Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

94: LU Arsenal Brigade

Stonecutter

As soon as Walcott and Rosicky came on the tide turned and never went back. Walcott is using his excellent speed to his full potential....finally.

Clichy didn't have much of a chance to dart down the wing with Bolton defending very well. He did make one great run in the penalty box but went down far too easily, could've had a shot but looked for the penalty.

Hleb played well with his quick feet. Had plenty of half shooting chances but couldn't get enough seperation.

Eduardo didn't impress me much. Made a few good crosses but turned the ball over plenty of times.

Adebayor did his usual game. Some easy missed chances though...lets hope it doesn't creep back in come the buiseness end of the season.

Gallas was suprised with some good chances off courners where he showed why he's a defender not a striker lol.

Sagna like Clichy was shut down running the wing. Bolton really played them well.

Fabregas was consistent and brillant as always.

Flamini is slowing down after his great start to the season....need more Diaby or Walcott.

NK Arsenal

LESStar58 said:
A wins a win. I'll take it!
More Gooners! :D

Macca_ said:
Double post.

Oh well, may as well make it worthwhile.

f**k T*tt*nh*m!

eelavation said:
I can't believe how good we're playing at the moment...
Even more gooners! :D

Saint Dragon said:
25m! You're havin a laugh! Wolves will surely demmand more!I'll make Almunia run into the corner and cry. I'll make Jens die of old age. Make Mannone so sh*t scared he'll run all the way back home and tell Fabianzski that he can sit on the bench and be my water boy!

Also I qualify to play Maceondia, Australia and Russia. Russia are havin a laugh! But Australia and Maceondia...WHO WOULD I CHOOSE!

Hold on Dragon, I meant 25m pounds, in Australia that would be $63.75M.
How do you qualify for Russia?
With my qualifications, Germany will be wanting me to play for them too, but I don't speak German so they can go and have a cry. I don't want to be associated with Jens either so that pretty much makes up my mind. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland are still having a laugh but the FA and FFA just emailed me about how good of a midfielder I am and they want me to play for their U21 sides.
How about me both play for Australia and win the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.
We'd play Germany in the quarters and we'll destroy them, I'll score a hat-trick for a 3-0 win and a clean sheet for you, then against England in the semis, Lampard won't be in the team anymore so then they'll challenge us but we'll win 2-0 with me getting one and dukes getting one. Then comes the final and its Nikolovski v Nikolovski. Goran Pandev scores early to give Macedonia a 1-0 lead up 30 minutes, but 5 minutes later Maco Nikolovski makes an error and Muller capitalises.
In penalties Aussie Nikolovski saves all attempts on goal except for Pandev's shot, and then Muller steps up to win the World Cup for Australia.

Macca_

Stonecutter said:
As soon as Walcott and Rosicky came on the tide turned and never went back. Walcott is using his excellent speed to his full potential....finally.
Yep, theydefinately helped to get the 3 points. Although I felt we upped the tempo in that second half and really started to pin them back. They had no outlets when they cleared and our pressure was starting to get to them. Was only a matter of time and the fresh running of Theo and Tom helped.

Stonecutter said:
Clichy didn't have much of a chance to dart down the wing with Bolton defending very well. He did make one great run in the penalty box but went down far too easily, could've had a shot but looked for the penalty.

Sagna like Clichy was shut down running the wing. Bolton really played them well.

Hleb played well with his quick feet. Had plenty of half shooting chances but couldn't get enough seperation.
Wrapped those 3 players together from your comments.

I thought Bolton did do well in the first half of restricting our time and space, especially on the flanks. One thing that changed noticeably was when Hleb went back on the right hand side in the second half. His combination that has developed with Sagna was straight away there and we looked a lot more dangerous. That is why I was a little surprised to see Eboue start ahead of Diaby which forced Hleb to the left side of the park. His combination with Clichy wasn't there. Clichy did look dangerous though when he was able to get forward.

Stonecutter said:
Eduardo didn't impress me much. Made a few good crosses but turned the ball over plenty of times.
Yeah he had an indifferent game. To be fair though it wasn't his type of game. One reason Eboue would have started is because of the physical match up you get from the Trotters. It was hard for Eddy to get into the game. He will also feed of our backs getting down the flanks and when we have more movement. I think had he stayed on when we were getting on top he would have went close to scoring a goal. That would have been his first EPL start too I think...

