Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2KY & The Big Sports Breakfast

Stallion

Jimmy is starting to morph into the fence sitting TK.
I lament that the days of virtually all rugby league coverage are gone! Their was a time when if their was no Sydney side in the AFL u wouldnt hear of that code on the BSB in our grandfinal week. Wonder if the sister station in Melbourne gives the Storm or rugby league the same publicity as Sydneys BSB?

Life's Good

I lament that the days of virtually all rugby league coverage are gone! Their was a time when if their was no Sydney side in the AFL u wouldnt hear of that code on the BSB in our grandfinal week. Wonder if the sister station in Melbourne gives the Storm or rugby league the same publicity as Sydneys BSB?
If you mean SEN, they give coverage of league akin to it being a niche sport. It's the same with the Victorian print media.
I am not an AFL fan but they have done a good job in getting coverage disproportionately higher in NSW than it actually warrants(IMO). League has too many vested interests and self serving attitudes that hasn't allowed that to happen. In fact the coverage in NSW is probably a split of 50% genuine news and 50% rumour/gossip/muckraking(IMO)

Stallion

If you mean SEN, they give coverage of league akin to it being a niche sport. It's the same with the Victorian print media.
I am not an AFL fan but they have done a good job in getting coverage disproportionately higher in NSW than it actually warrants(IMO). League has too many vested interests and self serving attitudes that hasn't allowed that to happen. In fact the coverage in NSW is probably a split of 50% genuine news and 50% rumour/gossip/muckraking(IMO)

Wonder if their is a media and public relations officer/s at the NRL? If their is such employees then they are not delivering or havent been given the appropriate kpi/directives from those in charge!

Life's Good

Wonder if their is a media and public relations officer/s at the NRL? If their is such employees then they are not delivering or havent been given the appropriate kpi/directives from those in charge!
The NRL media dept kicks off shortly and hopefully they don't delay in getting league the coverage it warrants. As a start I am just hoping they use roving microphones in the after game press conferences as a sign of moving with the times.

Stallion

The NRL media dept kicks off shortly and hopefully they don't delay in getting league the coverage it warrants. As a start I am just hoping they use roving microphones in the after game press conferences as a sign of moving with the times.

That seems to be very late to engage a media department? I'd suggest other codes would have this well and truelly established? The wholistic approach with young kids as a focus has been extremely evident and comprehensive in so many mediums in promoting/publicizing AFL!

Life's Good

That seems to be very late to engage a media department. Id suggest other codes would have this well and truelly established? The wholistic approach with young kids as a focus has been extremely evident and comprehensive in so many mediums promoting/publicizing AFL!
Mate, you're talking about a code that has trouble getting out of its own way at times.
I share you're frustration because I love the game but don't understand why it spins its wheels, particularly when it comes to promoting it.

Stallion

Mate, you're talking about a code that has trouble getting out of its own way at times.
I share you're frustration because I love the game but don't understand why it spins its wheels, particularly when it comes to promoting it.

Yes. Very poor leadership and direction for a "top flight" sport in Australia. Spinning their wheels is a good analogy! They are neglecting the code big time!

Life's Good

Yes. Very poor leadership and direction for a "top flight" sport in Australia. Spinning their wheels is a good analogy! They are neglecting the code big time!
Hopefully not for much longer. The NRL would have an eye on the next TV rights deal and should realise they need to lift their game or the $$ won't be the same. Maybe they won't be but that is no excuse for them to not have a focussed media department.

Stallion

Hopefully not for much longer. The NRL would have an eye on the next TV rights deal and should realise they need to lift their game or the $$ won't be the same. Maybe they won't be but that is no excuse for them to not have a focussed media department.

Indeed. Im now a teacher however my first degree was in Communication Studies. Id like to think ive got a reasonable idea of how and what should be done. Taking particular note of other codes and their successful strategies would be prudent for this code.

Delboy

There has been no such thing as leadership and direction since Greenberg became CEO, he really needs to step up now because so far he has been spectacularly behind other codes and the 8ball

Headless Chook

Every time he speaks it just sounds so contrived and forced much like the mouthpiece morons we have supposedly running the country. Hardly a visionary and more like a wet sock. The bloke is a dud.

Lemon Squash

Have they signed on as a sponsor to the Sydney Kings or something? every second segment is about the NBL now.

Too bad it isn't 1991 anymore.

Stallion

Have they signed on as a sponsor to the Sydney Kings or something? every second segment is about the NBL now.

Too bad it isn't 1991 anymore.

Yes. Ive noticed the lack of footy (rugby league) talk. The world cup should be a real item on the show and not just an odd mention here or there. Im sure in its orignal days the show was far more rugby league focused .

Caller John discussing Nick Kygrios and his excuses about illness (was a good call).
TK agrees with him, and then brings in Slats...dead air for 2 secs.
Slats "Oh sorry, I was reading about T10 cricket"

Why does he bother being on the show when all he cares about his just cricket.