Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

7 and 10 wins AFL rights, Does it affect your club?

Alex28

Out here - Dubbo.

2 Ratings Points - I'll try and find the source...I might have read it on either Crikey or the Sydney Morning Herald. Either way that was the points difference that was quoted. You have to remember that is points added to Seven and Ten and points deducted off Nine and Ten (depending on timeslots).

$20 Million Advertising Revenue - that isn't from having the AFL - thats from being able to claim to being the number one television network (without having a major event like the World Cup Soccer or Olympic Games for example). The points difference may just be enough for Seven to overtake Nine.

Green Machine

Alex28 said:
Out here - Dubbo.
Dubbo is part of WIN TV from Wollongong – Prime TV from Orange – Capital TV from Canberra. I would love to see ratings for Rugby League against Australian Rules in Dubbo, Parkes, Orange, Bathurst, Forbes, Wellington, Cowra and Mudgee. I can assure if WIN stopped showing NRL on a Friday Night in the Central West, there would be an uprising.
Alex28 said:
2 Ratings Points - I'll try and find the source...I might have read it on either Crikey or the Sydney Morning Herald. Either way that was the points difference that was quoted. You have to remember that is points added to Seven and Ten and points deducted off Nine and Ten (depending on timeslots).

$20 Million Advertising Revenue - that isn't from having the AFL - thats from being able to claim to being the number one television network (without having a major event like the World Cup Soccer or Olympic Games for example). The points difference may just be enough for Seven to overtake Nine.

Keep digging, Alex

Alex28

Green Machine said:
Dubbo is part of WIN TV from Wollongong – Prime TV from Orange – Capital TV from Canberra. I would love to see ratings for Rugby League against Australian Rules in Dubbo, Parkes, Orange, Bathurst, Forbes, Wellington, Cowra and Mudgee. I can assure if WIN stopped showing NRL on a Friday Night in the Central West, there would be an uprising.
Sorry - I was thinking live Saturday night, not live Friday night. My bad. You will find though that there has been cases where WIN has bumped League in Wagga for AFL for a high rating game.

sheet_ed

I think was Kerry's sucker punch and 7, 10 & the AFL fell for it.

1. Market research shows that free to air television is shrinking, by 2008 digital TV is mandatory and internet TV is already available (MS and Intel are releasing a new product this year).

2. With Nine the AFL had League pinned down. Now it is a low economical for nine to seriously promote it's product.

3. Within the next 5 years another TV license is to be granted by the government. Therefore further margins will shrink.

4. At the end of contract the AFL will be in a fixed income stream that will not be matched, and players clubs and officials will collapse. Remember post super League.

5. Soccer (the sleeping giant) will start sucking some of the advertising dollars already allocated to AFL.

The share market has already reacted to the announcment.

My view is if you have Seven or Ten shares - SELL SELL SELL!

Green Machine

Alex28 said:
Sorry - I was thinking live Saturday night, not live Friday night. My bad. You will find though that there has been cases where WIN has bumped League in Wagga for AFL for a high rating game.
Maybe Wagga but not Dubbo, Parkes, Orange, Bathurst, Lithgow, Forbes, Wellington, Cowra, Young, Cootamundra, Temora, Mudgee, Batemans Bay, Queanbeyan, Canberra, Nowra, Wollongong, Blue Mountains, Sydney, Central Coast, Newcastle, Nelson Bay, Taree, Port Macquarie, Kempsey, Coffs Harbour, Casino, Grafton, Lismore, Ballina, Murwillumbah, Tweed Heads, Singleton, Muswellbrook, Tamworth, Armidale, Gunnedah, Moree, Inverell and Glen Innes,

nqboy

Alex28 said:
What I want to know is why the NRL don't sell the "final right to bid" themselves - what a great revenue source!
That would be because the NRL is half owned by News Ltd who can guarantee they will pick up the rights, so they don't have to pay for the priviledge of last offer.

nqboy

I suppose it gets down to whether James wants to risk investing in the game to grow his product. Yes, initially, NRL won't rate in primetime in the southern states, so the owners down there would rather conced the ratings and play a cheap old movie than pay the big bucks for NRL and still lose in the ratings. But if James is prepared to gamble, he could sell NRL games to the southern Neins cheaper, taking a hit now, against the prospect of a product with national appeal in the future.

