Iamback
Great to have a test series against England and great to announce it this early in the season.
They need to. They have some big venues to try to fill
Great to have a test series against England and great to announce it this early in the season.
SMH is a Union rag, of course we know who'll come out on top of thier poll. And nothing triggers union fans more than league stepping out of its lane and playing internationals...watch them have little meltys in the comments section.Apparently the other Australian team will be playing at Twickenham at the same time the Kangaroos are playing in Liverpool..
The Sydney Morning Herald has an online poll asking which one will you be watching. The Poll currently shows the other team on 86%..
I am confident TV sets will easily in favour of the ‘Roos
Both teams have some very marketable players. Pretty boys who can play footy and sell ticketsThey need to. They have some big venues to try to fill
After the debacle of the French test hopefully IMG get marketing it right (presuming that's who will be responsible)Both teams have some very marketable players. Pretty boys who can play footy and sell tickets
Young, Farnsworth, KPP, Walsh, Hammer, Cleary
If marketed well the crowds shpuld come....thats assuming we have any budget for markering lol
They didn`t have a comments section for that article (dammit) I was all ready to very clearly set the record straight.SMH is a Union rag, of course we know who'll come out on top of thier poll. And nothing triggers union fans more than league stepping out of its lane and playing internationals...watch them have little meltys in the comments section.
Put the same poll in the Telegraph and the results will be reversed.
Some lofty goals set thereThe music promoter backing this summer’s Oasis reunion will be a major figure behind rugby league’s Ashes returning to England for the first time since 2003. The venues and dates for the three-Test series were confirmed on Wednesday.
England will face Australia, the world champions, in Tests at Wembley, Everton’s new home at Bramley-Moore Dock and Leeds Rhinos’ Headingley on consecutive Saturdays: 25 October, 1 November and 8 November. All three games will kick-off at 2.30 and be live on the BBC.
Organisers are confident they will sell out the last two games, as well as shoot for a close-to-capacity crowd in London. The series was due to be held in Australia before talks last winter led to a last-minute switch.
Simon Moran, the Warrington Wolves owner who has promoted some of the world’s biggest bands, was a major figure in delivering the series, as well as securing two high-profile venues.
“He’s supporting us and he’s helped us with venues and marketing: he’s fully on board,” said the chief of Rugby League Commercial, Rhodri Jones.
“It’s very much a step in the right direction for the game. It’s the first time a club owner has come with us on a journey like this. I liken it to Wigan and Warrington going to Las Vegas [this month]. He has been great. He’s an amazing person to spend time with. He will help with how we market the games.”
Organisers are hopeful of a quick sell-out at Headingley – which has a capacity of about 20,000 – when tickets go on sale next week to drive interest in the first two Tests. The England coach, Shaun Wane, and Jones defended the decision to have a potential decider there, with Jones calling it “Super League’s best ground”.
England and Australia will face each other for the first time since the 2017 World Cup final. Photograph: Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images
Jones said they have lofty ambitions for the games in London and Liverpool, with the second Test one of the first non-football events to be held at Bramley-Moore Dock. “It holds just over 52,000 and our ambition is to sell it out,” he said. “If we expect Headingley to fill up first, it pushes people to Wembley and Everton.
“In the 2013 World Cup [semi-final, when England lost to New Zealand at Wembley] there was just over 60,000 in, so that’s a natural target to overcome. If we get towards 80,000 then that would be a terrific outcome.”
Wane confirmed England will not have a Test this summer, meaning they will go almost 12 months without a game before the first Test at Wembley. But he believes that should not be a problem, with several squad camps pencilled in throughout the year. “I really don’t think we need that,” he said. “Having the chance to coach my country against the best players in the world … we will be ready. It’s the highlight of my coaching career. We won’t miss this opportunity.”
![]()
Oasis promoter behind rugby league’s Ashes series return to England
Warrington’s owner Simon Moran has been instrumental in the decision with the tour going to Everton’s new stadium for one of the three Testswww.theguardian.com
Mate let`s face it, it is a bullshit reason, if they weren`t so scared of being 2 nil down and from having been thumped they could get 50 000 at the third as well.Good to hear the reason for the small stadium for game 3
I`m worried though the Aussies will blow them off the park. We mightn`t have the depth we once had but still put together an awesome first 17 with major game breakers, they`re the blokes who will turn it.I reckon there is going to be a huge buzz for this. Despite the issues at RFL HQ the SL this years is buzzing with some great crowds and competitive table. RL fans have been waiting a long long time for an Ashes series. Those with nostalgia that remember the 80's and 90's and younger fans who've never had the opportunity. Hoping for great things from this series.
Maybe, but engalnd have some decent players and a couple of game breakers, if he plays them!I`m worried though the Aussies will blow them off the park. We mightn`t have the depth we once had but still put together an awesome first 17 with major game breakers, they`re the blokes who will turn it.
Best hope is Cleary and Munster can`t make it for whatever reason, our second-string halves (assuming DCE has retired from rep. football) brings us right back to the pack.
Pommy series win will set international League alight.