Stonecutter said:
Adebayor did his usual game. Some easy missed chances though...lets hope it doesn't creep back in come the buiseness end of the season.
Certainly a frustrating player to watch. You know what he can do but he looks so unco sometimes :lol: One thing about strikers though, if you are picking them for missing chances it is far better then seeing them not get into the positions to have the chances. He'll continue to frustrate but he is important to our team. I also thought he put himself about a bit with some solid challenges and contests of the ball in the air.

Stonecutter said:
Gallas was suprised with some good chances off courners where he showed why he's a defender not a striker lol.
He certainly ain't :lol:

Good to see Bill back though. Looked a yard off the pace at times, but it was a good match for him to come back in with. On the deck there wasn't a lot to do and he had to deal with Davies in the air mostly. They got the job done at the back and the run out will be great for Bill. Important time to have him back alongside King Kolo.

Stonecutter said:
Fabregas was consistent and brillant as always.
Really stepped it up in the second half and took control of the game.

Stonecutter said:
Flamini is slowing down after his great start to the season....need more Diaby or Walcott.
Not to sure there mate. We still need that hard working player in the middle with Cesc. Flamini didn't stand out overnight, but he got through a lot of 'dog' work. The sort that normally does go unoticed. A lot of his hardwork off the ball was a reason for Cesc being able to dominate more in the second half. We shut them down well.

Be interesting to see the lineup vs Prague now taking into account we have the red scousers on the weekend. I reckon AW will take a couple of calculated risks and it'll be a little different to recent starting sides. Nicky B may get a look in. Rosicky to start, perhaps Walcott too and maybe Gilberto.

Stonecutter

I agree with most of that macca. I'm not sure if it was planned by AW for the first half, but Flamini and Eboue both starting seemed to restrict our attacking throught the midfield.

Rosicky coming back will probably see Eboue to the bench anyway with Hleb going to where you said he was effective on the right and Rosicky to the left. It's good to have competition for Flamini from Gilberto who i personally would like to see start.

Kiwishark

It makes sense to start Eboue for the reason you gave Macca, but he really didn't impress me at all. Was dispossesed a lot, and that shot he missed was criminal, especially at that stage of the match (0 - 0). I didn't notice his defense, wasn't watching him specifically for that so I can't comment there.

Again, I was really impressed with Walcott and his final ball distribution, and the defense was superb. Gallas added that little something extra I think and Almunia didn't have to make a single save all game.

Eduardo will need a bit of time. He didn't really get into scoring positions and he doesn't have the ability of Sagna to blend into the team, nor the game time. Hopefully he won't take too long, he does look alright on the left.

All in all a good win. It's good to know that the side can collectively step it up a notch when required, we will need to do that again at some stage in the season.

ByRd

A ugly but solid win and its the type of games you have to win to be a real contender and it is good that we are doing that. Were sloppy in the first half but when Rosicky and especially Walcott came on the game changed and he just burned them down that right side creating a couple of chances and just running at will when he had the ball, is improving and him coming off the bench for the last half hour is a great impact.

CC_Eagle

I'll just say that I was the lone singer in a massive "Super Tom" chant that went on for ages.

I love alcohol + football :)

NK Arsenal

Sitting with drunks in the squadron and singing their songs is one of the best things I've done in my life. I can't wait till I am one of those drunks with the Gooners :lol:

Tom Shines

Can you guys hurry up and drop some farkin points? We keep winning, but are STILL 3 behind you blokes.
You're cheating me out of $10000 here!

Dragooner

gunning_for_panthers said:
More Gooners! :D

Even more gooners! :D

Hold on Dragon, I meant 25m pounds, in Australia that would be $63.75M.
How do you qualify for Russia?
With my qualifications, Germany will be wanting me to play for them too, but I don't speak German so they can go and have a cry. I don't want to be associated with Jens either so that pretty much makes up my mind. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland are still having a laugh but the FA and FFA just emailed me about how good of a midfielder I am and they want me to play for their U21 sides.
How about me both play for Australia and win the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.
We'd play Germany in the quarters and we'll destroy them, I'll score a hat-trick for a 3-0 win and a clean sheet for you, then against England in the semis, Lampard won't be in the team anymore so then they'll challenge us but we'll win 2-0 with me getting one and dukes getting one. Then comes the final and its Nikolovski v Nikolovski. Goran Pandev scores early to give Macedonia a 1-0 lead up 30 minutes, but 5 minutes later Maco Nikolovski makes an error and Muller capitalises.
In penalties Aussie Nikolovski saves all attempts on goal except for Pandev's shot, and then Muller steps up to win the World Cup for Australia.