But then, in all the kerfuffle over Kerry's death, I read a comment that both he and James liked to gamble. The difference is that Kerry liked to try to break the house, James preferred to be the house. So it would seem that James is more conservative and if Kerry couldn't see his way clear to promote NRL in the SS, it's unlikely that James will. Unfortunately.

Alex28

Green Machine said:
Maybe Wagga but not Dubbo, Parkes, Orange, Bathurst, Lithgow, Forbes, Wellington, Cowra, Young, Cootamundra, Temora, Mudgee, Batemans Bay, Queanbeyan, Canberra, Nowra, Wollongong, Blue Mountains, Sydney, Central Coast, Newcastle, Nelson Bay, Taree, Port Macquarie, Kempsey, Coffs Harbour, Casino, Grafton, Lismore, Ballina, Murwillumbah, Tweed Heads, Singleton, Muswellbrook, Tamworth, Armidale, Gunnedah, Moree, Inverell and Glen Innes,

You will find Young, Temora, Cootamundra and surrounding areas get Wagga's WIN feed - so they in fact get the AFL on WIN when Wagga does. You can show all those towns (many in fact get NBN which is completely different to WIN), but the Southern NSW area is big and takes a fair chunk out of rural television ratings.

taipan

Ch7 shares took a hit yesterday,the shareholders are getting squirmish because you can spend even with 10 $780m,but you have to match it with income from advtg revenue .Most financial pundits seem to think its a costly exercise and as one said could turn out to be "a poison chalice" for Kerry Stokes the main 7 man.I would rather be a PBL shareholder(ch9) than a seven shareholder lets put it that way,at least 9 will make a profit I dont know abbout 7 or 10.
What 7 and 10 should realise that whilst the South Melboune lame ducks "the swans" won last yrs G/F,if they become born agin losers then the Tv ratings in Sydney will go down the dunny even further.look at what happend with the brisbane lions Tv ratings last year in Brisbane.
Remember what happened with ch10 a few years back,ch9 ended up getting the RL much cheaper,because Lowy paid too much for the rights.
I would much rather ch9 concentrating on rugby league,and maybe just maybe getting off their fat backsides and promoting in other states alittle more,and also not having Eddie McGuire face scaring the kiddies talking about AFL all the time.

legend

The price paid by both 7 and 10 are way over the odds and in a small tv market like Australia, there is very little chance of them breaking even, especially with such a low contra portion of the deal, with over 600 million to be coughed up in cold hard cash.

Nine played this beautifully by squeezing every last dollar out of 7 and 10 and Stokes new he had to cough up if he wanted to get a shot at being the number one network.

IMO, this move is the first of PBL moving away from free to air tv. they know the margins are being squeezed and I doubt they will own nine in two or three years.

Luc

This was on The Age's website today:

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/

"The National Rugby League last year sold its broadcast rights to Channel Nine and Foxtel for a total cash package of just under $100 million."

That's not correct is it? I thought the deal was for around $500 million over 5 years. I know the NRL normally gets a larger share of its payment as contra but surely its not 80% of the total package!

russ13

Interesting Roy Master's spin on things:

http://www.smh.com.au/news/afl/dela...-rights-granted/2006/01/05/1136387572869.html

..While Nine/Foxtel refuse to comment on their proposed Saturday night scheduling times, Nine's traditional regard for ratings indicates they planned to show matches in NSW and Queensland at a later time.

Because Seven/Ten merely had to match the Nine/Foxtel bid, presumably they are allowed to screen matches at the same later starting time.

Ten have indicated they may show Swans and Brisbane Lions matches live in NSW and Queensland but other matches would be after a movie.

A Swans source said of the final year of the existing Nine/Ten contract: "We have 13 Saturday night games in 2006 which Ten will cover live or on 30-minute delay. We'd want some comfort in 2007, and beyond that our scheduling was comparable with what Ten is currently doing."

