Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 Ashes Tour

Chins

England fought hard. They just need to revisit their tactics in attack. 26-6 is convincing but not disgraceful. Australia is the world's best team for a reason... and they are f**king good.

NRL and Origin sides get done by that margin often enough that it's not the end of the world. We need to stop being so critical.

Here's the scorelines from two of the last three RU world Cup finals, supposedly the best two teams:

2019: South Africa 32 England 12
2015: New Zealand 34 Australia 17

Here's some recent State of Origin scorelines:

2024 G1: QLD 38 NSW 10
2024 G2: NSW 38 QLD 18
2023 G2: QLD 32 NSW 6
The issue is they played like cowards and just went through the motions.

undertaker

England fought hard. They just need to revisit their tactics in attack. 26-6 is convincing but not disgraceful. Australia is the world's best team for a reason... and they are f**king good.

100% agree with you. It's hard to believe yesterday was the first time Australia played England since the 2017 RLWC Final.

Had England scored that try just a few minutes before half-time (i.e. the grubber kick that just trickled over the deadball line), there's a chance that England could've kept the scoreline close throughout the second half. However, once that didn't happen and Australia scored early in the 2nd half to go more than two converted tries ahead (14-0), it was game, set, match.

If the next Ashes series is scheduled to be played in 2028 (hosted by Australia), that's possibly another 3 more years we have to wait (a chance Australia may not play England in next year's World Cup).

newc18

If the next Ashes series is scheduled to be played in 2028 (hosted by Australia), that's possibly another 3 more years we have to wait (a chance Australia may not play England in next year's World Cup).
I like the idea of having the Ashes every 4 years, but England should do a Southern Hemisphere tour every 4 years as well. Have them play Tonga, PNG. Samoa, and New Zealand.

So you could have:

Year 1 - England tour SH (Alternate games in England and SH every World Cup cycle).
Year 2 - Ashes Tour
Year 3 - NZ vs England series?
Year 4 - World Cup.

That gives England plenty of Internationals. Alternate so England host two years every WC cycle.

some11

Picking John Bateman was ridiculous.

Having to watch him shit it up every weeek for my NRL club in 2025, what possessed Wane to pick him off that form?
He's definitely cooked. I can only assume the coach thinks NRL experience = you're in.

i0Nic

It wasn’t the scoreline that was the problem, it was that England looked so far behind Australia in terms of talent. It looked like Australia never got out of 2nd gear, and didn’t need to, to completely dominate them. It almost looked like Australia playing a tier 2 or 3 team.

Slowing the ruck also helped England a lot.

It’s disappointing to see this large gulf between the two nations. England just had nothing, no sizzle, no mongrel, not even passion.

England must drop some of the plodders on their team, I know the English fans were complaining about the selections which is fair enough. They need to do something major to not allow the next game being a 60-0 blowout.

Man that referee made it worse to watch than the Melbourne Storm at its peak wrestlemania period in the ruck. If that referee was the best they could offer, then it's no wonder the game in the UK is in such piss poor shape. Those rucks were so slow it robbed the game of any real spectacle in my book.

In terms of getting yardage from hit ups, the English forwards were poor.

Still filthy about yesterday and how England not only let the English RL fans down but international RL as well as this was the perfect opportunity to showcase our amazing sport in front of a huge crowd and on terrestrial television and we as usual f-ing blew it.
Look I felt the same mate but with a little distance I think it just shows that whatever it takes we have to have them playing southern hemisphere nations as much as possible.
Player numbers aren`t the problem, they`ve got the second biggest player pool by far, so it must be development.

Look I felt the same mate but with a little distance I think it just shows that whatever it takes we have to have them playing southern hemisphere nations as much as possible.
Player numbers aren`t the problem, they`ve got the second biggest player pool by far, so it must be development.
1st thing is to get rid of that fat headed dinosaur and start picking form players irrespective of their international experience.

MRN

Flicked over to CH9 during the lightning delay of Samoa v Tonga to see what they were doing or talking about and holy hell Gallen was ripping England to shreds. Cam Smith joining in too. Was quite entertaining.

Billythekid

It wasn’t the scoreline that was the problem, it was that England looked so far behind Australia in terms of talent. It looked like Australia never got out of 2nd gear, and didn’t need to, to completely dominate them. It almost looked like Australia playing a tier 2 or 3 team.

Slowing the ruck also helped England a lot.

It’s disappointing to see this large gulf between the two nations. England just had nothing, no sizzle, no mongrel, not even passion.

England must drop some of the plodders on their team, I know the English fans were complaining about the selections which is fair enough. They need to do something major to not allow the next game being a 60-0 blowout.
TBH the English have always punched above their weight. The NRL has always been in a far stronger position, more juniors, more money and more access to rep footy. If anything I can only think that gap is growing with the NRL just flying right now.

Having said that the English traditionally have generally been very competitive even if they don’t usually get the biscuits. That was one of the more disappointing performances I’ve seen from the English in my 30 years or so of watching

Last Week

Next Ashes, when the English Cricket team come to Australia they should have the English Rugby League team also... so you could have a double Ashes Series.... SFS, Suncorp and AAMI Park while the cricket is own the English would love it.

Brilliant idea, except the time of the year.

Crickets Ashes won't start until the end of November, well into the off season.

titoelcolombiano

The issue is they played like cowards and just went through the motions.
I'm not too concerned. England s talent is much better than they showed yesterday. Sometimes things just don't go your way. Look at Tonga today. They were hapless and got smashed, but 12 months ago pushed Australia in the final. New Zealand were champ in 2023 and in 2024 looked hopeless. Australia were pumped 30-0 in the 2023 final and haven't lost a test since.

QLD looked absolutely cooked after the 2024 SOO series plus game 1 of 2025.

Point is England are heaps better than what they showed yesterday and need to rethink their tactics and selections.