Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

25 man squad

PB said:
No Willie Mason, who played in our last 4 tests! I wonder why????

No Villasanti? I wonder why???

No Hindmarsh! Ridiculous.

Hill and Barrett have talent, but havent used it due to injury in 12 months. Feel for Preston on that one.

And am i right. Has Matt Sing been selected ahead of Luke Rooney and Luke Lewis?! Fair dinkum!!!!

Feel for Davico, Kearns and Price (to an extent) with Petro getting there spot

Happy with the selection of Orford and Smith from Melbourne.

Willie Mason??? :lol: :lol:

Im glad he's finally not selected for Australia, he was lucky to make that tour. As for Villa he's just come back from injury and he hasnt played a game this season yet.

I do agree with you on Hindmarsh, Davico and Price. I mean c'mon these blokes put in the hard work week in week out. What do they have to do to earn selection? What does Steven Price have to do to make the Australian team?

Kearns has retired from rep football.

As for Lewis, deadset unlucky, he deserves to play for Australia. Timana Tahu is a shocker, I havent seen him do anything this season why did they pick him.

Trollhammaren

Ok..... WTF is Tate doing there?? He has played one game for Brisbane this year and was easily their WORST player on the field. Made so many errors and did f**k-all elsewhere. I'm really sick of reading Australian/NSW team selections because there's always such ridiculous selections/non-selections. No Campbell?? :lol: f**k off!!! Some other misfortunate players have been mentioned ie. Steve Price. But seriously, who is surprised at this.

PS. And Gidley??!?!?!!?!? :? What the f**king f**k?!?!?! :shock:

Pazza

i just cant believe Hindmarsh wasnt selected, he is the main reason Parra was winning games late last year and his work rate this season has been out of this world. To have Crocker named infront of him is a absolute joke.

Pigskin

you guys bagging Civoniceva's selection have no idea ..... he is close to the form prop of the comp ..... played outstandingly well vs the Warriors, was the Broncs only decent forward vs the Eels and played well vs the Tigers .... and is an incumbant ....

you'd think when it comes to Australian sides you could put team allegiances aside temporarily

Hindmarsh and Rooney are the only notable omissions, and Hindmarsh (despite the fact that I think he goes missing in rep games) is a shock

Kimmorley WILL be halfback and justifiably so .... Hill would be in front of Barrett right now .... and Gower will be the hooker/half on the bench taking Wing's spot

Campbell will never represent so just forget it, but god I hope they listen you lot and pick him for NSW haha

other than those 2 they got the squad right .... I don't like the Gidley selection but Gasnier is the only other contender who is equally out of form

Oink !

Meth

From that squad, my 17 would be...

1 Minichiello
2 Tahu
3 Hodges
4 Gidley
5 Sing
6 Lockyer
7 Gower

8 Webcke
9 Buderus
10 Bailey
11 Kennedy
12 Fitzgibbon
13 Hill

14 Civoniceva
15 Clinton
16 Crocker
17 Kimmorley

Big Mick

Luke Bailey - Fair enough, tough prop.
Trent Barrett- Over-rated Hack who has no form whatsoever, did not deserve a call up.
Danny Buderus- best hooker in the game
Petero Civoniceva - I'd rather have Steve Price than this log
Joel Clinton - Go Joel, but wont be in the 17
Michael Crocker - Hard worker, hasn't played much, but probably deserves a call up
Craig Fitzgibbon - Oozes class, great backrower
Chris Flannery - Dead set one of the most underrated players in the game, I have a huge rap on this kid, very good player and hard worker on the field
Bryan Fletcher - :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Matthew Gidley - :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Craig Gower - :clap: :clap: wont be playing half though.
Scott Hill- good player on his day but hasn't played much footy at all for 2 years, not happy he gets in ahead of preston
Justin Hodges - Good centre, but has an attitude problem
Ben Kennedy - Good solid backrower
Brett Kimmorley - Don't like him, just not a leader like Gower is, but he will get picked and we will lose, again to the kiwis because of that
Darren Lockyer - Don't know if he'll play 5-8 or fullback, gower may go to five-eight, not sure, but definite worthiness
Anthony Minichiello - Improving every game
Matt Orford - Deserves a shot, better than Kimmorley
Matt Sing - Hasn't scored a try yet this year, out of form, not good enough for international football at the moment.
Cameron Smith - Great player, top 3 hookers in the game at the moment.
Timana Tahu - PASS!
Brent Tate - biggest joke of the selections, you can tell most selectors are from Queensland, the guy plays 1 game in 12 months and gets selected, personally i think Lewis shits all over him
Shaun Timmins- Should not play five-eight at all costs
Trent Waterhouse - go trent
Shane Webck - Tough as Rails!!

