Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 FW1 EF Sun - Sydney 14-30 South Sydney @ Allianz

Finals Week 1: Sydney v South Sydney

• Sydney Roosters

Votes: 13 54.2%
  • South Sydney Rabbitohs

Votes: 11 45.8%

big hit!

Match of the round. I also think the winner of this will beat the top 4 loser in week 2 of the finals and be a real chance of making the big dance.

Souths 19-18

Interesting take, given the premier will most likely come from the Penrith v Parra game.

big hit!

merkin of a bloke but Lodge has been so good for Easts. JWH has his partner in crime and they're laying the platform for all the fellas outside them. Roosters were very aggressive last Friday night. Souths nowhere near it. If it begins that way again, Bunnies will be struggling. The good thing for them is they've seen it. On the other hand, Souths didn't show too much. AJ had a quiet night. I'm sure that flank will be the main thorough again that it normally is for Souths.

just my opinion, so could be totally wrong..but I reckon Easts smash the bunnies again.

I really thought Souths would win last week.
They were out of their depth against those forwards from the Chooks

Either way, both great teams and as a neutral, I don't mind who wins - just beat those Queenslander and Storm bums!! go the Sydney teams (or Canberra haha)

BunniesMan

Interesting take, given the premier will most likely come from the Penrith v Parra game.
It's not even an elimination game. A rivalry bottom half of the 8 game counts for more than a rivalry top 4 game for week 1 of the finals

welds2

just my opinion, so could be totally wrong..but I reckon Easts smash the bunnies again.

I really thought Souths would win last week.
They were out of their depth against those forwards from the Chooks

Either way, both great teams and as a neutral, I don't mind who wins - just beat those Queenslander and Storm bums!! go the Sydney teams (or Canberra haha)
what do you mean again? haven't been smash by this trash for a long while.

Tiger Shark

This game could go either way.

Roosters put the cue in the rack in the second half but felt the Bunnies were half assing it a bit.

Team wise Cook, Murray and Graham means South’s have improved their team more, huge loss is Manu. Roosters wings are ins but not as big as the others mentioned imo.

Also Latrell can not possibly play worse.

Should be good

MKCS

Love that both fans are trying to claim that they’re more unfairly treated by officials.
Newsflash you each get more leg ups than about 12 other sides on a weekly basis.

This is 2021 (Most recent I could find) but the article shows that Souths receive the most penalties and concede the third least.

Roosters meanwhile received 35 less penalties and conceded 31 more than Souths. Another article states that the Roosters since 2013 have only won 29% of the penalty counts.

This has always been the way. Souths have always typically got plenty of legups and the 50/50 calls always tend to go their way whilst the Roosters get dudded on calls and typically have to beat the opposing team and the referee.

Now of course that last sentence is biased but going off pure facts as of last year Souths were definitely treated much better by the officials.

This is 2021 (Most recent I could find) but the article shows that Souths receive the most penalties and concede the third least.

Roosters meanwhile received 35 less penalties and conceded 31 more than Souths. Another article states that the Roosters since 2013 have only won 29% of the penalty counts.

This has always been the way. Souths have always typically got plenty of legups and the 50/50 calls always tend to go their way whilst the Roosters get dudded on calls and typically have to beat the opposing team and the referee.

Now of course that last sentence is biased but going off pure facts as of last year Souths were definitely treated much better by the officials.
Yes but you are failing to see the big picture.

It is all about when penalties are received and the roosters ALWAYS get theirs when needed most, negating the actual stats you have. It is a very elaborate conspiracy that uncle Nick has organised for us.

big hit!

Do you know much about your team? Recruiting players and having a coach that demands an aggressive style of play and then bitching about how the Roosters are disadvantaged by the penalty count is highly ironic. I'd say JWH gives away a different type of penalty to DCE.

This has been going on for far longer than Trent Robinson has been coaching at the Roosters and than JWH has been playing at the Roosters either.

Yes but you are failing to see the big picture.

It is all about when penalties are received and the roosters ALWAYS get theirs when needed most, negating the actual stats you have. It is a very elaborate conspiracy that uncle Nick has organised for us.
You guys deliberately give penalties away by holding on too long whilst defending especially on your own line you have to expect to lose the count mate. It’s the way Robbo coaches you has been for years.

This was categorically debunked a few years ago when it was shown that a majority of our penalties were conceded outside our defensive zone but let's not let facts get in the way...

What was the excuse before Robbo?