Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A Great Test Match!

Sun_Down

The crowd was way above my expectations, not only that, they were so enthusiastic. There were chants, cheers, mexican waves and beach balls all throughout the night. This was my first test match, and I had an absolute blast. I also got within a metre of Matty Johns and Benji Marshall (Im sounding like a school girl here haha). Oh! and Jimmy Barnes was there! I had no idea he was going to be making an appearence. It was a very good match aswell, that second Ropati try was a hoot. Ahhh...great stuff, I hope all of you enjoyed it as much as I did.

rugged

I didn't think the crowd were very enthusiastic. It felt more like a rugby match atmosphere except for the spilt beer and expletives from the people around us.

What was with the colour of the jerseys of the Australian team? The jerseys didn't match the shorts and the jersey's colour was more like the Opals (women's basketball team) - a sort of turquoise colour.

Glad it was a good game, except for a high mistake rate.

Great game, great crowd, great contest.

That's what international footy is all about.

Great effort from New Zealand, everyone predicted Australia to win by 20+, but they hung in there got the job and scored a couple of good tries, but in the end Australia were just too good. First time in a long time that I agreed with everyone of those Australian players being selected, especially Steve Price isnt he something? You definately Bulldogs are gonna miss him this year, he was superb up front. And Darren Lockyer, well he's just a genius, he reads the play well. Whenever there's a backline movement outwide Lockyer would always appear and look very dangerous. I thought the refereeing was a bit ordinary, made some dud calls and blew the pee out of the whistle at times, had a better second half IMO.

For New Zealand, well they were missing players but thats no excuse I suppose they were beaten by a far better side. They still had the likes of Cayless, Marshall, Wiki, Ropati who stepped up tonight and played well.

At the start of the match, I knew it was going to be a good match. You just got the feeling "Ahhh a test match". Both sides huddle during a national anthem, so emotion when singing. I even heard the whole crowd singing "Advance Australia Fair". And of course the haka from the Kiwis, pumps the players and also the fans.

I like to congratulate the 40,000+ for turning up tonight. Thats a bloody good crowd, and that deserves another test for Brisbane.

INTERNATIONAL FOOTY IS GETTING STRONGER. :D

Jeffles

With the jersey colours, I think the Aussies used Polyester. Is this the first time they have? That's the only thing I can think of for the poor colours.

As for the crowd, it was very good. Well done Brisbane and well done to the ARL for taking the next game to Melbourne (if that's true).

Biggest crowd for:

1) An AUS - NZ Test in Brisbane EVER
2) An AUS - NZ Test in Australia since 1963
3) A Test (any kind) in Brisbane since 1970
4) A Test (any kind) in Australia since 1974.
5) An AUS - NZ Test since 2000 (counting the RLWC) or 1963 (not counting the 2000 or 1988 RLWC).

Where are those fools that call this game a dying sport?

rugged

Jeffles said:
With the jersey colours, I think the Aussies used Polyester. Is this the first time they have? That's the only thing I can think of for the poor colours.

As for the crowd, it was very good. Well done Brisbane and well done to the ARL for taking the next game to Melbourne (if that's true).

Biggest crowd for:

1) An AUS - NZ Test in Brisbane EVER
2) An AUS - NZ Test in Australia since 1963
3) A Test (any kind) in Brisbane since 1970
4) A Test (any kind) in Australia since 1974.
5) An AUS - NZ Test since 2000 (counting the RLWC) or 1963 (not counting the 2000 or 1988 RLWC).

Where are those fools that call this game a dying sport?

Yes, the jerseys were definitely polyester/lycra or whatever but they could surely make them to match the shorts. I hope QLD don't change to polyester or they will be pink. ;-)

I thought the test in 1992 (Australia/GB in Sydney) got over 40,000 so Im surprised they didnt mention that crowd. I reckon the biggest since that game and obviously that game was the biggest since 74. (in Australia that is).

