partially paralysed from the pain of the hit.

This is where it gets interesting. Rugby league players all the way back to the inception of the game have known about this spot. Why? I don’t know; my initial guess is the education system saw fit to teach people the best parts of the body to hit if you were in a pub brawl. But I digress. Players knew it existed, and for years and years and years they’ve seen fit to aim at that exact point. Why?

Because it hurts. Because it immobilises the player correctly. Because you don’t require fifty other fricken players to do it like this gang tackling shit that goes on.

Frankly, they did it because it worked. And rugby league forwards should realise that the rubbish they call a tackling technique is nothing more than throwing your body NFL style into the oncoming player and mindlessly wrapping your arms around parts of his body.

Have a look at this:

3.jpg

Don’t you want to see more of this type of technique in the game? Don’t you want to see good, strong, one on one tackles that take a level of skill to accomplish?

Take a step back, rugby league fans, and have a good look at what you’re watching the game for. Are we mindless? Are we simply interested in contact at all costs? Are we interested in flashy shoulder charges that make us look like dodgem cars on legs? Or are we interested in technique, skill and hitting a man properly where it hurts.

If you need proof I’m right, run at me and find out.

---

Words - 748

Monk

Monk rocks up to the Stadium a day early with his boots strapped on and everything. I think he may just be losing his mind. No biggie.

A very tired and exhausted 735 Words and three cheeky pics.

++++++++++++++++++

Oh Captain! My Captain!

Although it is painfully obvious to most of you, the off-season of our beloved sport is well and truly in full effect. While fans across the nation discuss the return of Big Money Bill, the release of the new NRL Draw and our new League CEO, I continue to ponder the finer things in our sport. You see, in the off-season you can’t just simply wonder something and get over it willy nilly. It may seem small and insignificant to start with but I assure you it is not. It eats at you, day by day, hour by hour, and minute by minute until finally you start delving deeper and deeper into the subject. Before you know it the sun is nowhere to be seen and the only people who are awake looking at computer screen are the ones with safe search off and earphones in their ears.

As a Roosters fan, you could say I'm used sprinkling of disappointment here and there. But the promise of a new season is so alluring even I can’t help but get a tinsy winsy bit excited. The big issue for us Chooks fans is an unfortunate one; all of us are wondering who will be the Captain(s) for our club next season. Personally, I trusts new kid on the block Trent Robinson to pick the right guy for the job, the only situation in which I’d be concerned is if we ended up like the vermin and named seven Captains or so (I really don’t want to have to cross that bridge). So one night when I was at my computer solving the words mysteries I decided to find out what made a Captain who he was. But I didn’t just stick to Rugby League. But what makes a Captain who he is, regardless of the situation? What is the defining quality one must have to exude the class and admiration which comes with being a quality captain? Who are the greatest Captains of all time? I assure you safe search remained on for the entirety of this investigation.

First off, probably the most obvious one of all: A Captain must lead by example. A perfect example of this exemplary example is Australia’s favourite son Michael Clarke. Since taking over the Captaincy of the Australian side in 2011 he’s averaged 72.65. Other then the great Don himself, no other rookie captain has had a better start to his reign. That my friends - is leading by example. In my mind there is no better way to get your men fired up then to put up a performance for the ages.

Michael-Clarke-007.jpg

The second mark of a true Captain is charisma and confidence. You want a Captain who has a certain swagger about him. He’s not going to let anyone push him around. He’s going to stick his feet into the turf and back himself. Who is this model Captain I hear you ask? It is Jack Sparrow... uuh I mean Captain Jack Sparrow. On top of these redeeming qualities, Jack has the utmost respect for his Ship, and his position as Captain. He finds the prospect of a man not going down with his ship to be vulgar. As if abandoning your men is the worst thing you could do. NRL Captains could learn a thing or two from him, it’s your team, put in all the effort you can to take care of your mate. Captain Jack would.

668945-johnny-depp-as-captain-jack-sparrow.jpg

Above all a Captain must be able to lead. People often say that someone is a born leader. This isn’t the case with every great Captain; some of them earn their leadership. One man who earnt the respect of many was Captain America. Not only does he have outstanding values, but he has the brain to maintain high performance and overcome seemingly impossible obstacles. I’m not saying a Footy Captain needs to have the ability to see the field like Joey, but if he gets tackled on the last in his own twenty; the coach might want to go in a different direction.

Captain-America-captain-america-3667497-301-350.gif

When push comes to shove, you've got to find a bloke who’s got a bucket load of smarts, can lead a team around the paddock, puts in quality performances when it counts and has a cheeky bit of swagger. Well... looks like the Chooks need to bring Freddy back from retirement.

++++++++++++++++++

Great Britain

Drew-Sta 89
A well formed and well researched piece, based with good opinion points. It's a different response to usual answers to the topic, nicely done.

Monk 87
A piece displaying qualities of captain...ing? Too tired, but great read.

Great Britain 176
Australia 0

POTM Drew-Sta