Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

3,2,1 vs Donkeys

dinghydi

Reason for my laugh was 3. Joseph Suaalii.

Yes how can we not forget his important contribution.

lol.
My initial reaction to union bound sualii was disgust however have since considered his age and number of hangers on/bludgers etc he must have in his ear . I guess its not all Beer and skittles for him .

Inferno

3. Sifa - his versatility is more and more impressive. His 80mins in the backrow was all quality.
2. Ramien - run metres and defence were great.
1. Hunt - impact off the bench was huge.

It was another excellent coached performance with great use of the bench.

Toby seems to be hitting some form and hopefully BHU ain't too far away.

Eion

3 - Sifa…. I just love the bloke. All intent!
2 - Katoa - our premier winger, the best in the comp
1 - Iro - works his nuts off. And similar to Sifa and Brit, looks like he puts 100% into every contact, with and without the ball.

Hunt was the game changer, so should probably get points, but i go with my 3 anyway. Thought Brailey was terrific too - but, like I say every week, not 1 bit of craft or attempt to burrow over in the final 10 all game - he doesn’t even have eyes up looking for an opportunity for himself, never even a glance. He needs to be a threat to lfit our game in good ball. That being said, his long ball for the Tricky try was delicious and deserved credit - wasn’t even mentioned by the commentary team.
That pass was a tracer bullet. Very few could have done it

Tiger Shark

With 3 of last 5 rounds being wins in what was always going to be a testing time. 2 without Nicho.

I have the last 5 weeks as a big pass. Anyone not happy with the last 5 weeks is hard to please and probably a tad on the unrealistic side.
Fitzy mentioned as an area he might need to work on but I think fatigue the last two losses can’t be overlooked. We got up for some big games and we were flat in those two losses.

Back to our usual energy last night

One more game then a bye then 3 winnable games then our next bye.

Then 7 games before finals. Quite a lot are winnable too.

We are playing the right type of footy for finals now compared to our throw it around attack like last year.

Trindall’s ankle tap on Mariner was good, but should never have happened. His pass to Iro was a shocker and should never have been thrown. It screamed intercept before it left his hands.
But the effort to cover the mistake was huge. He was on the ground when Mariner took off. Had to get up to chase and he chased hard. He makes a million effort plays a game that kid. He has to be the 6 when the team settles.

Give Iro some time... what's he 10 games in now? Tricky is a no brainer once Nicho is back tho Nicho's injury was a blessing in disguise. While Atkinson needs to work on his passing he's also a work in progress. Maybe 6 games in? He's been part of away wins against the Storm and Donkeys and is a genuine back up half that we desperately needed given Tricky's bender and Nicho's dusty calf.
We can make week to week, minute to minute judgements in the emotion of a game, and we all will. FTR though, I think it will be fairer to judge Iro after 40-50 more games. He's like a bit of plasticine just out of the box. Needs to be formed and moulded before he can be considered a finished product

DJDL

We can make week to week, minute to minute judgements in the emotion of a game, and we all will. FTR though, I think it will be fairer to judge Iro after 40-50 more games. He's like a bit of plasticine just out of the box. Needs to be formed and moulded before he can be considered a finished product

I don’t think the side has figured out how to create space for him yet either.
The same could be said of Ramien in years gone by, but he’s starting to benefit from earlier, cleaner ball.

Get that happening to the left and we’ll start to see what Iro is capable of.

Craigshark

But the effort to cover the mistake was huge. He was on the ground when Mariner took off. Had to get up to chase and he chased hard. He makes a million effort plays a game that kid. He has to be the 6 when the team settles.

yep, don’t doubt the effort. I think it was a case of him realising he’d f**ked up big time and if he doesn’t make the effort, the broncos are back in the game big time with not long left. It was definitely at a time in the game where his show and go would have been a better option.

That's what makes it so good. I've had concerns that the side doesn't defend the penalties it gives and the errors it makes. There was a fair bit of blokes covering up their own errors quickly in the second half, either same play or within 2 plays. Williams did it after he dropped the ball then killed some snorkel. Tricky's. I think Ronnie turned an error into a great play as well. Someone else did at any rate

3 Talakai
2 Hunt
1 Katoa - how about when he put ball on ground to take the tap, and Atkins says no one does it like that anymore.

Couple things would it be beneficial when Wilton back to have Talakai start at second row, Wilton to come on play middle.

Atkinson yes struggles passing but has a good step, Trindall will come back in.
If all going well after 2nd bye we can freshen up team have him start at fullback give Kennedy a game off, let's make sure we have cover in case of injury come finals

DJDL

Couple things would it be beneficial when Wilton back to have Talakai start at second row, Wilton to come on play middle.

Atkinson yes struggles passing but has a good step, Trindall will come back in.
If all going well after 2nd bye we can freshen up team have him start at fullback give Kennedy a game off, let's make sure we have cover in case of injury come finals

No.

Hell no.

bluefox68

He’s a great reader of the game tricky. Watch how often he is in a position to clean up esp near our goal line
Yes - I pointed out that this cost us a few times while he was out.
Ronnie would be pressing in repeatedly, with the expectation that the ‘6’ would be a sweeper behind the line.
However, Atko didn’t quite get there…

DJDL

So who is back up coverage for Kennedy then

Given Dykes is out of action, Atkinson.
But that doesn’t mean I’d be resting Will and giving DA a run.

He’s Connor Tracey with a kicking game and should only be sighted in firsts when absolutely necessary.

shadowboxer

3- sifa - the bloke has no ceiling
2- Kennedy - safe as houses
1 - Rolls Royce - turned the tide, just wish both he and Cory Horsburgh met again this season.
Plenty of special mentions within the team and decent bounce back again a pack of flogs