Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'99 Magpies tri-series

gallagher

They had 3 players who went on to win premiership: Skandalis, Hodgson and Perry, which is bizarre on paper to suggest the worst team ever had a premiership winning halfback and fullback.

Just for the lols they had Raudonikis as coach. That now seems like a joke, but it happened.

Harvey Howard won a comp with the broncs aswell.

H.H

Yeah no doubt the worst side in history.

I know a guy who played in that side and sailed a little too close to the wind with some "funny" comments about that season one night a few years later. Tell you what, I was very close to a smack in the head. Never mentioned it again.

Also, some diabolical stories about Tommy. Seriously incredible and I've confirmed with another member of the coaching staff that season so legit.

Jason Maher

Here's the 99 Magpies squad:

Brett Hodgson
Kevin McGuinness
Justin Brooker
Travis Baker
Barry Davis
Leo Dynevor
Steve Georgallis
Jared Mills
David Buko
Adam Donovan
Shane Perry
Dane Dorahy
Matthew Fuller
Harvey Howard
Scott Coxon
Matt Spence
Tate Moseley
Adam Bristow
Lincoln Raudonikis
Chris Marland
Leo Clarke
Ken McGuinness
Shayne McMenemy
Ciriaco Mescia
John Skandalis
Michael Brabek
Dayle Bonner
Tevita Amone
Luke Goodwin
Darren Fritz
Paul Jeffries
Robbie Payne
Chris Yates
Andrew Leeds
Marshall Scott
Trent Brown
Brenton Pomery
Ray Cashmere

Diesel

Were Wests always going to miss out in a place in the 2000 season? I remember talk of a merger with the Bulldogs and a bazaar talk a merger with the Warriors. If the writing was on the wall from 1997/8 then they were always going to struggle to attract players. That said, I'll always remember their last ever game, played at Campbelltown, all talked up about 90-odd years of pride and how they were going to win the game for the past players and the Warriors put 60 on them

roofromoz

I remember seeing Penrith losing to them 7-6 one cold Saturday night at Parramatta Stadium (whilst Campbelltown was being redeveloped). Me and my mate were 2 of about 10 on the northern hill that night.

Bring it home Knights

I watched wests a lot in 1999 and it was very apparent that they weren't trying. Harvey Howard was the one player who actually had a crack.

anjado

Wests beat Souths,Penrith and Balmain in 1999.

They were fairly unlucky in some respects Ken McGuinness career tailed off by then and Leo Dynevor who looked excellent in 1997 for the Knights was terrible for Wests. Andrew Leeds retired he was always a dependable player. Darrent Fritz and Matt Fuller were both past it, the rest were either young players who got an opportunity or castoffs from other clubs.

Wests 1999 (Strongest Line Up) with the ability of hindsight.

1. Brett Hodgson
2. Ken McGuinness
3. Kevin McGuinness
4. Andrew Leeds
5. Justin Brooker
6. Leo Dynevor
7. Shane Perry
8. Harvey Howard
9. Ciriaco Mescia
10. John Skandalis
11. Matthew Spence
12. Adam Bristow
13. Steve Georgallis

14. Matthew Fuller
15. Ray Cashmere
16. Darren Fritz
17. Luke Goodwin/Dane Dorahy

That side does have some strong points, Wests had a good front row i think if you swapped over the Dragons front row with Wests that season the results would of been about the same. They had a couple of decent outside backs and Dynevor/Perry doesn't look the worst halves combination in the world from a historical perspective.

Also one last thing about Wests in 1999 they spent less than half the season on the bottom of the table. They spent 11 out of 26 rounds at the bottom of the table. To put that into perspective 42 teams have had longer runs of 12 or more consecutive weeks at the bottom of the table.

I think by the end of 1999 the club was on their last legs and had given up they were pretty woeful especially defensively but they did their best. I named their strongest side and that was nowhere near the side they fielded for most of the season. Even that side looks very ordinary. Still though they weren't even bottom of the table until round 13 and that was only for one round. It wasn't until round 17 that they were rooted to the bottom until the end of the season.

I am not sure they are the worst side in history.

Souths in 1945-46 spent 2 consecutive seasons or 28 consecutive rounds on the bottom of the ladder.

Parramatta spent 27 consecutive rounds stuck to the bottom of the ladder. In fact Parramatta from 1957-1960 were bottom of the table for 64 out of 72 rounds. They won only 9 games during that spell.

It might not even be Wests worst ever side. Wests were bottom of the table for the last 7 rounds of the 1983 season and for 25 of the 26 rounds available in 1984 in which they only won 1 game. Only Penrith in round 2 of 1984 stopped Wests from being bottom for 33 consecutive weeks.

Sorry for completely derailing the topic but most people were discussing Wests in 1999.

Cronulla,Canberra and Wests are all poor sides in an average competition.

Easts from 1963 to 1966 won 8 of 72 matches, finishing second to last in 1964 and last in the other three years.
Didn't win a game in 66.

alien

some diabolical stories about Tommy. Seriously incredible and I've confirmed with another member of the coaching staff that season so legit.

i remember one time someone asked if him if they had a good game plan going into the game, and his reply was something like "we dont have one. if we dont know what we are doing than the opposition wont either". alot of people at the club werent impressed and later he stated he was joking... :-k

Jason Maher

Easts from 1963 to 1966 won 8 of 72 matches, finishing second to last in 1964 and last in the other three years.
Didn't win a game in 66.

Then some bludger named Jack Gibson took over in 1967 and took them to the semis.

alien

dont get me wrong, i love tommy, and when he first started coaching he had some success. finals in 1996 and he was getting the players fired up, but after a few years it all got stale. he was also coach of nsw for 2 years. 50% strike rate

Jason Maher

Steelers 85-89 were pretty woeful as well. 3 spoons, 3rd last, and 4th last. Coached to back-to-back spoons by none other than Brian Smith. 28 wins and 2 draws in 116 games. Mind you, their -62 differential in 86 would have to go close to the best (or least worst) ever by a spoon winning team (not counting demoted cheats).

Flapper

Absolutely diabolical football side. Didn't stop me cleaning up deluxe when they beat Penrith 7-6 though :lol:

KeepingTheFaith

Found this try by the Peach. Sums up the magpies nicely when you watch their defense from tackle to tackle.

[youtube]BQ3T-B7QGAE[/youtube]

and from the scrum...look at that scoreline. :lol: and still ten to go.

[youtube]YBGcsluagcA[/youtube]

Good old Cliffy. Game 300.

[youtube]lzJvPcxa4U8[/youtube]

[youtube]72e2ZJFVhko[/youtube]

Ronnie Dobbs

that year we beat wests and balmain a combined 90 - 0

f**k yeah!

id rate the early 2000's rabbitohs as nearly as bad. btw. some shockers there.

this years sharks. 2009 sharks also dross

Sharks are missing an entire top 17 at the moment.

The Magpies didn't have a Top 17. They had a squad of park players as their roster all year.