Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 GF | PREMIERS - Roosters 14-8 Raiders @ ANZ

Grand Final: Roosters v Raiders

We had a very physical game last night. If scores a close a half time, fatigue could be a factor for us. I’m hoping the sense of occasion will get the better of Raiders early on and we blow them away in the first half like we’ve done to a lot of teams this year. Us by 13

King hit

Strange not seeing the storm in the grand final since we all thought they were certainties to be there.

Danish

I reckon it will be 75% green. Every neutral bastard will be wearing green

neutrals will be cheering for the raiders. I doubt they’ll be wearing green. They aren’t going to be out buying raiders jerseys and it’s not like people just have a lot of lime green shit laying around.

For anyone who was at the 2011 GF, it will be quite similar. Most going for the underdogs, but if the game gets away from them don’t expect the crowd to desperately try and lift them back into it.

Meapro Ham

We had a very physical game last night. If scores a close a half time, fatigue could be a factor for us. I’m hoping the sense of occasion will get the better of Raiders early on and we blow them away in the first half like we’ve done to a lot of teams this year. Us by 13

Yes the Roosters looked out on their feet much of the second half but managed to lift in the end. Will be tough to do that two weeks in a row if it’s a close finish.

If any neutral is cheering for the Rorters I have to question their sanity.

I’ve got 2003 vibes with this GF. With the Raiders the popular underdog like the Panthers were, written off by most experts heading into the game. The Roosters have the superstars and the GF experience but the Raiders have a sense of destiny and a 25 year drought to break.

The posh media might love the idea of Rorters going back to back, but I would see it as showing just how easy it is to build a super team in what’s supposed to be an even comp, if you have enough TPA’s.

The Raiders need to win this for the good of the game.

Raiders to win 14-12
CC Medal- Josh Hodgson

So you won't be supporting us on the big day?

Regrettable. I really thought we had you on the bandwagon there.

Hopefully next year

Eelectrica

Strange not seeing the storm in the grand final since we all thought they were certainties to be there.
Addo Carr dropped their grand final at the back end of the Raiders game. If that doesn't happen I think they play and beat Souths and are into the grand final.

Srill i'm happy for the Raiders to be there. Need some fresh blood in the GF.

King hit

Addo Carr dropped their grand final at the back end of the Raiders game. If that doesn't happen I think they play and beat Souths and are into the grand final.

Srill i'm happy for the Raiders to be there. Need some fresh blood in the GF.

I’m happy for Canberra to be there too for the same reason

This Year?

Anything can happen.on the day and it is such a glorious week for the fans, family, friends, players and staff from both clubs.
Both these sides will put on a cracking game and this could potentially be one of the most entertaining grand finals of the NRL era, similar to the Roosters Manly one in 2013.
If the Roosters win, they will break the premiers curse and will have proven to be the best side in the modern era, but if the Raiders win it will go down in folklore as a resurgent season topped off with a win against all odds droughtbreaker.

Cockosh

Much has been made of the raiders defence this year and many consider it the reason they can go all the way. But if you compare tries conceded since origin (round 17) then roosters are not only going better but have rebuilt the Bondi wall. In 11 rounds we have only conceded more than 2 tries once, coincidently against the raiders. In 5 of those games we’ve held teams to a single try. Games aren’t won on stats but we are timing it perfectly.

Raiders
Souths 2
Storm 1
Warriors 4
Sharks 3
Manly 2
Storm 3
Roosters 4
Warriors 2
Panthers 3
Tigers 2
Saints 3
Total 29
Average 2.6

Roosters
Storm 1
Souths 1
Souths 2
Panthers 1
Saints 2
Warriors 1
Raiders 3
Titans 1
Bulldogs 2
Knights 2
Cowboys 2
Total 18
Average 1.6

Rorters by 13+

What a conundrum
See Cronk lose his last game or
See Ricky melt down on the sideline

I think I’d rather see Cronk join his other cap cheating mate Slater and lose.

Up up crocanberra

Much has been made of the raiders defence this year and many consider it the reason they can go all the way. But if you compare tries conceded since origin (round 17) then roosters are not only going better but have rebuilt the Bondi wall. In 11 rounds we have only conceded more than 2 tries once, coincidently against the raiders. In 5 of those games we’ve held teams to a single try. Games aren’t won on stats but we are timing it perfectly.

Raiders
Souths 2
Storm 1
Warriors 4
Sharks 3
Manly 2
Storm 3
Roosters 4
Warriors 2
Panthers 3
Tigers 2
Saints 3
Total 29
Average 2.6

Roosters
Storm 1
Souths 1
Souths 2
Panthers 1
Saints 2
Warriors 1
Raiders 3
Titans 1
Bulldogs 2
Knights 2
Cowboys 2
Total 18
Average 1.6

Yep the media narrative so far is the raiders "awesome" defence.

We have played the same 2 teams in the finals and have conceded less points and scored more.

We also don't rely on teams dropping the ball on the goal line to gift us tries.

GAZF

We have played the same 2 teams in the finals and have conceded less points and scored more.

We also don't rely on teams dropping the ball on the goal line to gift us tries.
The media narrative is more about how the Raiders defense has improved massively over last year, not that hard but the changes have been dramatic. There are still some weaknesses that can and will be exploited.

Walt Flanigan

I don't think anyone has said the Roosters can't defend.What's been pointed out is that we used to just try and outscore the opposition rather than stop them scoring (if that makes sense). Defence has been the big improvement in the Raiders, nobody is saying we're the best at it.

GAZF

I don't think anyone has said the Roosters can't defend.What's been pointed out is that we used to just try and outscore the opposition rather than stop them scoring. Defence has been the big improvement in the Raiders, nobody is saying we're the best at it.
They're just looking for more praise for their "unheralded" Roosters.

nick87

Wonderful the lengths a fanbase of a prohibitive favourite will go to try and create some kind of chip on their shoulder

The roosters have been rightfully lauded all year long for their level of play. They're the defending champs and are back here in the big game again. No one is underselling them haha

GAZF

Wonderful the lengths a fanbase of a prohibitive favourite will go to try and create some kind of chip on their shoulder

The roosters have been rightfully lauded all year long for their level of play. They're the defending champs and are back here in the big game again. No one is underselling them haha
Hold on there partner. The Chooks fans here are just excited to be there after an unfruitful past decade. We can forgive them for having a bit of middle child syndrome.