Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

5/8??

Manu Vatuvei

Iafeta said:
Yes, in the Kevin Campion mould a lock is your gigantuan of defence I guess.

I was thinking more the Sonny Bill, Ben Kennedy style - note, I'm not pretending for a second Jerome has those ball skills - even for a more recent and more fitting example, Shontayne Hape in the Tri Nations, another close example although he's played more second row than lock of late is Rod Jensen. Someone with acceleration off the mark, the ability to beat the defenders with footwork, is strong upper body to make good contact in the tackle, and has the knowledge of playing five eighth to ball play. I think it kind of fits in our side where we have three hard working "stat" man backrowers in Koopu, Guttenbeil and Anderson behind even harder working props in Price and Wiki, one man with that extra explosiveness that Ropati could provide. I dont' think they'll go that way, but its an interesting throught none the less.

Again, where I think he lacks is kicking. If Jerome had have shown to me an average kicking game in his time in the NRL I'd say hands down Ropati. Perhaps Faumuina is considered more a natural kicker??

imo Sione and Jerome both have ball playing skills, Jerome has a better kicking game, and Sione is bigger and stronger, hence Sione is more a 13 and Jerome more a 6. Obviously you don't see Jerome as having any kicking game at all, but I've seen enough to at least feel that he is better than Sione.

You Never know, Last time I saw Ropati he was looking alot more bulky than in the past. They might have a special role planed for him this year!

Iafeta

Thierry, I don't know whether it was because the game plan relied too heavily on Stacey, and to a lesser extent Fien, but I can't recall Jerome having any significant role in winning us games with his kicking. It could be a wrong perception, but he appears either lacking in it or lacking in confidence to use it.

I do recall Sione doing a couple of kicks here or there, notably one that put Louis Anderson over only for him to drop it. And one where he put Francis Meli in for a match winner against the Chooks, although I tend to believe that was somewhat of a fluke given it came largely off his shin/knee! I also recall him chip kicking a couple of times versus Parramatta at Parramatta Stadium (heart-break hell that game, I couldn't leave the ground for like 10 minutes I was in a trance) that resulted in long range, match turning tries. Coupled with his goal kicking that he basically employed with no previous training that I'm aware of to a fair degree, and perhaps Ivan Cleary and the coaching staff saw some natural untapped kicking ability that could be worked onto a better end result than young Jerome?

I'm only guessing, but I'm hoping thats what Ivan has gone on - some raw abilities to play make and organise that haven't been truly tested yet.

Manu Vatuvei

Iafeta said:
Thierry, I don't know whether it was because the game plan relied too heavily on Stacey, and to a lesser extent Fien, but I can't recall Jerome having any significant role in winning us games with his kicking. It could be a wrong perception, but he appears either lacking in it or lacking in confidence to use it.

I do recall Sione doing a couple of kicks here or there, notably one that put Louis Anderson over only for him to drop it. And one where he put Francis Meli in for a match winner against the Chooks, although I tend to believe that was somewhat of a fluke given it came largely off his shin/knee! I also recall him chip kicking a couple of times versus Parramatta at Parramatta Stadium (heart-break hell that game, I couldn't leave the ground for like 10 minutes I was in a trance) that resulted in long range, match turning tries. Coupled with his goal kicking that he basically employed with no previous training that I'm aware of to a fair degree, and perhaps Ivan Cleary and the coaching staff saw some natural untapped kicking ability that could be worked onto a better end result than young Jerome?

I'm only guessing, but I'm hoping thats what Ivan has gone on - some raw abilities to play make and organise that haven't been truly tested yet.

I reckon Sione is a very skillful player and for sure he would be able to chip and regather, roll the ball into the in-goal etc. I seem to recall Ropati putting in a few (only a few) 40 or 50 metre efforts when needed. Really though, I don't think either has much of a kicking game.

Scott

Iafeta said:
Could Jerome turn into a lock forward? I can't see why he couldn't.

Could be the best of both worlds?

I raised that point a whilee ago and you all laughed at me! I see him in the Dene Halatau mould and think he would go very good in the 13.

speedy1

Not sure whether to continue this, as you can see I'm a newbie to this forum. My view on Jerome is based on watching a lot of Bartercard over the last few years. He definitely has a kicking game if allowed to and played brilliantly in that position for Marist. Imo he was the best back prospect going around in BC and fortunately got picked up by the warriors.i am convinced having watched league for the last 30 years that he is the best long term prospect for the warriors at no 6.

i'm happy for Cleary to give sione a crack and hope he goes well but it would be a shame if ropati is not given a fair go there in a settled team. From memory he started out there last year and then got pushed out to centre to cover for tony martin and then did well there plus made the kiwis.The kid has huge talent, just might have to bide his time and no i'm not related just a league nut

ozbash

speedy1 said:
Not sure whether to continue this, as you can see I'm a newbie to this forum.

welcome aboard mate.
your veiws are very welcome on this forum. :D

Skinner

speedy1 said:
Not sure whether to continue this, as you can see I'm a newbie to this forum. My view on Jerome is based on watching a lot of Bartercard over the last few years. He definitely has a kicking game if allowed to and played brilliantly in that position for Marist. Imo he was the best back prospect going around in BC and fortunately got picked up by the warriors.i am convinced having watched league for the last 30 years that he is the best long term prospect for the warriors at no 6.

i'm happy for Cleary to give sione a crack and hope he goes well but it would be a shame if ropati is not given a fair go there in a settled team. From memory he started out there last year and then got pushed out to centre to cover for tony martin and then did well there plus made the kiwis.The kid has huge talent, just might have to bide his time and no i'm not related just a league nut

I can tell you, if Jerome does not get the number 6 jumper, on a permanent
basis, then we can wave him good bye.

Skinner

MKEB...

I seem to remember Ropati walzing through the Brissie defence over in aus last year.

He has a great step. Can Tackle, ( though a couple of games last year he looked lost defending in the centres, but then I dont think he is a centre).Though to be honest I havent seen to much of a passing game from him.
I would like to see him play fullback if Webb gets injured...Either him or Byrne.

NZ Warrior

Skinner said:
I can tell you, if Jerome does not get the number 6 jumper, on a permanent
basis, then we can wave him good bye.

Skinner

HOORAY!!!

I certainly hope so, Skooter.

byrne_rovelli_fan82

I must say I've got alot of resevations about having Sione @ 6 but who knows. He just may prove all of us wrong (that'll be the day won't it! lmao). However if it's for the team's benefit then I'm prepared to give him a further chanve there. And who says he can be a little roamer at times to?! :eek:

NZ Warrior

Skinner said:
Oh No.....God help me......he's back:cry:

Hello wocker....where you been.......

Haha, my reign of terror continues soon.

I've just been lurking around for a while.

byrne_rovelli_fan82

So, you're all still happy if he stays in the position? Ok after one trial some of us have been a bit harsh, but I expected more ya know. If he doesn't deliver this time I won't be happy @ all.