I think its disgraceful Luke Lewis didn't get picked ahead of Tate, thats just disgusting, How hindmarsh didn't get in ahead of Bryan Fletcher is another thing for me.

I think Rooney can feel hard done by also.

Munky

Johns Magic said:
Just look at Gower, 12 months ago, he wouldn't have even been considered for NSW, and only City if he was lucky.

In 2001 after the Panthers got the wooden spoon he was selected for the Kangaroo tour as backup halfback to Andrew Johns. He played the first game against PNG and was injured.

And again Luke Davico misses out on a rep spot he soo sorely deserves

Luke Bailey - Fine
Trent Barrett - Normally performs at this level but still :roll:
Danny Buderus - no problems
Petero Civoniceva - Where Davico or Price??
Joel Clinton - I guess but still their a more deserving props about
Michael Crocker - Ill cop that, good player
Craig Fitzgibbon - no problems
Chris Flannery - Top player and deserves it
Bryan Fletcher - I cant say he has impressed me, where is N Hindy?
Matthew Gidley - :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Craig Gower - Yea i can agree with this
Scott Hill - Not a bad choice but Presto would have been better
Justin Hodges - Good player, still hate him thou
Ben Kennedy - No worries
Brett Kimmorley - :roll: :roll: :roll:
Darren Lockyer - Sweet as
Anthony Minichiello - Should definatly be there
Matt Orford - :clap: well done selectors!
Matt Sing - Whats doing? Hell Robertson from the raiders is in better form than this bloke
Cameron Smith - Another top selection!
Timana Tahu - :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Brent Tate - Yet to play a game yet gets selected? Perhaps Bennett is another ando :roll:
Shaun Timmins - Sorry i just dont rate him, better players around
Trent Waterhouse - good form but i think he is still over-rated
Shane Webck - Yea i guess but he hasnt been playing that well

all in all an average team. No players that really deserve it will ever make the team so long as the selectors and coaches have club affiliations

SirShire

Big Mick said:
Brett Kimmorley - Don't like him, just not a leader like Gower is, but he will get picked and we will lose, again to the kiwis because of that

Get your hand off it.

skeepe

Raider_69 said:
Matt Sing - Whats doing? Hell Robertson from the raiders is in better form than this bloke

Agreed, and even through my green-eyed glasses I wouldn't pick Robertson for Australia. So many better winders out there at the moment. Don't get me wrong, Sing's a good player, just not doing enough right now.

Out of the squad, my 17 would be

1. Darren Lockyer (c)
2. Anthony Minichiello
3. Chris Flannery
4. Justin Hodges
5. Matt Sing (nobody else in the squad is worthy)
6. Scott Hill
7. Craig Gower
8. Shane Webcke
9. Danny Buderus
10. Luke Bailey
11. Craig Fitzgibbon
12. Ben Kennedy
13. Trent Waterhouse

14. Cameron Smith
15. Michael Crocker
16. Joel Clinton
17. Shaun Timmins

I personally think that the outside backs are very, very weak. Solid forward pack, but I would have preferred someone else to be locking the scrum. Still, maybe they can surprise me and win it, although the Kiwis are in extremely good form at the moment.

Luke Bailey - Not a bad selection, hasnt had the best start to the season but will improve
Trent Barrett - Again hasnt had the best start to the season, but normally goes well at rep level.
Danny Buderus - agree
Petero Civoniceva - Yeah, ok i guess, but i wouldve had Price
Joel Clinton - deserved it, surley he'll get a spot in the team
Michael Crocker - good utility player
Craig Fitzgibbon - thats a good one, a good goal kicker
Chris Flannery - see Crocker
Bryan Fletcher - in a low side, he's performed really well
Matthew Gidley - Now C'mon if you're gonna pick him, you might as well have no centres. He is crap without Johns. I wouldve preferred MacDougall over Gidley
Craig Gower - He's had the season in 2003, way better than Kimmorley, I reckon he deserves a starting spot
Scott Hill - I agree with it, but Campbell is better
Justin Hodges - Good player, but i hope the Kiwis smash him
Ben Kennedy - Good forward, had a good game against the Eels
Brett Kimmorley - No suprise :roll: :roll: , but I hope he doesnt get the half spot
Darren Lockyer - enough said
Anthony Minichiello - see Lockyer
Matt Orford - Good choice, he's been on fire lately
Matt Sing - Good speedster, hasnt had the best start to the season but will improve
Cameron Smith - Top selection, this kid can play
Timana Tahu - You've gotta be kidding :? , I wouldve had De Vere or Grothe over him. Poor selection
Brent Tate - this is ridiculous, he's played one bloody game, and he gets picked. Luke Lewis had a sensational year in 2003, picked on the Roo tour didnt get a game, yet gets overlooked :?
Shaun Timmins - Like some of the Dragons in the squad, he'll improve
Trent Waterhouse - is in great form, deserves his selection
Shane Webcke - Number one prop forward in the game, y not

A few selections I cant work out.

