Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

7 Dumps Super12

Bluebag

The decision is made given poor ratings which caused super12's to be moved to late night viewing as well as Gordon Bray's Super 12 highlights show. Given the "Boom" of union after the World Cup why did they do this and the answer is the union fan group is to small in Australia, in NZ it booms but not here it will always been seen as a private school game for run by and for the few and lacks that tribal feel about the game.

You will all have to enjoy Club Rugby in front of family and friends on the ABC and the test matches or watch fox to see Super 12 and club rugby from Argentina. None of the other networks seem interested either as it does not generate revenue unlike league and AFL.

I think it was due to the lack of coverage they were allowed through Foxtel however it shows the commitment to sport that Channel 7 has. If they don't get their way they dump it very quickly which speaks volumes for why they should never be allowed the rights to Rugby League.

Rustay

Yeah, Foxtel has the rights to all the live games and channel 7 were only allowed to show a late night replay where the ratings were down...plus the fact that the result could be found on the news.

Maybe channel 9 will pick it up...im sure they will do a sterling job :-s

eelandia

I wouldn't say that a 90 minute delay is that bad - after all ch9 delay their league telecasts.

Bluebag

Nine do not want it, they have league and AFL both big ratings winners, union is not only tests do well but not as big as league, union is a game if you like it you will go which leaves very few to watch it. It does not attract a diverse range of people to the games mainly up market well to do, private school types. League and AFL are played in public schools and draw on a wider cross section of supporters who are drawn to the tribalism of the game not what school did you play for.

I personally doubt that nine or ten will pick it up at all.

gaterooze

9 won't have room for it once AFL & NRL start up. Maybe Ten? SBS or ABC might be the best choice, since the ARU will be begging stations to show it and no one will have to bid for the FTA rights.

It just seems too late notice for commercial stations to mix around their lineups at this stage.

For all the talk of the World Cup, Seven knew they had disastrous ratings (worst in their history) for 4 of the 5 weeks of the biggest Union event ever. They could deflect that fact because of the super ratings of the final, but clearly they had been burnt -- thus this "shock" decision... obviously the hype amounted to little in the boardroom.

btw, eelandia is right, NRL games are delayed by 60 minutes on Friday nights, and sometimes 120 minutes on Sundays (more in non-NSW/QLD states), and it doesn't seem to hurt them at all.

Have to say, I didn't see this decision coming so quickly though. Thought that at least they would give it a shot and then dump it if the ratings remained low.

ibeme

gaterooze said:
Have to say, I didn't see this decision coming so quickly though. Thought that at least they would give it a shot and then dump it if the ratings remained low.

They must think that there's nowhere to go but down, despite the hype surrounding the world cup. That's a pretty big message being sent to the game and it's sponsors. Channel 7 would be in a better position than most to guage the future popularity of the game after having hosted the world cup, and they're giving it the big thumbs down.

TinghaInMotion

The Australia Rugby Union chief, John O'Neill, was surprised at Channel Seven's decision.

"We haven't had a chance to discuss the issue with Seven," he said. "Off the back of the Rugby World Cup success, and the profile that rugby is enjoying, it wasn't a decision we were expecting," he said.

:cry: awwwwwwwwwwww :cry: ..... Sorry Jonny dont feel bad mate

so much for RU becoming the number one Rugby Code in OZ.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Matt23

:lol: Your never gonna be the number#1 footy code with no FTA...lets all laugh about big mouth O'Neill :lol:

Bluebag

Even with FTA prime time it would never take over from league as the nbr 1 sport, few juniors other than private schools and little effort in doing so. The beauty of Union is that it is the game open to everyone to be a star.

What other sport has short fat men who cannot run, pass or tackle play for their country, you gotta love that.

russ13

I have heard that the Wallabys have lost their jersey sponsor Vodaphone. Is this true?

Moffo

Te Kaha said:
russ13 said:
I have heard that the Wallabys have lost their jersey sponsor Vodaphone. Is this true?

Tooheys new have taken over the 5Mil sponsership deal

Tooheys took over sponsorship of the s12. I haven't heard of it also being the new jersey sponsor for the Australian team

Cheers,
Moffo

Thomas

It won't be far behind. They already sponser the Waratahs and the QLD reds (under the parent company Lion Nathan). The first Australian test is quite a few months away, so there's a bit of time. Word on the inside is that Diageo (Bundaberg Rum) want a piece of the action. They made record profits during the RWC and are wanting to be more involved.

ripper

Good Riddance, Channel 7 could never do anything right The thing they did good was the AFL, and then they went and lost it... F*****

rugged

Seven should "use it or lose it" and be made to give the rights to the ABC. Maybe that needs to be a new rule for whoever gets rights to sporting events.

iggy plop

I don't think we need rugby union on FTA anyway. Nobody watches it unless it is an over-hyped international. Beyond that the care factor is zero.

Well done Seven.

Crusader

Well I think it sucks and Iggy, why would you even come into an RU discussion if you didn't like it? Or is it too hard for you to understand?

gaterooze

This is a League board, Crusader. I'm sure there are Rugby boards around if you abhor the presence of Leaguies