Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Rabbitohs All Stars Match

callmack1

callmack1

Yooohoooo!!!! All Stars game day is finally here! Been a long Off-Season but that is officially OVER today. The 2022 Rugby League year kicks off TONIGHT!! No better way to do it than with the All Stars and I'm really looking forward to it!

Still tipping the Maori to win but hoping it's just a great contest.

Honestly gives me goosebumps to say the Footy is back TONIGHT! Lessshgoooo!!!!

Yooohoooo!!!! All Stars game day is finally here! Been a long Off-Season but that is officially OVER today. The 2022 Rugby League year kicks off TONIGHT!! No better way to do it than with the All Stars and I'm really looking forward to it!

Still tipping the Maori to win but hoping it's just a great contest.

Honestly gives me goosebumps to say the Footy is back TONIGHT! Lessshgoooo!!!!
I’ll be there at the game as you know mate. I’m tipping the Indigenous boys.

callmack1

Shaquai Mitchell's 'biggest demon' to conquer before inspiring All Stars selection: https://www.2gb.com/shaquai-mitchells-biggest-demon-to-conquer-before-inspiring-all-stars-selection/

Great interview that, well worth the listen! What a man, what a story. Hope he goes well tonight and I can't wait to watch him.

Hey now, you’re an All Star: Tears of joy for Latrell’s brother

By Christian Nicolussi

Shaquai Mitchell thought his famous brother Latrell was joking when he called him on Sunday evening to let him know he was a shock call-up for the Indigenous All Stars.

“Latrell rang me around 6pm and said, ‘Hey bruz, I hear you’re keen to play?’,” Shauqai said.

“I said, ‘Play what?’, and he said, ‘I think you’re about to play in the All Stars’. I was absolutely shocked. A little tear came to my eye. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would get this call. I still feel like it’s a dream.”

The 20,000 fans who turn up to CommBank Stadium on Saturday night for the Indigenous and Maori All Stars clash will now get to watch a Mitchell after all.

While Latrell was never going to feature because of the six-match ban for his high shot on Joey Manu late last season, Shaquai, who is older than Latrell by 14 months and plays in the front row, answered an SOS from coach Laurie Daley.

Daley predicted over the weekend that he would be forced to scour the NSW Cup if his forward stocks were further depleted by COVID-19 or injury.

And once Jack Bird pulled out of the squad for personal reasons, Daley phoned Latrell, then South Sydney coach Jason Demetriou, to tell him Shaquai was needed, despite having no NRL experience.

Daley told the Herald Shaquai had popped up on his radar some weeks back after Latrell had reached out to him via text to tell him what an excellent pre-season he had had at Souths, and how he would not disappoint on the big Indigenous stage.

Shaquai, who stripped off 25kg this summer and weighs about 119kg, not only wants to make his teammates, family and Indigenous culture proud this weekend, he also wants to follow in Latrell’s footsteps and play in the NRL.

“That’s the dream - that’s always been the dream,” Shaquai told the Herald. “Latrell will tell you the same thing, but rugby league was the only thing that kept us out of trouble in Taree. A lot of our family members have got into a lot of trouble, especially the boys in our age group, but football was the one thing that saved us.

“Rugby league is massive in Taree. Latrell and I always said to each other that football was our life. I spent some time out of the game, but I’ve come back not only a better player but a better person.”

Shaquai won an SG Ball title with the Sydney Roosters and Latrell, but later took time out from the game as he struggled with injuries and depression and ballooned to 167kg.

Those supporters who make the trek to Parramatta on Saturday will not see Shaquai emulating any of Latrell’s barnstorming 80m runs, rifle-like cutout passes or even the “kangaroo ears” try celebration.

“He can keep that one. I’ll have to come up with my own if by some miracle I score a try,” Shaquai said.

“Yes we’re brothers, only a year separates us, and we both have the same dream, but we’re on two different paths.

“Latrell is out there, adventurous, and he’s more of a people’s person, while I’m quiet and like to keep to myself.”