I know you meant 25million pounds, but that is dirt cheap for me! I'm demanding around the area of about 40million pounds.

Also like your world cup. Don't mind it. Could maybe happen ya know ;-) . Cheers forputting Maceondia in the final! :D

Commentating the shootout:

It's Goran Slavkovski. The Inter Milan forward steps up to the ball. Steadys himself on the run up, takes a beautiful penalty. It's soaring into the top corner but WOW! Nikolovski pulls off an absolutely extraordinary save! That has got to be the greatest save you have ever seen in your life ladies and gentlemen.

That means that it is all up to Muller to hand Australia World Cup glory.

He steps up to the goals. The hearts are in the mouths of the Maceondian players and fans. Muller strikes the ball perfectly into the bottom corner! AND AUSTRALIA HAVE WON THE WORLD CUP LADIES AND GENTLEMEN! The two men who single handedly won this world cup for Australia, Nikolovski and Muller both run around the stadium, the flags flying behind their backs. That is it ladies and gentlemen.

Later in the awards ceremony. Muller recevies Golden Ball and Boot. Nikolovski receives Yashin's award and Yashin can crawl into a hole and die, the award now renamed the Nikolovski award.

Otherwise agree with pretty much everything Macca has said.

Also lovely to have more gooners!

Dragooner

Wheelsy said:
Can you guys hurry up and drop some farkin points? We keep winning, but are STILL 3 behind you blokes.
You're cheating me out of $10000 here!

Sorry Wheelsy! Learn to keep up!

NK Arsenal

If you're getting 40m, than how will Arsenal pay for me?
Ohhh now I remember, Hill-Wood gave Arsene 100m :D. He can use 40 for you, 40 for me and 20 on Slavkovski.

Macca_

Happy Bday AW.

http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?...tle=Wenger+-+I+only+want+one+birthday+present
Wenger - I only want one birthday present
By Richard Clarke

Happy Birthday Arsène Wenger — 58 today.

As you might expect the Frenchman has little time for this annual frivolity. He’ll spend his day in the normal fashion - watching football games and preparing for football games. In fact the only present he wants is a better performance against Slavia Prague on Tuesday than the one put in against Bolton at the weekend.

"It's a day like every other day,” said Wenger. “I already have many socks so I don't need them. I will watch Newcastle-Tottenham. Maybe I will have a glass of wine at home, but that is it. I was never a great celebrator of birthdays: I will have a quiet night and prepare for the next day's game.

So what gift could his players give him?

"To play better on Tuesday than they did against Bolton,” replied Wenger.

“I just want people to be happy and it's important to keep the spirit that we have at the moment. As a manager, there is nothing better to think that you have contributed to the happiness of people. I don't want them to stay as they are - I want them to improve - but I want them to keep that attitude.”

[ Monday, October 22, 2007]

Macca_

http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?...ep+focus+for+every+team+-+big+or+small’
Toure: ‘We must keep focus for every team — big or small’
By Richard Clarke

With around a quarter of the Premier League season already gone, leaders Arsenal have successfully addressed two of the problems that hampered their title bid last season.

But Kolo Toure knows they must repeat the outstanding aspect of their previous campaign in order to banish any lingering doubts over the strength of their challenge this term.

Last season, Arsenal had an outstanding record against the top four sides but drew far too many games at Emirates Stadium and dropped a number of disappointing defeats against relegation-haunted teams.

This term, Arsenal have won all six Premier League games at home and notched victories over the current bottom three — Tottenham, Derby and Bolton. However their next two fixtures will be two of their traditional ‘top four’ opponents — Liverpool and Manchester United.