But the late-night scheduling of all other matches mocks the boast by the AFL chief executive, Andrew Demetriou, that the TV contract would be used to promote the code in the developing states.

The AFL has not disguised its anger at Seven over the C7 court case, or enmity with Ten over switching broadcasting camps, making it obvious they hoped the Nine/Foxtel bid would succeed.

Foxtel is yet to be integrated into the Seven/Ten deal, meaning the consortium can't confirm coverage.

Under the initial Seven/Ten proposal, Foxtel would screen three of the eight weekly matches.

However, there has been no communication between Seven/Ten and Foxtel, which is 25 per cent owned by the Packer family's PBL.

Nor are Seven/Ten aware of the amount of money Foxtel committed to Nine for it to cover four matches a week.

Should Foxtel play hard ball with the Seven/Ten consortium over fees, Seven has indicated it will go to the Federal Court.

Sporting codes have been the financial beneficiaries of the competition between the networks. The NRL received more money from pay TV's only provider when its contract was renewed last year, and the AFL's $780 million package is 50 per cent more than the old deal. If Foxtel refuses to take any AFL matches, Seven and Ten could be forced to cannibalise each other on Saturday nights. Both networks would be forced to telecast matches against each other, drawing viewers away from each network.

A further complication is televising the Friday night match of the round in the northern states.

Under the Nine/Foxtel offer, Foxtel would show the match live in NSW and Queensland.

If Foxtel was not a partner, Seven would be forced to televise the match live to NSW and Queensland, in competition with Nine's back-to-back NRL games.

This could prove a ratings disaster for the Kerry Stokes-owned network, which is intent on toppling Nine from its No 1 perch.

A Nine source described the network as "sanguine" about the possibility of it surrendering the rights, pointing out it had cricket, rugby league and the Commonwealth Games in March.

Furthermore, they will have cost their rival networks a fortune.

Seven once had all the AFL and now they may have half," an executive said.

"Ten had the finals and now they have half the finals. "Both have paid an awful lot of money for half of what they once had."

legend

Spot on. People with brains realise 7/10 paid way over the odds for shared coverage and if PBL play hard ball, they are screwed!

Surely, the courts can't make Foxtel take up AFL if they choose not to pay for it?

Chook

What has 9 got to lose if they televise League into the southern states in competition with AFL? Even the privately owned channel Nein's in SA and WA have to come up with something to go against ariel ping pong, why not League?

Surely the sporting loving people of Southern and Western Australia can recognise sporting magic in a Menji Marshall flick pass? Can feel the collision between Morley and O'Merley? Can laugh at the inevitable sporting chokes of Parra and Saints?

I think this outcome was and will be the best for League. Nine now have to dedicate their channel to promoting their only regular sporting product...our code!!

And as a side bonus we'll see less of Eddie MacGuire...and that's an encouraging thought. And this is probably the very first time that I am hoping Moffo is actually correct. :)

Chook.

russ13

I have just be rereading some of the earlier poats on the TFC's TV Ratings Thread.

Non Lions & non Swans live games in Brisbane & Sydney were getting ratings in the 60,000s in prime time on Saturday night in both cities.

Can you imagine the mess live NRL games on Friday night would do to the AFL on a Friday in those areas.

Get rid of your Channel 7 & 10 shares.

Would be naive to think that the AFL having over 40mill a year more in cash to spend isn't in some way going to allow their sport to be promoted, developed etc better than the NRL. In that way every RL club could be affected.

The frustrating thing is now would be a prime time to be building to have teams back in Adelaide and Perth with a side deal with CH9 in those states to show the away games for those teams live or near to live. That is the only way RL is going to get shown again at a decent time in SA and WA. The NRL has to start to play hardball with Ch9 in Vic to get the Storm away games screened live plus SOO, GF and Int live.

I won't hold my breath!

Therbs

The one thing it does is give Nine no excuse. I think their treatment of league fans is appalling. No live games for regular rounds of footy, ridiculous replay times for the AFL states and self indulgent commentators who play more on personality in the commentary booth than proper analysis of the game. That's my whinge for the day. Now back to the cricket ...