But Shaquai was not a complete stranger to his new teammates when he entered Indigenous camp at Sydney Olympic Park late Monday, with his wife having attended the same school as Josh Kerr, Nicho Hynes being an old schoolmate of his on the Central Coast and Josh Addo-Carr having played in the same Harold Matthews side at Souths.

callmack1

From Zero Tackle,

Daley backs future tours for Indigenous All Stars, but not a World Cup berth

Former New South Wales coach Laurie Daley has backed future tours for the Indigenous All-Star Team but has stopped short of supporting the idea of them featuring at the World Cup.

Daley is coach of the All-Stars team for their upcoming showcase game this Saturday, which is expected to draw around 25,000 fans but believes the growth of the squad can't come at the detriment of the national side.

The former Kangaroo representative believes there is scope for the Indigenous All-Stars to go on tours of England and New Zealand, and against Pacific nations but said the World Cup should only feature one team from Australia.

“I personally believe you only need one Australian team, not two, at a World Cup, but I definitely think there’s an opportunity for this team to play a lot more games, including against the Pacific nations,” Daley said in a News Corp report.

“You could even have Indigenous tours over to England and New Zealand. It would be great to play more games, and we’d compete, don’t worry about that, there would be no worries there.”

Daley has reportedly embraced the unity dance to be possibly be performed by all Kangaroo players at this year's World Cup.

Former Melbourne and South Sydney Star Greg Inglis said that seeing an Indigenous team on show at such a global event would be terrific.

“I’m speaking for myself and my family, but I would love to see an Indigenous side on the world stage,” Inglis told the Sydney Morning Herald.

The Indigenous All-Stars take on the Maori All-Stars Saturday night at CommBank Stadium.

Sorry @callmack1 Dad and I are going for the Indigenous Boys, Dad grew up in Matraville when he was young and it was an area that had lots of Indigenous people and also with Souths having a lot to do with the Indigenous community etc....

CAFPOW

When I was a kid, during Christmas, Santa used to drive by our street on top of a Fire truck to say hi and give candies to us kids. Shaq Mitchell reminds me of the Fire truck. Hooly Dooly! Shaq's a very big boy.

callmack1

What a fantastic night that was last night for Rugby League!! had been waiting for that game since October and it certainly didn't disappoint. A wonderful way to kick off the year! Great celebration of culture, probably the most spiteful All Stars clash I've seen, quality Footy despite the conditions, and it was close all the way through. What more could you want?!!

Congrats to the Maori on the victory, they were certainly the better side all the way through.

I thought Shaq played pretty well in his limited minutes. Nothing sensational but he had some pretty solid runs and did his job. Very special night for him.

Dunno about you guys but I'm just buzzing today! Footy is back!! How good is Rugby League?!

From Zero Tackle,

Daley backs future tours for Indigenous All Stars, but not a World Cup berth

Former New South Wales coach Laurie Daley has backed future tours for the Indigenous All-Star Team but has stopped short of supporting the idea of them featuring at the World Cup.

Daley is coach of the All-Stars team for their upcoming showcase game this Saturday, which is expected to draw around 25,000 fans but believes the growth of the squad can't come at the detriment of the national side.

The former Kangaroo representative believes there is scope for the Indigenous All-Stars to go on tours of England and New Zealand, and against Pacific nations but said the World Cup should only feature one team from Australia.

“I personally believe you only need one Australian team, not two, at a World Cup, but I definitely think there’s an opportunity for this team to play a lot more games, including against the Pacific nations,” Daley said in a News Corp report.

“You could even have Indigenous tours over to England and New Zealand. It would be great to play more games, and we’d compete, don’t worry about that, there would be no worries there.”

Daley has reportedly embraced the unity dance to be possibly be performed by all Kangaroo players at this year's World Cup.

Former Melbourne and South Sydney Star Greg Inglis said that seeing an Indigenous team on show at such a global event would be terrific.

“I’m speaking for myself and my family, but I would love to see an Indigenous side on the world stage,” Inglis told the Sydney Morning Herald.

The Indigenous All-Stars take on the Maori All-Stars Saturday night at CommBank Stadium.

callmack1