Whats the record crowd for any test in Brisbane?

Balmain_Boy

Thierry Henry said:
I can't believe someone just said that Ropati played well. He had a nightmare.

He did a lot of good things, but a lot of bad things. He'll learn a lot from tonight.

I can't believe people are saying it was an outstanding match. I thought it was fairly ordinary. Superb effort from the Brisbane public though.

Jeffles

Aus v GB in 1992 at the SFS got 40141 so this beat it by 176.

I'm using an AUS - GB Programme from the 2002 Test as a reference. (the 64-10 game). They list crowds between GB and Oz back to 1946. I also have an AUS - NZ 2003 test programme which has all crowd between the two nations.

The biggest crowd I can find for a Brisbane Test is 46,355 in 1954 (AUS v GB). The Aussies lost 38-21. There may be a bigger crowd before 1946 but I doubt it.

taipan

Enjoyable game,great crowd for an international in league especially when the Roos were raging favourites.
Thought the Kiwis played better than expected,they bombed 1 try with Pritchard,and Vagana would have scored if Mini hadnt early tackled him.
We had record crowds for last years tri series in the UK,and now 40,300 here.The clowns who said international rugby league was withering on the vine,must be spewing on their fat lips.

strong_latte

^ Pando said:
Top game. Best thing being that none of the Bulldogs got injured. And that we won. 8)

I was going for the kiwi's to be honest... I seriously would love the roo's to lose 4 or 5 test matches straight! It'd rekindle a bit of rivalry internationally.

gaterooze

Hell yeah. It's better than it has been for at least 20 years. The international League games of the last 3 years (inc. Tri Nations and Ashes tour) have been outstanding entertainment.

A good crowd....but not a great Test match thats for sure.

I love the game as much as anyone, but I found it very hard to get excited about this contest.

Maybe it was the fact I wasnt watching the BEST Australian side....the inform Australia side....and that was shown by their lacklustre play.

Maybe it had alot to do with knowing that the Kiwis....while going a long way to get rid of all the old losers....still made some mistakes.

Clinton Toopi should never play Test football again. Ever.

Also.....a crowd thats enjoying the game doesnt fly into a mexican wave.

Dakink

If you noticed the Mexican Wave rarely got more than half way round the stadium (followed a chorus of boos) and being my first Test I loved it.

Thought the Kiwis finsihed the stronger and if it hadnt been for some silly errors it might have been closer.

Dakink

nospam49 said:
And who were the ones making the errors?

The supposed experienced players.

Very true, I thought Wiki and Rahihui (?) where average and they lacked Leadership in crucial situations.

White Poiner

^ Pando said:
Top game. Best thing being that none of the Bulldogs got injured. And that we won. 8)

:lol: mate u talked to soon. herd on the radio omealy is injured and is on crutches. Dont know how serious it is.

Dakink said:
nospam49 said:
And who were the ones making the errors?

The supposed experienced players.

Very true, I thought Wiki and Rahihui (?) where average and they lacked Leadership in crucial situations.

I agree 100%.

I think they should have started with cayless who is one of the best prop running around at the moment.

Rauhihi is over rated....he runs hot and cold, he makes dumb mistakes and goes missing in big games like this.

As for Wiki.....he is looking old, slow and he has little impact these days.

TinghaInMotion

nospam49 said:
A good crowd....but not a great Test match thats for sure.

I love the game as much as anyone, but I found it very hard to get excited about this contest.

Maybe it was the fact I wasnt watching the BEST Australian side....the inform Australia side....and that was shown by their lacklustre play.

Maybe it had alot to do with knowing that the Kiwis....while going a long way to get rid of all the old losers....still made some mistakes.

Clinton Toopi should never play Test football again. Ever.

Also.....a crowd thats enjoying the game doesnt fly into a mexican wave.

Ive read your posts on other topics and i have to ask the question, do you ever have any thing good to say?