Toure is well aware of his side’s strengths and weakness last season but that campaign has taught him not to over-estimate the importance of those occasions when the Premier League titans clash.

"Last season was a really strange season because we did really well against the big teams but we slipped up against the teams that people expect us to beat,” said Toure.

"That is why this season we have to concentrate on the games in front of us - never mind if it's Liverpool or Manchester United.

"We have to keep the same focus for each game and also hope that we get a bit lucky in games and keep winning.

"The season is really long and these next two games are really important but only because we can get six points - but that's it.

"You always like to beat the teams in the top four but last season we did that and it was for nothing really because we didn't win anything.

"It's no good beating Manchester United and slipping up in other games.

"But I feel we are more mature now, we know what to expect in those games, have shown we can play against some really top players but we just need to be a bit more cautious and keep winning every game.”

Macca_

Re Van Persie....

I read one comment saying they heard a rumour that he has done his ACL.

I then read another comment from someone who was at the Bolton game and sits near the players area. Said RVP was laughing and smiling and getting about fine. Also climbed over a few chairs. He wouldn't be in that hape had he done his ACL I would imagine.

Fingers crossed for some good news on RVP. Be a big blow to lose him for an extended period. I think we'd cope, and it also may fast track Theo up top. Could even see AW move in the transfer window on a forward if it's major.

Here's hoping the later is correct and its no more then a month for the dutchmen.

Bumble

Saint Dragon said:
I know you meant 25million pounds, but that is dirt cheap for me! I'm demanding around the area of about 40million pounds.

Also like your world cup. Don't mind it. Could maybe happen ya know ;-) . Cheers forputting Maceondia in the final! :D

Commentating the shootout:

It's Goran Slavkovski. The Inter Milan forward steps up to the ball. Steadys himself on the run up, takes a beautiful penalty. It's soaring into the top corner but WOW! Nikolovski pulls off an absolutely extraordinary save! That has got to be the greatest save you have ever seen in your life ladies and gentlemen.

That means that it is all up to Muller to hand Australia World Cup glory.

He steps up to the goals. The hearts are in the mouths of the Maceondian players and fans. Muller strikes the ball perfectly into the bottom corner! AND AUSTRALIA HAVE WON THE WORLD CUP LADIES AND GENTLEMEN! The two men who single handedly won this world cup for Australia, Nikolovski and Muller both run around the stadium, the flags flying behind their backs. That is it ladies and gentlemen.

Later in the awards ceremony. Muller recevies Golden Ball and Boot. Nikolovski receives Yashin's award and Yashin can crawl into a hole and die, the award now renamed the Nikolovski award.

Otherwise agree with pretty much everything Macca has said.

Also lovely to have more gooners!

ffs

Why don't you two just spoon eachother and commentate that while you're at it

F**k Business Studies

f**k Arsenal

Leeds til I die

Macca_

4-6 weeks for RVP. Could have been a lot worse, lets hope for quick recovery.

http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?...=Wenger+-+My+fears+for+Van+Persie+knee+injury
Wenger - My fears for Van Persie knee injury
Arsenal v Slavia Prague
Champions League Group Stage
Arsenal Stadium
Tue, Oct 23, 2007, 7.45pm
By Richard Clarke

Arsène Wenger breathed a sigh of relief after getting the scan results from Robin van Persie’s knee injury.

The Dutchman has damaged medial knee ligaments and will be out for four to six weeks however there were fears the injury might have been to cruciate ligaments. That would have seen him sidelined for the vast majority of this season.

“His injury is a medial knee ligament,” said Wenger at Monday’s press conference. “At one stage we were scared it was a cruciate but we had good news and the scan was positive. But it is still a long injury.”

Otherwise Wenger announced no fresh problems ahead of the game against Slavia Prague at Emirates Stadium.

"We have no new injuries,” said the Frenchman. “Philippe Senderos (back) is still out. Robin van Persie is out for four to six weeks but we knew that.”

Macca_

Macca_ said:
4-6 weeks for RVP. Could have been a lot worse, lets hope for quick recovery.
Actually I had a thought whilst getting ready for work... It could be heaps worse, we could be T*tt*nh*m!

67 points till the day now. If we were to lose 6 of our EPL matches, they would still need to win every game from here. Might have to re think my predicted date :D