Steve Price- what does the bloke have to do make the Australian team? He is really trying his absolute best, when his club is struggling.
Nathan Hindmarsh- he really gives 100% he's made nearly 100 tackles in the last 2 games, and has stepped up. In great form at the moment.
Luke Lewis- was unlucky not to play a test last year, so he surely wouldve got another chance at it. I dont understand why they rate Tate, Gidley and TAhu ahead of Lewis.
O'Hara or Davico- either one or both wouldve been fine, its just like last year, the selectors dont watch Canberra games. I swear these 2 are putting in most work of any player in the comp. Still overlooked. :?

I think Australia will win the test, but it'll be tough one though. I just hope they dont pick Gidley and Tahu.

skeepe said:
Out of the squad, my 17 would be

1. Darren Lockyer (c)
2. Anthony Minichiello
3. Chris Flannery
4. Justin Hodges
5. Matt Sing (nobody else in the squad is worthy)
6. Scott Hill
7. Craig Gower
8. Shane Webcke
9. Danny Buderus
10. Luke Bailey
11. Craig Fitzgibbon
12. Ben Kennedy
13. Trent Waterhouse

14. Cameron Smith
15. Michael Crocker
16. Joel Clinton
17. Shaun Timmins

I personally think that the outside backs are very, very weak. Solid forward pack, but I would have preferred someone else to be locking the scrum. Still, maybe they can surprise me and win it, although the Kiwis are in extremely good form at the moment.

Skeepe, thats a top lineup I agree 100% with it.

Fibroman

thuganomics said:
Anyone who does not Have Buderus or BK there are dead set idiots.

I'm a penrith supporter, and Bedsy and BK would be the first 2 forwards I pick. Lockyer is an automatic, along with Minnicello on current form.

Nathan Hindmarsh is a great player and should be in the starting 13.

I'd like to know what the selectors are smoking? I want to get some, so I can lose touch with reality for a while as well.

Le Rouge

I gotta say some players picked in this squad should go and buy some Lotto tickets cause they are lucky to even be considred let alone picked in the squad.

#-o Sheesh ..........theres some stinkers in that line up. :|

Our squad sucks ......Thats it .........go the Kiwis :lol:

Le Rouge's Australian Team

1. Lockyer (c)
2. Minichello
3. MacDougall (He's mental and inform)
4. Timmins
5. Sing
6. Campbell
7. Gower or Orford take ya pick
8. Webke
9. Buderus
10. Clinton
11. Kennedy
12. Fitzgibbon
13. Waterhouse

14. Hill
15. L Bailey
16. Civoneciva
17. Hindmarsh

miccle

Tate is a great player, but I agree if it was on form, there's no way he would be in here. Lewis deserves the spot fo sho - but sheesh both Tate and Berro have played one game this year and berrigan was SENSATIONAL compared to Tatey.

Hindmarsh v. unlucky to miss out. If i was choosing the top 17 (not from that list), I'd have:

1. Lockyer (c)
2. Sing
3. Lewis
4. Hodges
5. Minichiello
6. Campbell!!!!!!!!!!!!
7. Gower/Orford
8. Webcke
9. Buderus
10. L. Bailey
11. N HINDMARSH!!!!!!
12. Fitzgibbon (gk)
13. Sattler

14. S Berrigan/Crocker/Flannery - all good utility players
15. Waterhouse
16. Davico
17. Civenocieva

The no-selections of Davico, Price, Campbell, Lewis and/or Rooney are ridiculous.

Tate? Gidley? Barrett? Ugh.

I know I'm biased, but Luke Davico is one of the most consistent props in the competition yet he never gets rewarded. I feel so sorry for him.

Johns Magic said:
Why is everyone here so anti- kimmorley? Sure, he's one of the players that you love to hate, and his Chris Anderson relationship is a bit obvious, but he is still a top player. Every time that he has been called on to replace Johns for Ausralia or NSW he has done a top job. Just look at the GB series. He pretty much carried that team play-making wise, and was the only one who really took responsibility for the team, and played a captain-like role( no disrespect to Lockyer). If you look at all of the halfbacks in contention, they all play for relatively succesful teams, whereas Kimmorley doesn't. If Kimmorley was playing in a team that was consistently winning, and in the top 6, he would look better too. Just look at Gower, 12 months ago, he wouldn't have even been considered for NSW, and only City if he was lucky. But ever since the Panthers have improved, he is considered one of the best in the competition. I am not a Kimmorley fan, in fact, I don't really like him, but you got to give credit where it's due, and Kimmorley is deserving of it
Well said Johns Magic! :clap: :clap: :clap: