Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2026 Crowd Watch

Fastest Million

View attachment 111825

2008 to 2026 -- 48 games through round 6
2007 -- 46 games
2000 to 2006 -- 42 games
1999 -- 48 games
1998 -- 60 games
What that graph demonstrates is that crowds were on the up until 2013 when the `wrestle` period ended that momentum, the remedying of that has seen crowds resume their upward march.
You could almost conclude that previous fans have reengaged and new ones come on board.

Billythekid

This year could end up being really important to the future direction of the tigers. If they keep this form going and do something amazing like sellout their 4 commbank games it’s going to really put pressure on them to move more games away from suburban grounds. I don’t know all the ins and outs but I’m pretty sure a sold out commbank brings the a f**kton more money than a game at either of their traditional home grounds.

Gobsmacked

This year could end up being really important to the future direction of the tigers. If they keep this form going and do something amazing like sellout their 4 commbank games it’s going to really put pressure on them to move more games away from suburban grounds. I don’t know all the ins and outs but I’m pretty sure a sold out commbank brings the a f**kton more money than a game at either of their traditional home grounds.
Something amazing would be getting 20k plus to all those games.
You're talking about the second coming of Christ but I get your point. Realistically, clubs like Tigers need to be playing more games at new grounds and hopefully some great attendances with help them move in that direction.

Wb1234

How many clubs are not hitting a 20k average?
The game wanted 20k averaged by 202x and teams like the Broncos and Newy help out clubs like Manly and Sharks, but we must be getting close to that magical figure
Can’t blame manly when they are selling out their ground just about each week with an average footy team

they could average over 20k of Brookie got upgraded

sharks and dragons yeh that’s a problem lol. You didn’t mention the titans either

dolphins should be at least 25k too their crowds are below par for them

Gobsmacked

Probably only the Broncos and Panthers worth moving, maybe Melbourne.
I reckon an annual game against the Broncos at Eden park, only ever 1 game. Their first game was against the Broncos. A one off big event marketed as such we sell out every year and have fomo.

And the biggest and loudest atmosphere for a game of Rugby in NZ every year will be LEAGUE.

marlins2.0

Eden park for one game would be fine, ideally a 35 k capacity mt smart fixes all.
There's no money to upgrade existing stadia. Auckland Council has been dragging their heels around multiple venues/issues for decades now. They could erect scaffold seating in the north (i.e. to mirror what they have in the south stand) and have done that before. Would be a question of finances though and if it would be worth paying for that temporary seating. They can't split the cost with Auckland FC as they haven't been drawing well this season so aren't requiring extra seating.

I like the idea of playing Brisbane annually at Eden Park. Has to be a Saturday night though, Eden Park on a Friday is a nightmare to get to.

drcmuch

Warriors at Eden Park.

2011 Rnd 1 38,405 Warriors v Eels
2012 Rnd 1 37,502 Warriors v Sea Eagles
2013 Rnd 2 32,740 Warriors v Roosters

2014 Rnd 2 14,392 Warriors v Dragons
2014 Rnd 6 22,165 Warriors v Bulldogs
2014 Rnd 9 18,165 Warriors v Raiders

In those seasons Warriors were averaging in the 15-17k range.
My outsider take-away is that the punters were onboard with a one-off event at Eden Park, not so excited about going there more frequently.

Speaking of wests, our game sunday arvo in august against them could be absolutely anything crowd wise if this keeps up.

It doesnt require wests to be top 4, just a genuine chance of finishing in the 8 will do. They generally attend SFS well plus it's emergency services game. If both teams are entrenched in the 8, 35k is in play.

Gobsmacked

Warriors at Eden Park.

2011 Rnd 1 38,405 Warriors v Eels
2012 Rnd 1 37,502 Warriors v Sea Eagles
2013 Rnd 2 32,740 Warriors v Roosters

2014 Rnd 2 14,392 Warriors v Dragons
2014 Rnd 6 22,165 Warriors v Bulldogs
2014 Rnd 9 18,165 Warriors v Raiders

In those seasons Warriors were averaging in the 15-17k range.
My outsider take-away is that the punters were onboard with a one-off event at Eden Park, not so excited about going there more frequently.
That's exactly how this data reads. If you allow for how they're doing for crowds now and it being Broncos, it sells out without question.
It could be very profitable for the Warriors, boost support and be a great look for our game.

League Unlimited News

Wrapping up the weekend

Round 6 crowds​

Thu19:50CBY v PENAccor23,984
Fri18:00SGI v MANWIN11,381
Fri20:00BRI v NQLSuncorp45,582
Sat15:00SOU v CANOptus33,404
Sat17:30CRO v SYDOptus^
Sat19:35MEL v WARAAMI26,467
Sun14:00PAR v GLDCommBank14,382